English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 February 2015, 09:08   #1
ovale
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: milan / italy
Posts: 139
A1000 prototype found (velvet)

http://scacom.bplaced.net/Collection/velvet/velveten.php
ovale is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 25 February 2015, 11:35   #2
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 29
Posts: 1,226
Niiiice! I hope the ROM does find its way to the internets

It would be a shame to risk losing it!
jbenam is offline  
Old 25 February 2015, 15:21   #3
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,699
Definitely. Perhaps someone from Cloanto can contact the owner and get those EPROMs dumped; since they hold the rights, they could give permission.

Some points of interest:
It uses 6526 CIAs, not 8520. The change to 8520s must have come fairly late in the development process.

The Daphne/Denise chip is marked AM4705A. Paula used to have an early name like that; 4703 is mentioned in the Hardware Reference Manual.

There is no AmigaDOS or Intuition in the Kickstart ROM (if the list of modules is complete).

I wonder if the trackdisk disk format had been finalised at that point. Examining the Kickstart data could provide an answer, and also figure out the requirements for creating a bootable disk.
mark_k is offline  
Old 25 February 2015, 15:54   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,943
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_k View Post
Definitely. Perhaps someone from Cloanto can contact the owner and get those EPROMs dumped; since they hold the rights, they could give permission.
All done already
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 25 February 2015, 19:43   #5
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 29
Posts: 1,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
All done already
Does that mean that in the next beta of WinUAE we get the A1000 prototype in the Quickstart menu?
jbenam is offline  
Old 26 February 2015, 17:42   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,943
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbenam View Post
Does that mean that in the next beta of WinUAE we get the A1000 prototype in the Quickstart menu?
Unfortunately it isn't that simple.

Disk CIA pins seem to be differently wired. No one knows what kind of disk format it uses (it has no dos and no dos filesystem in rom). No one has floppies that originally came with it.

It only shows some green garbage on screen (second copper list contains garbage, first copper list is same as in later official roms). Real hardware shows same corruption.

Lots of unknowns.

It writes some debug info to serial port:

Code:
AMIGA ROM Operating System and Libraries.
Copyright 1984 by Commodore Amiga, Inc..

exec Version 23.93 (Tue Feb 12 11:53:20 PST 1985).
.
Dancing April Fool's GFXLIB 24.20 Apr 1,1985.
timer Version 23.207 (Thu Mar 7 19:38:02 PST 1985)..
TrackDiscDriver/Init: running on a Paula..
TrackDiscDriver Version 23.285 (Thu Mar 7 19:48:54 PST 1985)..
graphics vector nop.
graphics vector nop.
audio Ver 24.3  (Thu Mar 7 17:25:04 PST 1985)..
..
resources: CIA:0x15D0 disk.resource:0x1618 ..
devices: timer:0x1B6A TrackDiscDriver:0x1CBA Keyboard:0x1EBA GamePort:0x2020 Console:0x23B8 ..
libraries: exec:0x1282 graphics:0x1888 math:0x1AEC Utility:0x1E2A input.library: 0x230A audio:0x39B4 debug:0x3B2C ..
(btw, it is "velvet", not "verve")
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 26 February 2015, 21:59   #7
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
just a question... why is this thread in Coders.Asm forum?
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 26 February 2015, 23:33   #8
Paul_s
needs more ice cream

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 39
Posts: 3,162
I wonder if this developer system is related? Although it seems even 'older' than the REV3 Velvet there...

http://only.amiga.free.fr/index.php?...eres&Itemid=50
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	14y9xs7.jpg
Views:	514
Size:	317.8 KB
ID:	43387   Click image for larger version

Name:	fcuyom.jpg
Views:	461
Size:	351.4 KB
ID:	43388  

Last edited by Paul_s; 26 February 2015 at 23:38.
Paul_s is offline  
Old 27 February 2015, 11:48   #9
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,943
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul_s View Post
I wonder if this developer system is related? Although it seems even 'older' than the REV3 Velvet there...
It probably is older, totally different PCB layout compared to velvet which is very similar to release A1000 (minus daughterboard).

Unfortunately images are too low quality and resolution.

ROM dumps would help but those ancient eproms may lose bits anytime now..
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 28 February 2015, 03:09   #10
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,699
The Velvet board only has 128KB chip RAM; it looks like a setting for that needs to be added to WinUAE...
Kickstart 1.0 and 1.1 should work with 128KB chip RAM. Kickstart 1.2 and 1.3 show a yellow screen.

The metal-cased development system is clearly older. But its Kickstart EPROMs have 24.60 written on the labels, so are probably newer than the velvet one.

