English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 February 2015, 23:37   #1
Flash951
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Lier / Norway
Posts: 93
Real 3D - Amiga raytracing

Some of my renders in Real 3D back in the Amiga days.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	3d_camera1.jpg
Views:	540
Size:	55.2 KB
ID:	43354   Click image for larger version

Name:	3d_glass1.jpg
Views:	613
Size:	54.9 KB
ID:	43355   Click image for larger version

Name:	3d_gilette1.jpg
Views:	483
Size:	58.7 KB
ID:	43356   Click image for larger version

Name:	3d_building1.jpg
Views:	499
Size:	146.3 KB
ID:	43357   Click image for larger version

Name:	3d_screen1.jpg
Views:	486
Size:	33.7 KB
ID:	43358  

Click image for larger version

Name:	3d_lego1.jpg
Views:	539
Size:	176.1 KB
ID:	43359  
Flash951 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 23 February 2015, 23:41   #2
Steve T
Registered User

Steve T's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 349
Nice caustics on that glassware
Steve T is offline  
Old 23 February 2015, 23:53   #3
LuMan
Amigan - an loving it!!
LuMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 48
Posts: 518
Very nice
LuMan is offline  
Old 24 February 2015, 00:06   #4
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,223
Which Amiga was this done on? I can't imagine my A600 having the resources to generate that! lol
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 24 February 2015, 00:17   #5
jack-3d
kLiker
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Brno / Czech Republic
Posts: 295
Very nice renderings. What is exactly back in the days? 95?
jack-3d is offline  
Old 24 February 2015, 00:22   #6
Flash951
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Lier / Norway
Posts: 93
Thank you. I think your A600 can run Real 3D and do the rendering, probably need a Ram expansion. Rendering only takes more time. Maybe around 95-97. Amiga 4000/EC030 and later on A4000T/060@75MHz. Should have kept that computer. Glass rendering took forever.

Last edited by Flash951; 24 February 2015 at 00:54.
Flash951 is offline  
Old 24 February 2015, 15:18   #7
jPV
Registered User
jPV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: RNO
Posts: 486
FPU is needed too, I think. What expansion it needs for A600... accelerator maybe.

Real 3D was a great program. It always felt so much more advanced and modern than polygon based modelers/renderers which the others pretty much were.

When I bought my first A1200 as a new, I just had to get memory expansion with FPU with it just to be able to use Vista Pro and Real 3D. Friend had an A3000 which still was faster than my lousy 020, but I was able to do something still... and with AGA I even got more colorful images displayed
jPV is offline  
Old 24 February 2015, 16:20   #8
Flash951
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Lier / Norway
Posts: 93
You don't "need" an accelerator. I think it would "work" on 68000. Are you sure Real 3D requires an FPU. I used the first version on my A500, up to 1.4 I think, maybe I had an 030 with FPU, don't remember. Then version 2.0, a total reprogrammed package.. and up to I think version 3.5. I used Real 3D.

I think Real 3D was to hard and time consuming to use in reality, great features in specs, like particle systems, kinematics, spline modelling, multiple cameras, advanced lightening, etc.

I think Lightwave would have been a better choice, and made my life more easy kind off.
Flash951 is offline  
Old 24 February 2015, 16:55   #9
Zoltar
Registered User
Zoltar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Scotland
Posts: 34
Very nice work there, dude.

What version did you use to create the images? V3?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flash951 View Post
You don't "need" an accelerator. I think it would "work" on 68000.
Sure, it might work. But rendering anything more than a few simple shapes with a single light source would take an impractically long amount of time. Although, with only 1Mb of RAM in an A600, you wouldn't really be able to do much else with it, anyway.

Edit: Real 3D still exists, kind of... http://www.realsoft.com/
Zoltar is offline  
Old 24 February 2015, 17:58   #10
Flash951
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Lier / Norway
Posts: 93
Real 3D V1-1.4 - the first versions, worked with them on my A500 - got 030@33 around that time.

Real 3D V2-3.5 - totally reprogrammed, a new program, don't remember if I had A500 first, but got A4000EC/030, then RTG and then 060, and then A4000T/060@75 (last version for Amiga - 1996, 3.5 now free)

Realsoft 3D - (2000) totally reprogrammed the third time, not for Amiga. (I've bought the PC version but never used it).

