English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 February 2015, 19:05   #21
8bitbubsy
Registered User

8bitbubsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Norway
Age: 28
Posts: 1,254
Send a message via MSN to 8bitbubsy
Quote:
Originally Posted by voyager View Post
However OpenMPT (modplugtracker) plays every mod,it,xm I have exactly like my miggy does.
No it doesn't, there are several ProTracker quirks it doesn't do or does not do correctly, and it sounds very bad because it doesn't have BLEP synthesis, and enabling mixing interpolation makes the sound too muddy on bad samples.

EDIT: Here are some MP3s. I guess you can figure out which one sounds closest to the real deal. ptwin32 = my ProTracker clone.
Once again, enabling spline/linear/cubic interpolation is not the same, it makes the sound very filtered on bad/lofreq samples.

(also keep in mind that Amiga 1200 and CD32 has sharper sound than any other Amiga, because the static low-pass filter's cutoff is tuned to ~27..31kHz instead of 5kHz)
http://16-bits.org/ptwin32_test_case...es_openmpt.mp3
http://16-bits.org/ptwin32_test_case...es_ptwin32.mp3
http://16-bits.org/ptwin32_test_case...1200_pt23d.mp3

http://16-bits.org/ptwin32_test_case...ry_openmpt.mp3
http://16-bits.org/ptwin32_test_case...ry_ptwin32.mp3
http://16-bits.org/ptwin32_test_case...1200_pt23d.mp3

Last edited by 8bitbubsy; 04 February 2015 at 19:10.
8bitbubsy is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 12 February 2015, 23:46   #22
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8bitbubsy View Post
Why not use my ProTracker v2.3D clone for OS X/Windows/Linux?
http://16-bits.org/pt.php
I just got a crash while trying to load a sample, with the following output in the terminal:
Quote:
Assertion 't = find_next_time_event(m)' failed at pulse/mainloop.c:721, function calc_next_timeout(). Aborting.
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 13 February 2015, 00:11   #23
Dunny
Registered User

Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 864
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8bitbubsy View Post
Why not use my ProTracker v2.3D clone for OS X/Windows/Linux?
http://16-bits.org/pt.php
Any chance it could support song loading as well as modules? I've been collecting ADFs of the ST-XX disks, and would love to have the ability to load the song and samples separately. It would also make a nice addition to the OpenPandora; a tracker with a wide range of samples to choose from... Looks like I'm gonna be compiling tonight!

D.
Dunny is offline  
Old 04 March 2015, 08:26   #24
8bitbubsy
Registered User

8bitbubsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Norway
Age: 28
Posts: 1,254
Send a message via MSN to 8bitbubsy
Dunny: I assume you know that you can load any IFF/WAV/RAW samples, right? So if you unpack any ST-xx disks, you can load the samples just fine (it check for IFF/WAV in the header first, if not, then it loads as RAW without asking).
I still don't get why you want the "song" format. We need LESS modules out there that requires an external sample pack, it's the worst format in history for preservation.
8bitbubsy is offline  
Old 04 March 2015, 16:03   #25
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,751
I guess the SONG format is just interesting for personal use. Not for spreading mods. Some games used it and if I remember right, one of the current backbone games too. Of course it is not recommended to use the song format. However, in the early nineties I used it on some of my sample disks. Mainly because it wasn`t worth to save as module. Never saw a musican releasing his stuff as song.
daxb is offline  
Old 04 March 2015, 18:57   #26
Dunny
Registered User

Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 864
I'm porting to the OpenPandora, which means that the app will be packaged into a .pnd file. The PND is a compressed ISO which is mounted as a filesystem, and a directory is allocated on the Pandora's storage to act as "home" under the linux filesystem.

What I'd like to do is package up the tracker with all the ST-XX disks with samples, mods and songs directories like my old ST-00 disk. As the samples will be present in the package, I'd like to save and load song format as that way multiple copies of the samples don't need to be saved with each song.

It just keeps things neat. I know that mods are quite small by today's standards, but even so... Even if I restrict it to just loading the song format and continue to enforce saving as mod.whatever, it means that I can package up lots of songs instead of modules that will duplicate the samples and bloat the package unnecessarily.

D.
Dunny is offline  
Old 04 March 2015, 19:50   #27
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
i have a lot of my old music saved as Songs, from back in the days when i had to use floppies for everything. Saving everything as mods fills up disks really quickly!
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 04 March 2015, 21:25   #28
8bitbubsy
Registered User

8bitbubsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Norway
Age: 28
Posts: 1,254
Send a message via MSN to 8bitbubsy
Dunny: Ah ok, now it makes much more sense to me why you want the "song" format in your OpenPandora port.
Mrs_Beanbag: Regarding the crash, I have no clue what happened there. :/
8bitbubsy is offline  
Old 04 March 2015, 21:46   #29
Dunny
Registered User

Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 864
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8bitbubsy View Post
Dunny: Ah ok, now it makes much more sense to me why you want the "song" format in your OpenPandora port.
I've pretty much just decided to support it for loading only - the loading system will load either song or module format and only complain if it can't find a sample i the "samples" directory or its subdirs.

Saving happens outside of the package anyway, so saving as a module isn't such an issue.

D.
Dunny is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aros m68k (Kickstart substitute) mihcael Amiga scene 379 13 April 2016 22:47
ChipQuik and substitute kipper2k Hardware mods 18 27 September 2013 11:55
Porting to Tiny Core Linux and Puppy Linux lorenzos support.FS-UAE 1 05 January 2013 17:13
Protracker 5? Whitesnake request.Music 2 25 March 2012 13:58
Kickstart substitute gilgamesh request.UAE Wishlist 19 17 January 2009 16:37

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25401 seconds with 11 queries