English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 January 2015, 11:50   #1
Sandro
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: spain
Posts: 897
Star wars Dark forces on the Amiga using MAC emulatoros

hello I want to know if this game works on the Amiga using shape shifter or fusion emulators
seems this game uses doom engine or something like that

anyone tried it ?

video:

[ Show youtube player ]
Sandro is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 29 January 2015, 14:47   #2
Amiten
Registered User
Amiten's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Spain
Posts: 411
I think , cammy show amiga playing this game some where....by shapeshifter
Amiten is offline  
Old 29 January 2015, 19:11   #3
Sandro
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: spain
Posts: 897
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amiten View Post
I think , cammy show amiga playing this game some where....by shapeshifter

are you referring to this thread ?

http://www.amiga.org/forums/showthread.php?t=57426
Sandro is offline  
Old 29 January 2015, 19:13   #4
Amiten
Registered User
Amiten's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Spain
Posts: 411
Yes man this one
Amiten is offline  
Old 29 January 2015, 21:57   #5
Michael Sykes
WinUAE end user

Michael Sykes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Bremen
Age: 38
Posts: 623
I think I will try the download it on Macintoshgarden and try it in ShapeShifter.
They wrote it works on SheepShaver and on system 7.
I'm not even a SW fan and never played it but it looks cool.
Lets hope it doesn't need a PPC.
Michael Sykes is offline  
Old 30 January 2015, 17:45   #6
Sandro
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: spain
Posts: 897
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Sykes View Post
I think I will try the download it on Macintoshgarden and try it in ShapeShifter.
They wrote it works on SheepShaver and on system 7.
I'm not even a SW fan and never played it but it looks cool.
Lets hope it doesn't need a PPC.
I just tried the game from macintosh garden
it works great and ultra fast on both fusion and shapeshifter
please note I used winuae, so on a real Amiga must work, but maybe on a real Amiga is slow or not so fast as in winuae

on macintosh garden they wrote it works on sheepshaver because this game it doesn't work on Basilisk /windows , I checked it
Sandro is offline  
Old 31 January 2015, 20:00   #7
Calabazam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: France
Posts: 163
It runs just fine with Shapeshifter on real 68060 and a RTG card. But long term stability of Shapeshifter can be an issue during a gaming session.
Calabazam is offline  
Old 31 January 2015, 21:38   #8
Rebel-CD32
Amiga will never die!
Rebel-CD32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 516
Send a message via MSN to Rebel-CD32
I've played it through Shapeshifter on my 50Mhz '030 A1200. I set Shapeshifter to use an NTSC Low-Res screenmode but with a 640x480 screen area and turned auto-scrolling off. Then ran the game from MacOS, put it in the lowest size screen it'll run in and centred it. It's a bit too slow to be fun, but it works.
Rebel-CD32 is offline  
Old 31 January 2015, 22:29   #9
Sandro
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: spain
Posts: 897
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calabazam View Post
It runs just fine with Shapeshifter on real 68060 and a RTG card. But long term stability of Shapeshifter can be an issue during a gaming session.
on shapeshifter this game sometimes return to finder with error code xxx
try fusion it works more stable, never returned to finder until now
Sandro is offline  
Old 11 February 2015, 12:36   #10
edd_jedi
Registered User
edd_jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London / UK
Posts: 396
I'd love somebody to make a native AGA port, surely must be possible having seen Doom, Quake etc run at amazing speed on an 060 or even 040
edd_jedi is offline  
Old 11 February 2015, 13:47   #11
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca / Spain
Posts: 272
Sí, Sandro.
As wrote, it worked OK with SS on a A1200 1230/50 AGA. I played it as other games like After The Dark, like 20 years ago.
Could be cool to code an Amiga port.....
Cowcat is offline  
Old 17 June 2015, 16:56   #12
Michael
A1260T/PPC/BV/SCSI/NET

Michael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Moscow / Russia
Posts: 580
The remastered DarkForces in Warp3D will run mega good.
Can't wait if this ever happens
Michael is offline  
Old 18 June 2015, 11:56   #13
gimbal
cheeky scoundrel
gimbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 36
Posts: 2,932
Quote:
Originally Posted by edd_jedi View Post
I'd love somebody to make a native AGA port, surely must be possible having seen Doom, Quake etc run at amazing speed on an 060 or even 040
The difference is that Doom and Quake are open source so porting was actually possible. Dark Forces is not open source as far as I can tell. And unlike what people want to believe: it does not run on the Doom engine.
gimbal is offline  
Old 18 June 2015, 12:34   #14
edd_jedi
Registered User
edd_jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London / UK
Posts: 396
Quote:
Originally Posted by gimbal View Post
The difference is that Doom and Quake are open source so porting was actually possible. Dark Forces is not open source as far as I can tell. And unlike what people want to believe: it does not run on the Doom engine.
There is an HD 'port' of Dark Forces here, DarkXL. not sure if that means they needed the source code:

http://xlengine.com/games/
edd_jedi is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Star Wars Demos!! Zeewolf request.Demos 16 06 February 2011 16:20
dark forces remake gimbal Retrogaming General Discussion 12 12 June 2009 13:42
Star Wars - US version pcGTW_Webmaster HOL contributions 2 01 December 2004 15:40
Star Wars and commando adgloride request.Old Rare Games 0 18 July 2004 01:06
hacked star wars bogboy1978 request.Old Rare Games 5 08 April 2004 15:15

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.18001 seconds with 11 queries