After this I haven't followed them.
Flash951 is offline  
Old 24 February 2015, 18:03   #11
Flash951
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Lier / Norway
Posts: 93
Other artists work.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	real3d_3_1.jpg
Views:	698
Size:	69.7 KB
ID:	43365   Click image for larger version

Name:	fish.jpg
Views:	477
Size:	106.7 KB
ID:	43366   Click image for larger version

Name:	wasp.jpg
Views:	325
Size:	30.5 KB
ID:	43367   Click image for larger version

Name:	watch.jpg
Views:	344
Size:	112.8 KB
ID:	43368   Click image for larger version

Name:	DEMO11.JPG
Views:	440
Size:	36.1 KB
ID:	43369  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DEMO5.JPG
Views:	399
Size:	56.0 KB
ID:	43370  
Flash951 is offline  
Old 24 February 2015, 18:24   #12
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 41
Posts: 2,972
Awesome, but this is truly one area where old computers aren't very cool anymore.
Thorham is offline  
Old 24 February 2015, 19:09   #13
Leffmann

 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,030
Cool

I also uploaded some of my old renderings here a few years ago. Nowhere near as detailed models and textures as yours.

I started with Real 3D 1.x on my Amiga 500 with 1.5mb RAM, and tried a few different programs along the way, and eventually settled with Imagine.

I always thought of Real 3D as being technically superior to everything else available, but with a very steep learning curve, making it a tool for experts only.
Leffmann is offline  
Old 26 February 2015, 20:08   #14
adrianh78
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Northampton
Posts: 25
Some really impressive work there, especially the glass items! - awesome.
adrianh78 is offline  
Old 27 February 2015, 15:11   #15
Flash951
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Lier / Norway
Posts: 93
Thanks, the glasses took for ever to render with real raytracing on my Amiga. Maybe it was 5-8 hours with 060, maybe even more.
Flash951 is offline  
Old 27 February 2015, 22:14   #16
Tommes
Pixelwizard
Tommes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Waldbroel
Posts: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flash951 View Post
Thanks, the glasses took for ever to render with real raytracing on my Amiga. Maybe it was 5-8 hours with 060, maybe even more.
Nice Renderings! Yes, rendertime was incredible slow even on alleged fast machines.

I was quite impressed when I saw the difference between my Amiga 4000/040 and Dec Alpha both with LightWave ...

No Comparison to todays GPU-Cluster rendering!
Tommes is offline  
Old 28 February 2015, 03:33   #17
Flash951
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Lier / Norway
Posts: 93
Render using "real" raytracing was much slower than using sort of scanline rendering without real raytracing, as 3D studio and I think also Lightwave did. How many times you want to calculate reflecting light beams has of course extreme impact on rendering time. Glass is the most time consuming when using raytracing.

I also think that Lightwave used a processor on the Video Toaster in addition when rendering. It was possible to render in network, using many Amiga's.

The Amiga Juggler demo released in 1986 was rendered on a 512 Kb Amiga 1000 (7,14 MHz 68K). Each frame took about or maybe less than one hour to render, not to bad, real raytracing, but maybe a little simpler than glass in Real 3D.
Flash951 is offline  
Old 28 February 2015, 06:37   #18
Tommes
Pixelwizard
Tommes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Waldbroel
Posts: 103
Yep, Raytracing was added later in LightWave.
Tommes is offline  
Old 28 February 2015, 11:05   #19
adrianh78
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Northampton
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flash951 View Post
Thanks, the glasses took for ever to render with real raytracing on my Amiga. Maybe it was 5-8 hours with 060, maybe even more.
Looks really great honestly well done
adrianh78 is offline  
Old 19 March 2015, 00:49   #20
Flash951
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Lier / Norway
Posts: 93
Thanks a lot.
Flash951 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Real Unity: Directory Opus Magellan II for all Amiga and Amiga-like systems. spoUP News 0 19 March 2012 03:09
REQ: Amiga World / May - June 1987 (Eric Graham's Raytracing article) SyX AMR suggestions and feedback 1 24 August 2007 01:27
Converting ADF to real Amiga floppy disk without Amiga ??? Old Fool support.Hardware 9 13 July 2007 16:31
AmigaOS4 : Demo of Realtime-Raytracing-Engine available ! RetroMan News 9 27 April 2005 22:06
Raytracing demo Bombjacker request.Demos 15 17 August 2001 21:16

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.32259 seconds with 12 queries