My guess is both systems would be mostly compatible at the software level. The older one has some clues about ancient history though; cartridge slot at the front and guides/connector for the cartridge. The cut-out in the casing for the floppy drive is 5.25" size; since the Amiga was originally going to have a 5.25" drive.

Last edited by mark_k; 28 February 2015 at 03:21.
mark_k is offline  
Old 28 February 2015, 10:48   #11
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,943
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_k View Post
The Velvet board only has 128KB chip RAM; it looks like a setting for that needs to be added to WinUAE...
128k chip ram has been supported for years, it is only not visible in GUI.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 28 February 2015, 22:25   #12
NorthWay
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Grimstad / Norway
Posts: 391
Just being curious (and I couldn't find the answer in the docs and settings from a cursory glance): Does WinUAE support the A1000 WOM?

Is there anything else than Dragon's Lair that can use it?
Possibly some intro/demo that wrote out hacked/custom KS?
NorthWay is offline  
Old 28 February 2015, 23:09   #13
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,699
Yes it does.

A-Max can use it for extra RAM, maybe some Atari ST emulator can too?
mark_k is offline  
Old 01 March 2015, 00:48   #14
Amiten
Registered User
Amiten's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Spain
Posts: 435
amazing!!!! thanks for the link
Amiten is offline  
Old 01 March 2015, 21:11   #15
Paul_s
needs more ice cream

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 39
Posts: 3,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_k View Post
The Velvet board only has 128KB chip RAM; it looks like a setting for that needs to be added to WinUAE...
Kickstart 1.0 and 1.1 should work with 128KB chip RAM. Kickstart 1.2 and 1.3 show a yellow screen.

The metal-cased development system is clearly older. But its Kickstart EPROMs have 24.60 written on the labels, so are probably newer than the velvet one.

My guess is both systems would be mostly compatible at the software level. The older one has some clues about ancient history though; cartridge slot at the front and guides/connector for the cartridge. The cut-out in the casing for the floppy drive is 5.25" size; since the Amiga was originally going to have a 5.25" drive.
The older one from looking at the other pics on the link I posted come from the 'Lorraine' days when the custom chips were on outboard pcbs!

It'd be nice to own either system imo, the Lorraine system sold for $1750 in the end (minus custom pcbs - I'm pretty sure they still exist)
Paul_s is offline  
Old 02 March 2015, 09:21   #16
ovale
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: milan / italy
Posts: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_k View Post
My guess is both systems would be mostly compatible at the software level. The older one has some clues about ancient history though; cartridge slot at the front and guides/connector for the cartridge. The cut-out in the casing for the floppy drive is 5.25" size; since the Amiga was originally going to have a 5.25" drive.
If the metal box is the Lorraine prototype then, I guess, the software compatibility is limited. As far I know the Amiga chip set was luma-chroma based. It was converted to RGB after Commodore acquired Amiga.
ovale is offline  
Old 02 March 2015, 19:01   #17
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,699
The wire-wrapped breadboards are not, as far as I know, from the same stage of development as the black-box developer system.

They appeared in the same photos, sure. Maybe someone who used to work for Amiga exhibited both units at a computer show or user group etc.
mark_k is offline  
Old 02 March 2015, 23:17   #18
ovale
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: milan / italy
Posts: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_k View Post
They appeared in the same photos, sure. Maybe someone who used to work for Amiga exhibited both units at a computer show or user group etc.
You are right. Both the prototypes have two hc244 and 3 transistor plus the 3 resistors ladders. So they are RGB machines.
ovale is offline  
Old 03 March 2015, 14:39   #19
pandy71
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: PL
Posts: 1,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by ovale View Post
You are right. Both the prototypes have two hc244 and 3 transistor plus the 3 resistors ladders. So they are RGB machines.
They can be also YPbPr, YUV etc - sure is that there are 3 channels - how data was coded is purely up to coder.
pandy71 is offline  
Old 03 March 2015, 18:03   #20
ovale
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: milan / italy
Posts: 139
Yes, who knows... anyway I doubt commodore did a spin of the chips in Yxx before RGB.
ovale is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A500++ Prototype Smiley Amiga scene 36 08 January 2015 02:55
Working Natami Prototype gilgamesh Amiga scene 51 29 May 2010 23:29
A2631 Prototype BinoX Hardware pics 29 06 December 2007 00:10
Sonic 2 Prototype released Qube Retrogaming General Discussion 5 08 November 2006 23:43
A prototype CD drive for a500. Smiley MarketPlace 8 19 March 2005 18:39

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.35895 seconds with 12 queries