English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 March 2015, 18:38   #1
zerohour1974
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Swindon UK
Posts: 201
Newly received A1200

Hi.

As the title says and I also said in my Member Introduction. It's a 1MB machine with Workbench 3.1 roms. I am waiting for my 4Mb CF card and and EasyADF device to arrive.

Question time...

Beyond installing Workbench what would people recommend I install?

Is MUI worth installing?

If I get a Amiga Monitor port to VGA adapter would I need extra software (Picasso96)?

Any help appreciated ...
zerohour1974 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 09 March 2015, 18:49   #2
Superman
Registered User

Superman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Wakefield
Age: 42
Posts: 621
Only 1mb? A1200's came with 2mb standard.
Superman is offline  
Old 09 March 2015, 18:52   #3
zerohour1974
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Swindon UK
Posts: 201
Sorry you are correct ... I am a noob
zerohour1974 is offline  
Old 09 March 2015, 18:53   #4
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
1Mb machine? A1200 always comes with 2Mb Chip RAM

software-wise it depends what you want to do with it i suppose.

You would need a Picasso graphics card for Picasso96 to be of any use. A lot of new LCD panels support lower frequencies though so it depends on your monitor whether it will work.
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 09 March 2015, 18:59   #5
zerohour1974
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Swindon UK
Posts: 201
I stand corrected

I am not really a huge games player so it would be the odd game now and again which I believe the 4GB card comes with WHDLoad installed so I think that covers that. I just have no basic knowledge of software beyond Wordworth and Octamed with I think I played with using WinUAE.

Last edited by zerohour1974; 09 March 2015 at 19:08.
zerohour1974 is offline  
Old 09 March 2015, 19:09   #6
HardStep
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 124
Welcome Zerohour1974,
real (not just emulated) Amiga is a fun addictive machine and it is just too easy to start spending way too much money on expanding it and too much time exploring it

Software wise, I just did a quick search with a term 'essential' and got this thread:
Essential "must-have" Amiga programs - http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=9310
HardStep is offline  
Old 09 March 2015, 19:16   #7
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Take a look at Classic Workbench:

http://classicwb.abime.net/

The 'Lite' version is the one for a standard A1200, the pack has lots of useful updates and utilities that makes brings Workbench into the 21st century, MUI is already installed along with support for Fat95 (PCMCIA CF/SD adapters) and much more besides.

To get the most out of your A1200 I recommend at least a trapdoor memory upgrade, 2mb really doesn't go that far these days.

If these packs are too heavy for you then you could try better workbench:

http://lilliput.amiga-projects.net/BetterWB.htm

Good luck & enjoy
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 09 March 2015, 19:17   #8
zerohour1974
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Swindon UK
Posts: 201
Thanks HardStep, handy thread. Yeah I gather if you head into the "tower" side of the A1200 you are can spend rather a lot of cash
zerohour1974 is offline  
Old 09 March 2015, 19:23   #9
zerohour1974
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Swindon UK
Posts: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
Take a look at Classic Workbench:

http://classicwb.abime.net/

The 'Lite' version is the one for a standard A1200, the pack has lots of useful updates and utilities that makes brings Workbench into the 21st century, MUI is already installed along with support for Fat95 (PCMCIA CF/SD adapters) and much more besides.

To get the most out of your A1200 I recommend at least a trapdoor memory upgrade, 2mb really doesn't go that far these days.

If these packs are too heavy for you then you could try better workbench:

http://lilliput.amiga-projects.net/BetterWB.htm

Good luck & enjoy
Cool will have an investigation... Would like to upgrade memory but have not seen many options that don't cost an arm and a leg
zerohour1974 is offline  
Old 09 March 2015, 19:50   #10
crazyc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Gravesend - UK
Posts: 408
You don't need to tower it to spend lots of cash. Trust me.....
crazyc is offline  
Old 10 March 2015, 16:00   #11
zerohour1974
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Swindon UK
Posts: 201
So what is the cheapest route to upgrade RAM ?
zerohour1974 is offline  
Old 10 March 2015, 16:28   #12
crazyc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Gravesend - UK
Posts: 408
I think you need to decide what you actually want to do with the A1200. there are many paths you could take if you want to go down the 'I'm doing just to see if I can' route (CD/DVD drives, USB ports, etc).

Usually people are looking at general gaming so an a1200, CF HD, and some extra RAM will do, and then it depends on what you have it plugged into as a display - you may need an Indivision etc to show it on a flat screen, you may get lucky with SCART and various monitors, you may have an old school commodore monitor.

For games, try and get away without the Indy if you can, but if you want a higher res workbench, then thats the way you need to go.

Read this re RAM/Accelerators: http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php...-buyer-s-guide

Personally I would go for a MK 4 Blizzard 1230, but they are quite expensive these days, and technically overkill for just games.

Anyway, good luck with it all!

Cheapest route is a simple ram expansion, but these are sometimes not easy to find or actually not much cheaper than a basic accelerator (especially these days)
crazyc is offline  
Old 11 March 2015, 02:34   #13
B14ck W01f
m68k all the way
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Koalaland
Posts: 474
Is this the same A1200 that was manufactured by Escom? If it is, you might want to change the floppy drives over to the ones similar to Commodore's. Some games do not work with Escom's A1200 due to the fact that Escom has installed PC floppy drives instead that are incompatible with the old Amiga disks.

If you are really going to buy an Amiga monitor, a word of advice: I brought an A500 last month and I decided not to use a monitor with it due to 2 reasons. Mainly that it emits a high level of radiation and it could break down at any time if it is in use often enough. Plus, you need to find someone who is happy to repair old monitors or failing that, just waste a lot of money on another one. Not worth the effort.
B14ck W01f is offline  
Old 12 March 2015, 02:35   #14
zerohour1974
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Swindon UK
Posts: 201
As for is the A1200 an Escom one no idea it was bought from Power Computing and was the Magic Pack (I think ?) so probably so. The drive we had I broke so it was replaced with one from Amigakit so hopefully should be fine.

Next question is what has the TOSEC archive got in it?
At 31.5 Gb it's a big download is it worth it ?
Also how do you update it as the version to download is the 2012 edition and the most recent update was Dec 2014?

Last edited by zerohour1974; 12 March 2015 at 03:02.
zerohour1974 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Received a fake and copied OS 3.9 D4Ni3L3 support.Other 5 26 June 2010 12:38
Trading A1200 030 acc and A1200 indivision for Amiga stuff 8bitbubsy MarketPlace 17 14 December 2009 21:50
Just Received SWOOPER in the mail stainy HOL contributions 0 05 May 2006 10:55
The Official "Newly Aquired Games" thread StarEye project.SPS (was CAPS) 42 24 February 2006 01:33
Newly finished Atari ST Shooter! Fred the Fop Retrogaming General Discussion 19 28 July 2004 14:41

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.19459 seconds with 11 queries