English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 January 2015, 20:18   #1
TCH
Newbie Amiga programmer

 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Front of my A500+
Age: 31
Posts: 108
Dune 2 Scenario editor

I did not found any topics about game modding, so i write it here.

Recently i released the version 2.00 of my Dune 2 scenario editor.

I made it originally in 2007, because i did not found any D2 editor which supported the Amiga scenario format. (This did not changed since.)
Development ceased as i lost interest, and altough the editor worked, there were a couple of unsolved things remained, but i never had the motivation to solve them. However, since a new Dune 2 mod for Amiga is announced and the author contacted me about a few things, including some of the unsolved problems, i took the old code and made the changes after nearly eight years.

Details, manual and the rest are in the package.

http://oscomp.hu/?details/Dune_2_Sce...2.00_Win32_147


Have fun.
TCH is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 20 January 2015, 08:14   #2
seuden
uber cool demi god

seuden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kent/England
Posts: 1,894
Awesome!
seuden is offline  
Old 20 January 2015, 09:35   #3
gimbal
cheeky scoundrel
gimbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 36
Posts: 2,932
And not off-topic!
gimbal is offline  
Old 21 January 2015, 00:02   #4
Michael Sykes
WinUAE end user

Michael Sykes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Bremen
Age: 38
Posts: 623
Quote:
Originally Posted by gimbal View Post
And not off-topic!
That deserves be in Retrogaming General Discussion, indeed.
Michael Sykes is offline  
Old 21 January 2015, 13:29   #5
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vega Sector
Age: 45
Posts: 2,286
But then all important people on site might miss it?!

Good job placing it here!

Dune 2 was breakthrough of its time, game and its funky control...

I played it recently on my Win 7 machine with all cinematics and fixed GUI thanks to this little project called Dune Legacy. ( http://sourceforge.net/projects/dunelegacy/ )

Here is an article where I found info about it, and after I tried I end up playing half of campaign now that controls have been fixed... nice little gem this game is...

http://www.dosgamers.com/dos/dos-games/dune-2
Anubis is offline  
Old 21 January 2015, 17:31   #6
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by gimbal View Post
And not off-topic!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Sykes View Post
That deserves be in Retrogaming General Discussion, indeed.
Indeed!

aka moved
TCD is offline  
Old 21 January 2015, 19:16   #7
mihcael
Zone Friend
mihcael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Aussie
Posts: 1,074
Cool.

I used an editor previously which had no GUI, it lacked alot of options or at least explanation how to use them.

This looks like it has everything i would need. Will try it very soon.
mihcael is offline  
Old 21 January 2015, 21:11   #8
seuden
uber cool demi god

seuden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kent/England
Posts: 1,894
Don't forget there is a Dune 2 for Android too but it's been removed from the play store. I'm sure google and .apk search will uncover it. I currently have it installed on my Nexus 7 and it is awesome!
seuden is offline  
Old 27 January 2015, 12:05   #9
mihcael
Zone Friend
mihcael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Aussie
Posts: 1,074
Gave it a quick try. Loaded up a modified scenario worked ok. Crashed when i saved the mission though, may be unrelated, will test further.

A few features i would like.

-Scalable window so you can make it bigger to edit maps more easly.
-Random seed button.
-show what the seed number in use is.
mihcael is offline  
Old 08 February 2015, 23:29   #10
TCH
Newbie Amiga programmer

 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Front of my A500+
Age: 31
Posts: 108
@michael:

I did not experienced crashes, did you tried your mission on a real machine or emulator?

A random seed button and to display the current seed is solvable, but i will not do a scalable window, because this is a decade old abandoned Delphi project and i no longer use windows or Delphi and this would be a bigger issue in that ancient code.
TCH is offline  
Old 09 February 2015, 01:01   #11
amigoun
Registered User
amigoun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Czech Rep
Posts: 420
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsr;998493[SIZE=1
However, since a new Dune 2 mod for Amiga is announced and the author contacted me about a few things, including some of the unsolved problems, i took the old code and made the changes after nearly eight years.[/SIZE]
Can you give some more info about the new Dune 2 mod? I can not find any info about it on the net.
amigoun is offline  
Old 09 February 2015, 03:04   #12
TCH
Newbie Amiga programmer

 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Front of my A500+
Age: 31
Posts: 108
Sorry, but i posess no information about it, because i have nothing to do with that mod, aside from providing the scenario editor for Foxman. However you can find him on this forum and in this topic on dune2k.com forum. There was a homepage of it on amiga68k.de, but currently it is unavailable.
TCH is offline  
Old 01 March 2015, 02:05   #13
mihcael
Zone Friend
mihcael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Aussie
Posts: 1,074
I was testing in WinUAE. I havent tried again since.

Two other things i noticed for your informatio.

Scenario:
Setting Game ends and Win if player have no buildings - does not work. Mission is failed.
Game Time out does not appear to work.
mihcael is offline  
Old 03 March 2015, 23:23   #14
TCH
Newbie Amiga programmer

 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Front of my A500+
Age: 31
Posts: 108
Timer is broken in the game itself, it does not work in the ms-dos version either.

You mean you set player have no buildings in both column to win the game by losing all your buildings? Were other options checked? If not, then this is a bug in the game itself.
Do the crashes still occuring?
TCH is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dune hardsequencer Retrogaming General Discussion 9 29 November 2013 15:41
Dune Anding request.Old Rare Games 18 19 February 2009 17:56
Dreadnoughts Scenario Disk oolong request.Old Rare Games 1 08 May 2006 04:01
How to install Dune II? Smoma New to Emulation or Amiga scene 8 17 January 2006 22:15
Lords of Chaos - "Load Scenario" prob Unregistered support.Games 0 11 September 2002 15:09

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.17454 seconds with 11 queries