English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 February 2015, 16:24   #1
Connorsdad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Staffordshire
Posts: 16
Sound issue, not all sound effects played.

My first post, so hello everyone

I can't get all sound effects to play, an example is lotus esprit turbo challenge, when either bumping into another car or screeching around a bend those sound effects cut out the music. Another example is Alien Breed, the repeating sound in the background can't be heard. I've tried messing with various settings but can't figure it out. Any help would be much appreciated.
Connorsdad is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 22 February 2015, 18:07   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,561
Most common reason for sound glitches is too fast emulated CPU speed. Make sure you use A500 compatible configuration.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 22 February 2015, 18:26   #3
Connorsdad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Staffordshire
Posts: 16
I have it set like that already, thank you Toni.
Connorsdad is offline  
Old 22 February 2015, 19:00   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,561
If you used A500 Quickstart config with compatibility slider full left and it still happens: Are you sure it is not normal behavior? Many games temporarily "steal" effect sound channel from music player.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 22 February 2015, 19:22   #5
Connorsdad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Staffordshire
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
If you used A500 Quickstart config with compatibility slider full left and it still happens: Are you sure it is not normal behavior? Many games temporarily "steal" effect sound channel from music player.
Ah, maybe it is normal behaviour for the emulator, I was expecting it to sound exactly like an A500.
Connorsdad is offline  
Old 22 February 2015, 19:25   #6
Superman
Registered User

Superman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Wakefield
Age: 42
Posts: 613
I had a similar issue with IK+ but setting the chipset to "cycle exact" fixed it.
Superman is offline  
Old 23 February 2015, 00:24   #7
Connorsdad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Staffordshire
Posts: 16
I have it set to cycle exact already. Would someone kindly try out their copy of lotus esprit turbo challenge for me please and let me know if it's just me or the emulator itself. Select the first music track on the cd player (not sound effects track) after about 20 - 30 seconds when the main section of music kicks in try making the car screech around a bend or bump into another vehicle and see if the music cuts out to allow for the sfx.
Connorsdad is offline  
Old 23 February 2015, 00:34   #8
Dunny
Registered User

Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 741
I had this back on my A1000 and the soundtrack certainly did cut out for the sound effects - with quite a delay before they came back in again. Track 4 was the one it was most noticeable on.

D.
Dunny is offline  
Old 23 February 2015, 00:42   #9
Connorsdad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Staffordshire
Posts: 16
And yet I've seen a video on YouTube where the music continues to play.

Edit.
Around the 4.40 mark you can hear the sound is fine. Amiga Longplay Lotus Esprit Turbo Challenge: [ Show youtube player ]

Last edited by Connorsdad; 23 February 2015 at 07:10.
Connorsdad is offline  
Old 23 February 2015, 11:25   #10
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,580
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
The longplay is a little deceptive in that the Music was dubbed in after the game was recorded with Sound effects only.
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 23 February 2015, 12:05   #11
Superman
Registered User

Superman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Wakefield
Age: 42
Posts: 613
Quote:
Originally Posted by Connorsdad View Post
I have it set to cycle exact already. Would someone kindly try out their copy of lotus esprit turbo challenge for me please and let me know if it's just me or the emulator itself. Select the first music track on the cd player (not sound effects track) after about 20 - 30 seconds when the main section of music kicks in try making the car screech around a bend or bump into another vehicle and see if the music cuts out to allow for the sfx.
I tried different versions of ADF in WinUAE and its exactly as you described. I'm copying them to USB stick so I can try on my real Amiga. To tell you the truth I always played this game on cd track 0 on my real Amiga so never really noticed this issue. I will report back with the real Amiga findings.
Superman is offline  
Old 23 February 2015, 12:11   #12
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 41
Posts: 3,124
I noticed no problem with the whd version.
edited: i tried with an adf version and it works perfectly. no loose of sfx. by default winuae set the sound buffer size to 9, which is too much, i set it too 3 because the sfx was delayed with it set to 9. But it's the only problem i noticed with winaue quickstart amiga 500 setting.

Last edited by turrican3; 23 February 2015 at 12:22.
turrican3 is offline  
Old 23 February 2015, 12:19   #13
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,561
I think I have to remind: Must Use Exact Same Version! Different version == invalid test.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 23 February 2015, 12:48   #14
Superman
Registered User

Superman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Wakefield
Age: 42
Posts: 613
I have tried on my real A500 and its exactly the same as in WinUAE. Here is a video as proof.

http://vidmg.photobucket.com/albums/...psw2tzxh9c.mp4
Superman is offline  
Old 23 February 2015, 12:57   #15
Connorsdad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Staffordshire
Posts: 16
Wow, thank you guys for your help. Thanks especially to Superman for taking the time to test and up a video, much appreciated

Turrican3 can I ask where you got your version from ?, as everyone else here seems to have the same sound loss as me.

Again, thanks for helping guys.
Connorsdad is offline  
Old 23 February 2015, 16:05   #16
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,692
Quote:
Originally Posted by Connorsdad View Post
an example is lotus esprit turbo challenge, when either bumping into another car or screeching around a bend those sound effects cut out the music.
That's how it is supposed to be, no faults.
Akira is offline  
Old 23 February 2015, 16:32   #17
Connorsdad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Staffordshire
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
That's how it is supposed to be, no faults.
My very fond memories of playing this are some what blurred so it seems
Connorsdad is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sound is muffled after boot until change of settings - sound filter emulation issue? rsn8887 support.WinUAE 1 30 May 2010 20:44
broken sound effects? cd32lover support.Games 0 03 February 2009 21:06
Sound Effects in IK+ noel411 support.Games 3 07 September 2007 03:12
IK+ sound effects not working andreas support.WinUAE 4 26 July 2005 20:21
How to rip sound / effects wlcina support.Games 16 18 April 2005 03:09

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.26379 seconds with 11 queries