English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 March 2015, 00:17   #1
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 41
Posts: 3,123
Widescreen hack

Could it be possible to make widescreen hack like does dolphin for gamecube or wii games ???
not an upscaling but really like if the game was done in 16/9 ???
Is it doable with whdload ??? or winuae ??? We could see a larger background, should be incredible with Z-out and games like that or platformers.
I suppose that this is impossible, but who knows sometime there is magic tricks.
resident evil 4 with 16/9 hack [ Show youtube player ]
without 16/9 hack [ Show youtube player ]
turrican3 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 10 March 2015, 02:57   #2
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 2,520
Ps2 has a software hack to make games 16:9. When I make custom ps2 packages for my ps3 I sometimes include the 16:9 hack.
ransom1122 is offline  
Old 10 March 2015, 10:32   #3
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 908
You would have to re-engineer everything on a game-by-game basis. Not something that could be an option in WHDLoad or WinUAE.
ajk is offline  
Old 10 March 2015, 10:40   #4
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
a lot of games designed for 200-line NTSC screen size are already in 16:10 ratio which is close enough
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 13 March 2015, 04:51   #5
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 41
Posts: 3,123
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrs Beanbag View Post
a lot of games designed for 200-line NTSC screen size are already in 16:10 ratio which is close enough
320x200 is 16:10, didn't think about it !
turrican3 is offline  
Old 13 March 2015, 09:32   #6
Culky
 
Posts: n/a
For full screen 16x9 games, choose your native monitor res in "display" settings. (make sure full screen is ticked).
Choose "Automatic Scaling" in filter settings.
Pick "Autoscale Aspect" and and "Keep Aspect Ratio", save config and that's it.

BTW, I could only get it to work in WinUAE v2.8.1

Attached a couple of new configs. They should work on any WinUAE version.
Attached Files
File Type: uae 16x9 config A500.uae (18.5 KB, 33 views)
File Type: uae 16x9 config A1200.uae (12.5 KB, 31 views)

Last edited by Culky; 13 March 2015 at 11:31.
 
Old 13 March 2015, 13:58   #7
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 37
Posts: 3,247
Quote:
Originally Posted by turrican3 View Post
320x200 is 16:10, didn't think about it !
Only if pixels are square which they are not in PAL and NTSC.

According to this, PAL uses a 1.09 ratio while NTSC uses 0.91 ratio.
This means that PAL 320x256 corresponds to a 1:0.734 ratio (or 16:11.7) while NTSC 320x200 is 1:0.687 (or 16:11).

Thus, the physical ratio is not very different between PAL and NTSC CRT televisions.

Last edited by demolition; 13 March 2015 at 14:06.
demolition is offline  
Old 13 March 2015, 14:27   #8
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,476
You misunderstood that page I think. Those aspect ratios are for the D1/DV NTSC and PAL specifications, which use a pixel sampling frequency of 13.5MHz. The Amiga's pixel clock is different.

NTSC Amigas have a pixel clock of 315/44 MHz (for low res), leading to a pixel aspect ratio (low res, or high-res laced) of 6:7, approx 0.857.

PAL Amigas have a pixel clock of 7.093790 MHz, leading to a pixel aspect ratio of 737500:709379, approx 1.040.
mark_k is offline  
Old 13 March 2015, 20:50   #9
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
yeah, i've read things saying you should compensate for the non-square pixels when drawing graphics, but like anybody ever did. Try drawing a circle in Deluxe Paint for instance, it doesn't take it into account. Likewise if any object ever rotates 90 degrees.

Also games made in Europe often fit on an NTSC screen anyway, even though they were designed on PAL monitors.
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 13 March 2015, 21:24   #10
Leffmann

 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,008
Deluxe Paint will take it into account if you un-check "Be Square", but I think it makes more sense to assume square pixels anyway.

It's funny how most if not all games on f.ex. NES, Master System, and Super Nintendo assume square pixels, and so their graphics look nice and square on NTSC, but wide and flattened on our PAL TV-sets. Luckily, most PAL TV-sets can switch to NTSC, to get the games to look right when using these consoles.
Leffmann is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Would a crt (Flatscreen) widescreen work? nixxjsteve support.Hardware 20 18 January 2011 05:20
Widescreen on LCD tv MrGimper support.Hardware 10 22 September 2010 20:46
Winuae and Widescreen Fyrebird35 support.WinUAE 5 15 September 2006 15:30
WinUAE widescreen resolution problem UncleJimbo support.WinUAE 6 13 March 2005 17:37

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.16810 seconds with 12 queries