English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 March 2015, 20:09   #1
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Pc 720 adf

It started with Diskspare disks. Some are normal 880kb and some are 960kb diskspare formatted disks. The problem is that they all share the same extention of .adf, so they all look the same in the folder. Some would boot by double clicking some not (as they were 960kb).

Now I had the idea that if I could change the extension to say .960, would they still load in WinUAE? And the answer was yes. Great, so I made an icon for the .960 disks and added winuae.960 into the registry. Now looking at the diskspare folder you can see which disks are bootable and which disks are 960kb.

Another disk format that was hard to tell apart from ADF's was PC 720kb disks. Following on from the above success I renamed PC-DD.adf's to PC-DD.720.

I then mounted PC0: and put the .720 image into DF0: but the disk wouldn't load. The same image renamed to back to PC-DD.adf loaded fine.

So my question is, can WinUAE be made to mount PC formatted disks without the need for the .adf extension or is it to do with Crossdos/MSDOS ?

EDIT: Just thought I would mention that the PC_DD images are from a real Amiga and not Custom Images created in WinUAE.

Last edited by Arnie; 12 March 2015 at 21:10.
Arnie is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 11 March 2015, 21:00   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,542
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
So my question is, can WinUAE be made to mount PC formatted disks without the need for the .adf extension or is it to do with Crossdos/MSDOS ?
There are too many size variants (number of tracks and sectors) that there is danger of misdetection (there are no identifiers), thats why PC disks are only detected if extension is known. (.ima or .img are more "official" extensions for PC disk images)

Diskspare images are always detected because they are larger than any other "normal" image. (but much smaller than HD images)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 11 March 2015, 21:12   #3
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Just tried .ima and it works a treat, thanks Toni.

Last edited by Arnie; 12 March 2015 at 21:10.
Arnie is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WB 3.1 adf's trumpy81 request.UAE Wishlist 27 13 July 2013 12:23
Adf's tesla support.Other 4 22 April 2013 23:32
adf jimmer78 support.Apps 7 02 May 2010 19:52
ADF to DMS Megamix support.Other 20 20 September 2009 20:47
K240 adf??? gps722 support.Games 13 06 June 2009 18:33

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.10858 seconds with 11 queries