English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 February 2015, 12:26   #1
jonssonj
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Bjärred
Posts: 20
OS4.1 FE classic installation gives me black screen!

Hello!

I'm trying to do a install of my newly bought OS4.1 Classic in WinUAE beta 7. I have created the Bootfloppy from the CD and booting up with floppy and then the CD.

After a while I'm greeted with a picture "Amiga 4.1 ... " and then the processor switch over to the PPC one and I'm greeted with another picture of "Amiga 4.1 ...". This picture is visible, maybe 10 seconds, and then I get a black screen.

WinUAE Says that the PPC is running, 68K stop and FPS is jumping between 59 and 61, but nothing else happens. It does not read from the CD, and it does not read from the floppy.

I have attached config and log. I would be very grateful if I could get a hint of what I'm doing wrong.

BR
Jörgen Jönsson


winuae_debug.zip

OS4.1 Classics.uae
jonssonj is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 03 February 2015, 18:40   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,559
Remove A4091. (I don't know if it is supposed to do that)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 04 February 2015, 08:08   #3
jonssonj
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Bjärred
Posts: 20
Ok I did that and then the installation worked. Thanks Toni!

BR
Jörgen
jonssonj is offline  
Old 04 February 2015, 09:41   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,559
I debugged this a bit more (with older 4.1 version).

It seems some A4091 driver runs (m68k emulated A4091 ROM code?) at that point which tries to reset the chip and it was not handled correctly.

After fixing it, driver does more chip init and then finally points NCR chip SCRIPTS DMA pointer to non-existing RAM (0x3fxxxxxx region, perhaps this is PPC CPU MMU remapped logical address, not physical which hardware needs) and starts SCRIPTS DMA which of course won't work very well.

Probably OS4.x "feature".
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 12 March 2015, 10:49   #5
Khylrion
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 21
same pink screen issue

I have the same problem, but removing A4091 did not solve it for me.
Have tried a myriad of different options now and that's why I am turning to the experts now :-).

If you prefer, I can of course make my own thread.

thanks in advance Toni and team!
Attached Files
File Type: zip WinUAE.zip (812.7 KB, 43 views)
Khylrion is offline  
Old 12 March 2015, 12:15   #6
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,530
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Khylrion View Post
I have the same problem, but removing A4091 did not solve it for me.
Have tried a myriad of different options now and that's why I am turning to the experts now :-).

If you prefer, I can of course make my own thread.

thanks in advance Toni and team!
You have a different issue. As his was getting stuck after starting to boot OS4.1. Yours is getting stuck as soon as its loaded the OS4.1 ROM Modules and Kernel.

Silly question, as I get stuck on pink screen sometimes. Have you done a soft reset?
This tends to solve the issue for me.
FOL is offline  
Old 12 March 2015, 12:32   #7
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,559
Yes, it is different. UAE Boot ROM is enabled. You have some UAE expansion enabled. All of them MUST be disabled. (hardfile, directory harddrive, uaeserial, bsdsocket, uaenet etc..)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 12 March 2015, 16:45   #8
Khylrion
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
You have a different issue. As his was getting stuck after starting to boot OS4.1. Yours is getting stuck as soon as its loaded the OS4.1 ROM Modules and Kernel.

Silly question, as I get stuck on pink screen sometimes. Have you done a soft reset?
This tends to solve the issue for me.
apologise, had so many tabs open I did end up posting in the wrong one :/

I have done many hard and soft resets from within winUAE. Or are you referring to a different method?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Yes, it is different. UAE Boot ROM is enabled. You have some UAE expansion enabled. All of them MUST be disabled. (hardfile, directory harddrive, uaeserial, bsdsocket, uaenet etc..)
Thanks as well for the quick feedback!

I am not sure how to proceed with disabling all the expansions, as all the guides do mention the use of a hardfile for instance.

does that mean I can't use the PIV graphic card either? I don't understand why all this seems to work for everyone else, but just a few of us are stuck in this pink bootscreen.

Will try disabling all expansions and try it like that.

Last edited by TCD; 12 March 2015 at 20:28. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged.
Khylrion is offline  
Old 12 March 2015, 16:51   #9
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,559
You can't use "UAE" controller hardfiles. All hardware emulated devices are fine. (mainboard IDE, CSPPC SCSI and so on)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 12 March 2015, 18:37   #10
Khylrion
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 21
interesting fact, even though I have disabled all expansions (no RTG card, no UAESCSI.device) after I start the machine, the expansion UAESCSI.device is checked after all.

will see if switching to IDE without any expansions brings anything.

even when I disable the internal SCSI Hardware in the Adv. Chipset, even when I put configure all my harddrives as IDE, ... the expansion still starts the uaescsi.device when I start the machine (and it is disabled in my config).

for some odd reason I do have to select a SCSI ROM file (in ROM settings) and I have now tried with the A2091 with the ROM Disabled.

