English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 February 2015, 22:45   #1
jonssonj
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Bjärred
Posts: 20
I always get a read error when installting OS4.1 FE in WinUAE

Hello!

I always get a read error when the installation comes to 95%. It gives error on a "history8.htm" file. Is it more than me that gets this read error or have I gotten a cd with errors? Should I return the CD to Amigakit?

I have tried to make an ISO file of the CD with WinISO 6. The ISO file is created successfully without any errors, but when installing from the ISO file I get the same error. I have also tried to make an nero image and then converted this .nrg image to .iso image with winiso, with the same result.

Can this read error be the fault of the emulation?

BR
Jörgen
jonssonj is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 04 February 2015, 23:12   #2
UncleSpam
Registered User
UncleSpam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 151
Try copying all files from the OS4.1FE CD to a Windows directory and see if you get any errors during the copy process.
UncleSpam is offline  
Old 04 February 2015, 23:51   #3
jonssonj
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Bjärred
Posts: 20
Ok, I tried that and there was five files that could not be copied to windows. One file had illegal characters in the filename "<<global>>.prefs" or something like that. The other four was surprisingly the AUX and AUX.inf in both .../DEVS/Dosdrivers and in .../Storage/Dosdrivers. Should'nt it be possible to copy these four files to a windows folder? It did not say anything about the history8.htm that AmigaOS4.1 FE don't like.

Very strange, I don't know what to do! Is the CD "broken or not"?

BR
Jörgen
jonssonj is offline  
Old 05 February 2015, 00:33   #4
jonssonj
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Bjärred
Posts: 20
I secretely took my wifes old dell laptop and installed imgburn on that and made a new iso from my OS4.1 FE CD. This ISO worked.... I'm so happy!!!!

Picture of my absolutely first boot of OS4.1
Click image for larger version

Name:	My first successful boot to OS4.1 FE.jpg
Views:	108
Size:	166.1 KB
ID:	43126
jonssonj is offline  
Old 05 February 2015, 00:39   #5
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,200
Your persistence paid off. Great result!

Thanks for sharing your solution for the benefit of other OS4.1FE purchasers here.
prowler is offline  
Old 05 February 2015, 06:00   #6
UncleSpam
Registered User
UncleSpam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 151
Glad to hear! Maybe the laser pickup lens on the 1st computer needs some cleaning?

Once you create the ISO, you can then ZIP it and use the zipped ISO as well, thus saving some space on the hard drive.
UncleSpam is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Space Quest : Read Write error coze project.Killergorilla's WHD packs 1 20 July 2015 12:39
Amiga read/write error concern Ilyad support.Hardware 9 31 May 2012 21:52
read/write error? backtoskooldaze support.Hardware 3 07 September 2011 15:22
read/write Cd error help amigang support.WinUAE 1 30 July 2010 22:57
Read/Write error? one1 support.Games 8 04 June 2003 23:23

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.11650 seconds with 12 queries