English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 January 2015, 14:45   #1
fondpondforever
Registered User

fondpondforever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Cornwall, England
Posts: 311
Stick out tongue Official Scandoubler

Is this the Official Scandoubler made by Commodore International, Amiga Technologies or by a modern company? Saw this on eBay and thought this looked fascinating.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Amiga-Scando...-/261733979559
fondpondforever is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 28 January 2015, 14:47   #2
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,530
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by fondpondforever View Post
Is this the Official Scandoubler made by Commodore International, Amiga Technologies or by a modern company? Saw this eBay and thought this looked fascinating.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Amiga-Scando...-/261733979559
As far I remember no. Or atleast I have never seen one.
They did have have a 23pin RGB to 15pin VGA connector though.
FOL is offline  
Old 28 January 2015, 14:53   #3
fondpondforever
Registered User

fondpondforever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Cornwall, England
Posts: 311
It might have been made by just one independent professional.
fondpondforever is offline  
Old 28 January 2015, 14:55   #4
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,530
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by fondpondforever View Post
It might have been made by just one independent professional.
I know that you linked to. There lots of them being made buy different people from a board bought from china.
Look here, this is what you linked to on ebay. Nothing to do with Commodore, etc etc.
FOL is offline  
Old 28 January 2015, 15:00   #5
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,395
that is the GBS8220 with component output i believe... grossly overpriced
kipper2k is offline  
Old 28 January 2015, 15:10   #6
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 29
Posts: 1,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
that is the GBS8220 with component output i believe... grossly overpriced
And people are falling for it as well
jbenam is offline  
Old 28 January 2015, 15:22   #7
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 34
Posts: 2,235
Looks nothing like an official Commodore product and from what I've read on here doesn't even give a good result.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 28 January 2015, 16:07   #8
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 29
Posts: 1,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
I've read on here doesn't even give a good result.
It's not as bad as some people want to make it - it was comparable to a SCART output in my testing and that makes it perfect for people who want to use a monitor or a TV which doesn't have SCART.
jbenam is offline  
Old 29 January 2015, 04:35   #9
Matt_H
Registered User
Matt_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 119
This is the only Commodore-made scandoubler.
Matt_H is offline  
Old 29 January 2015, 07:55   #10
Havie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 254
These have been around for a while and look like an OK solution. To be fair the listing doesn't claim that its an official product - it is just branded with a sticker.
Havie is offline  
Old 29 January 2015, 11:35   #11
fondpondforever
Registered User

fondpondforever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Cornwall, England
Posts: 311
Quote:
This is the only Commodore-made scandoubler.
Make your own case, buttons and equip it with an LED with this board installed then you have the official Commodore Scandoubler. WOW i want one of these.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Commodore-...item4adcd33913
fondpondforever is offline  
Old 29 January 2015, 11:51   #12
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 39
Posts: 4,443
Quote:
Originally Posted by fondpondforever View Post
Is this the Official Scandoubler made by Commodore International, Amiga Technologies or by a modern company? Saw this on eBay and thought this looked fascinating.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Amiga-Scando...-/261733979559

It is now back on ebay, with different label. So it is with that "officiality" thing

I can not judge the quality of the device, though.
Predseda is offline  
Old 29 January 2015, 12:30   #13
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 29
Posts: 1,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by Predseda View Post
It is now back on ebay, with different label. So it is with that "officiality" thing
Looks like the guy reads EAB then...
jbenam is offline  
Old 30 January 2015, 12:25   #14
fondpondforever
Registered User

fondpondforever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Cornwall, England
Posts: 311
Does the A2320 work on an Amiga 4000?
fondpondforever is offline  
Old 30 January 2015, 12:58   #15
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 29
Posts: 1,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by fondpondforever View Post
Does the A2320 work on an Amiga 4000?
Yes, but it can't cope with all the colors AGA has (it's made for ECS) so downsampling will happen.
jbenam is offline  
Old 30 January 2015, 13:36   #16
fondpondforever
Registered User

fondpondforever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Cornwall, England
Posts: 311
Is there a solution for this?
fondpondforever is offline  
Old 30 January 2015, 15:23   #17
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,868
Quote:
Originally Posted by fondpondforever View Post
Is there a solution for this?
Each is capable of 12-bits, so for 24-bits, use two of them

http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/a2320aga
alexh is offline  
Old 02 February 2015, 12:23   #18
fondpondforever
Registered User

fondpondforever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Cornwall, England
Posts: 311
Thanks.
fondpondforever is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
C Code without official includes redblade Coders. Language 3 20 March 2013 14:05
A new OFFICIAL AmigaOne 500 DDNI News 49 18 July 2012 16:08
Internal Scandoubler for External Scandoubler sbeehre Swapshop 1 22 January 2008 10:29
Is the Comp Serv Scandoubler (also Arxon) a full 24bit AGA scandoubler? keropi support.Hardware 11 03 August 2006 13:06
Well, it's official... SNK is dead :( MethodGit Retrogaming General Discussion 16 02 November 2001 17:23

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25109 seconds with 11 queries