English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 February 2015, 14:19   #1
LordRefa
 
Posts: n/a
Keyboard configuration woes

Why is configuring WinUAE such a complete and utter nightmare?
I've struggled for hours with trying to make the keyboard do what I want it to do now, and I'm about to give up.
Since, now WinUAE doesn't do ANYTHING any longer. It just flickers the screen when I press a key. Thanks?

So, does anyone have a ready-made configuration file I can just import and have the Numpad keys work as movement keys in games.
When I started out, Keyboard layout A was active in "Game ports", yet I could move around using the Arrow keys (I tried SSI's Pool of Radiance) - the numpad keys actually did nothing.
Then I tried to set up diagonal movement ... and everything went downhill from there.

I have played Dwarf Fortress and configured a Linux system from the ground up fifteen years back when user friendliness was an unknown term in the *nix community, but never have I encountered such a convoluted mess of a system as in WinUAE. It's HORRIBLE!

Maybe some of you guys who know how to operate this thing can share a configuration file with the n00b of the day?

All I want to do is play Pool of Radiance without pulling my hairs out...
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 16 February 2015, 14:54   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,564
First answer: source code is that way ->

Second answer: Do not use "Input panel" unless you know what are you doing. It is designed to do everything, keys, joysticks, everything. It is NOT designed to be easy and boring and useless "only joysticks can be mapped with single event to single event mapping" option like in most emulators.

Use Game Ports panel "remap" option. It is more logical option for simple ("normal") remap features. (remap -> delete all -> remap, press keys)

EDIT: Oops, you probably need key to key remap, not joystick to key. So Input panel is the only choice at the moment.. Select Configuration #1, press Remap, press for example numpad left, select Cursor Left from list. Repeat for other keys. Done.

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 16 February 2015 at 14:59.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 16 February 2015, 15:07   #3
LordRefa
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Second answer: Do not use "Input panel" unless you know what are you doing. It is designed to do everything, keys, joysticks, everything. It is NOT designed to be easy and boring and useless "only joysticks can be mapped with single event to single event mapping" option like in most emulators.

Use Game Ports panel "remap" option. It is more logical option for simple ("normal") remap features. (remap -> delete all -> remap, press keys)
Yeah, I totally wanted to do that.
BUT everything on the window that pops up when you press the Remap button next to a port in "Game ports" is greyed out. You cannot actually do anything on this window. You can press the Test button and it shows you what button you pressed, but you cannot map it to anything.
Other than selecting presets that then end up not working anyway, there's nothing to do on this screen, is there?

Which is why I resorted to the Input category, at least things APPEAR to do something there. I can reassign some keys, and some of the stuff does something - for example I can assign a numpad key to a non-amiga operation (Save State, for example) just fine. Mapping it to a joystick or amiga key, though? Nada.

Then you have niceties in there such as no clear relation between the settings you can make in the categories. I can define a configuration in Input but cannot actually select it in "Game Port". Instead, selecting something other than none in GP overwrites things in Input, making it impossible to remap. Or so it seems to me, the way this all is implemented is totally arcane and extremely confusing to me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
First answer: source code is that way ->
This used to be the go-to answer from all the *nix guys back in the day. But I didn't plan on forking WinUAE, just using it.

But thanks a bunch for bothering to reply anyway. Much appreciated.
 
Old 16 February 2015, 15:39   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by LordRefa View Post
Yeah, I totally wanted to do that.
BUT everything on the window that pops up when you press the Remap button next to a port in "Game ports" is greyed out. You cannot actually do anything on this window. You can press the Test button and it shows you what button you pressed, but you cannot map it to anything.
Other than selecting presets that then end up not working anyway, there's nothing to do on this screen, is there?
This is known illogical feature which is not explained anywhere.. Built-in keyboard layouts can't be adjusted (due to internal design), you have to click "Delete All" first. Joysticks work.

Quote:
Which is why I resorted to the Input category, at least things APPEAR to do something there. I can reassign some keys, and some of the stuff does something - for example I can assign a numpad key to a non-amiga operation (Save State, for example) just fine. Mapping it to a joystick or amiga key, though? Nada.
Amiga side-joystick? All events should be there (keys, Amiga joystick directions, buttons, mouse, special events), list is unfortunately quite stupid way to select it but it works..

If you want to map physical PC joystick: press Remap and then press joystick button you want to remap, not Amiga-side key.

Quote:
Then you have niceties in there such as no clear relation between the settings you can make in the categories. I can define a configuration in Input but cannot actually select it in "Game Port". Instead, selecting something other than none in GP overwrites things in Input, making it impossible to remap. Or so it seems to me, the way this all is implemented is totally arcane and extremely confusing to me.
Game Ports overrides Input panel. Reason is simple: if you only need to do one "complex" remapping, you can still use "easy" Game Ports mapping for joystick.

btw, this is what I wanted to know, whats wrong so that it can be improved. It is usually always "it is too complex, waah" which then ends with "Works as designed. Closed."

If you still got strange side-effects, please attach your config and I'll check if there is real bug somewhere.
Toni Wilen is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AmigaDemobase Configuration Woes SparkyNZ support.Demos 8 19 April 2016 19:57
Newbie keyboard configuration problems Moon support.WinUAE 10 21 April 2013 13:35
WinUAE keyboard configuration problem bllpla support.WinUAE 2 29 August 2011 19:38
Keyboard configuration doesn't work! Guillaume777 support.WinUAE 16 14 June 2010 16:05
WINUAE 8.22R1 Keyboard Configuration ahsawk support.WinUAE 3 16 December 2006 13:24

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20160 seconds with 11 queries