English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 February 2015, 14:53   #1
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,020
Pirate Doom!



Quote:
Pirate Doom! A GZDoom TC with:

- 18 maps of good old runnin' and gunnin' action;

- eye patches, bandannas, beards and mustaches for all Doom monsters;

- cutlass, flintlock, cannons and other rusty weapons;

- cool caribbean music;

- compatible with any mapset;

- cooperative and deathmatch modes fully implemented;

- Ships, islands, treasures and rum.
http://www.doomworld.com/idgames/ind...-r/pirates.zip

You'll need a quite recent release of GZDoom (or at least ZDoom) in order to play it: http://www.osnanet.de/c.oelckers/gzdoom/download.html

It's a bit like a Monkey Island FPS... really
TCD is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 17 February 2015, 14:59   #2
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,790
Cacodemon with eye patch may be interesting.
s2325 is offline  
Old 17 February 2015, 15:02   #3
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Cool! I look forward to trying this with Nova's Doom ports or prboomgl on my AmigaOne
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 17 February 2015, 18:26   #4
gimbal
cheeky scoundrel
gimbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 36
Posts: 2,955
He he The selfie mod is also quite funny (for a short time):

[ Show youtube player ]
gimbal is offline  
Old 17 February 2015, 20:16   #5
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 853

Just tried it --- Loved the first level
(obviously missing something - coz I was seeing "!" )

But whats with the 2nd level ?
I died instantly (several times) like a Tele-Frag ?!?!
Nobby_UK is offline  
Old 17 February 2015, 20:20   #6
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,020
Are you using a recent enough ZDoom version? I'm using 2.0.5.0 here and it works fine.
TCD is offline  
Old 17 February 2015, 21:40   #7
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 853
2.7.1.0 it says in Properties but I don't believe it
Nobby_UK is offline  
Old 17 February 2015, 21:55   #8
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,020
I'd just grab the latest version from the link above and try again
TCD is offline  
Old 18 February 2015, 01:45   #9
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 853
Apparently 2.7.1 is the latest Zdoom

Tried GzDoom and it was Slow and
there was Tearing all over the place.


Nobby_UK is offline  
Old 18 February 2015, 07:28   #10
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,447
Doubt this would run under ODAMEX 0.6.4...anybody given it a go?

I've noticed that the some of the latest DOOM WADS need GzDOOM, it seems to be the one to use (most features).
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 18 February 2015, 08:54   #11
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,020
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nobby_UK View Post
Apparently 2.7.1 is the latest Zdoom
I just downloaded ZDoom 2.7.1 and will see if I get the same error in map 2.

Edit: It works for me, but it looks really odd in ZDoom. There are the floating exclamation marks and the colours are wrong. Guess GZDoom is the only way to play it

Last edited by TCD; 18 February 2015 at 09:33.
TCD is offline  
Old 18 February 2015, 21:52   #12
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 853
Just tried it again --- and I lived ?!?!


Last edited by Nobby_UK; 23 February 2015 at 22:26.
Nobby_UK is offline  
Old 18 March 2015, 19:58   #13
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 853
Anybody played the Circus Level (Five ?)

I am stuck

The map suggest an area beyond the Ring
but how to get there ?!?!
Nobby_UK is offline  
Old 19 March 2015, 01:11   #14
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,447
Quote:
Originally Posted by TCD View Post
I just downloaded ZDoom 2.7.1 and will see if I get the same error in map 2.

Edit: It works for me, but it looks really odd in ZDoom. There are the floating exclamation marks and the colours are wrong. Guess GZDoom is the only way to play it
Those exclamation marks are to show objects that couldn't be loaded from the WAD files (eg due to unsupported features).
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 19 March 2015, 02:56   #15
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 853
Nobby_UK is offline  
Old 19 March 2015, 03:05   #16
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,447
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nobby_UK View Post
There you go, that's all the features that ZDOOM doesn't support (custom WAD extensions)

Last edited by NovaCoder; 19 March 2015 at 13:02.
NovaCoder is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Retro] Doom Retro - Source Port of Doom Neil79 Nostalgia & memories 2 07 May 2014 13:33
Possible to port Alien Breed 3D maps to Doom? (I know AB3D has features Doom can't) dex Coders. General 2 21 January 2012 23:06
I need help remembering a Pirate-like game Dindel Looking for a game name ? 7 06 April 2008 23:11
Another pirate ? whiteb MarketPlace 16 29 March 2004 03:57
Cosmic Pirate Andrew request.Old Rare Games 7 14 May 2002 21:11

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21320 seconds with 11 queries