English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 January 2015, 03:29   #1
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,464
"Internal clock not functioning" error

Hi,
this is really a very stupid/noob question, but I never dealt with clock etc.

Lately I tested various programs in WinUAE (basic A500 config, KS 1.2, no RAM expansions), and some of them (for example PowerWindows v2.0, a few minutes ago) show a clock-related message like this (or similar):
Internal clock not functioning
SetClock failed returncode 20

I don't have a clue about how to switch ON the internal clock emulation in WinUAE...
In the ROM section of WinUAE Properties I see a "Real Time Clock file" option, but a .rom file is required... I don't know what to do .

EDIT:
Uh... I just saw the "Battery Backed Up Real Time Clock" option in the Adv. Chipset section... I suppose I should set that .

What's the purpose of the "Real Time Clock file" rom?

Last edited by Supamax; 28 January 2015 at 03:41.
Supamax is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 28 January 2015, 09:11   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,561
No RAM expansion = no clock is the default. A500 RTC is usually included only with RAM expansions.

"Real Time Clock file" is big box Amiga clock chip (Ricoh RF5C01A) internal RAM dump (RAM is clock chip battery backed, 52 bits or so, don't remember). Mostly unused but at least A3000 stores some SCSI parameters in clock chip RAM.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 28 January 2015, 09:51   #3
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,148
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
No RAM expansion = no clock is the default. A500 RTC is usually included only with RAM expansions.
No RTC also when Blizzard 1230 IV is enabled. I need to enable it under Adv. Chipset manually.

[EDIT. Its my equivocation using the term "RAM expansion", the right is RTC, or real time clock.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
"Real Time Clock file" is big box Amiga clock chip (Ricoh RF5C01A) internal RAM dump (RAM is clock chip battery backed, 52 bits or so, don't remember). Mostly unused but at least A3000 stores some SCSI parameters in clock chip RAM.
SCSI parameters?! Thats a place to put them!

Last edited by Leandro Jardim; 28 January 2015 at 19:01. Reason: RAM expansion is wrong, right is RTC. :)
Leandro Jardim is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Reminder "Lincs Amiga User Group aka "LAG" Meet Sat 5th of January 2013" rockape News 4 30 January 2013 00:06
"Exception "Line 1111 Emulator" ($2c) Error at $1004" when exiting game demolition support.WinUAE 15 30 November 2012 16:43
External diskdrive "DF1" as Internal!! BarrySWE support.Hardware 2 22 November 2005 07:21
"DOS-Error #205 (object not found) on reading "devs:kickstarts/kick 40068.a4000" Brutal_dentist New to Emulation or Amiga scene 10 03 April 2005 23:12
"DOS-Error #205 (object not found) on reading "devs:kickstarts/kick 40068.a4000" Unregistered New to Emulation or Amiga scene 1 22 December 2004 09:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.10158 seconds with 11 queries