Not sure what more I can try here :/

Last edited by TCD; 12 March 2015 at 20:28. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged.
Khylrion is offline  
Old 12 March 2015, 19:23   #11
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,559
No config file but my crystal ball says you have some harddrives panel option enabled, like CDFS automount.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 12 March 2015, 21:10   #12
Khylrion
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
No config file but my crystal ball says you have some harddrives panel option enabled, like CDFS automount.
that is the only option I have enabled indeed :-).

without it he can't find from CDROM to boot AOS4.1 FE.
Khylrion is offline  
Old 12 March 2015, 21:17   #13
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,559
You are doing it wrong. I am 100% sure no guide asked you to enable it or use it.

Add CD as IDE1 or CSPPC SCSI CD unit. Then add the CD (image or CD drive letter) using CD drive/image select box in CD&HardDrives panel.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 12 March 2015, 21:25   #14
Khylrion
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
You are doing it wrong. I am 100% sure no guide asked you to enable it or use it.

Add CD as IDE1 or CSPPC SCSI CD unit. Then add the CD (image or CD drive letter) using CD drive/image select box in CD&HardDrives panel.
that is exactly what I did and the only way I was able to boot was to automount it.

Tried all versions of SCSI, IDE as well.

So you are saying that this automount is the rootcause for hanging at the pink screen?

what could a reason be that the CD does not boot from either image or physical disk (and only works with automount?)
Khylrion is offline  
Old 12 March 2015, 21:34   #15
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,559
Pink screen = any UAE device enabled, any non-proper hardware configuration. Don't do it.

No "normal" Amiga boots CDs. (Only exceptions are CD32/CDTV). CSPPC can also also boot CDs if configured to do so. (Instructions in some other thread, nothing to do with emulation)

Or use boot disk.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 12 March 2015, 21:38   #16
Khylrion
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Pink screen = any UAE device enabled, any non-proper hardware configuration. Don't do it.

No "normal" Amiga boots CDs. (Only exceptions are CD32/CDTV). CSPPC can also also boot CDs if configured to do so. (Instructions in some other thread, nothing to do with emulation)

Or use boot disk.
ah sorry should have highlighted that I am using the bootfloppy.adf from the OS4.1 FE cd.

let me rephrase my question: what could the reason be that the bootfloppy can't start the OS4.1 FE CD (when automount is not enabled) using winUAE?
Khylrion is offline  
Old 12 March 2015, 21:43   #17
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,559
This is so called crystall ball answer because I still can't find your config file: you use IDE but you have CD connected to IDE splitter (IDE unit 2 or 3) which is not available until installation has been completed.

Use CSPPC SCSI. Much faster. Not limited to two units.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 13 March 2015, 10:51   #18
Khylrion
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
This is so called crystall ball answer because I still can't find your config file: you use IDE but you have CD connected to IDE splitter (IDE unit 2 or 3) which is not available until installation has been completed.

Use CSPPC SCSI. Much faster. Not limited to two units.
First of all thank you for your quick feedback!

Second of all, thanks for the amazing piece of software, allowing me to relive the computer that kickstarted my interest in computers :-)
You sir, are pretty awesome!

thanks to your guidance I have now managed to go beyond the pink screen but it appears to be hanging on a black screen now.
Will check the logs for more details and then add my config as well.
Khylrion is offline  
Old 13 March 2015, 11:25   #19
Khylrion
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 21
attached my fresh logs and the last working config where I don't have the pink.

Any assistance is more than appreciated!
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaelog.txt (64.7 KB, 45 views)
File Type: txt winuaebootlog.txt (28.0 KB, 39 views)
File Type: uae AOS41_20150313_nopink.uae (21.6 KB, 35 views)
Khylrion is offline  
Old 13 March 2015, 11:33   #20
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,559
Config immediately shows the problem.

You don't emulate proper A4000. Tick compatible Settings in Adv. Chipset and change Chipset extra to A4000 in Chipset panel.

OS4 tries to detect A4000 IDE drives but because there is no IDE hardware emulation, it gets stuck..

Also for some reason Picasso IV is not autoconfigured by OS4, disable Z3 RAM first, if it appears now, add smaller Z3 RAM.

HD config looks fine now.
Toni Wilen is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to install OS4.1 Classic mritter0 support.WinUAE 107 29 October 2016 10:36
Classic Workbench Installation Vicky project.ClassicWB 15 02 May 2014 01:01
OS4.0 classic fastfilesystem Bamiga2002 support.WinUAE 2 29 July 2009 13:20
Wanted: OS4.0 Classic scrappysphinx MarketPlace 1 07 March 2009 16:51
OS4 classic installation orange support.Apps 15 09 March 2008 15:38

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.34667 seconds with 13 queries