English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 January 2015, 21:00   #1
fatboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: the unknown
Posts: 133
2 MB A1200....what can it do?

OK bit of an open ended question I know?

I've got a vanilla A1200 (3.0 Roms & 2 MB Chip ram only) and a 4 GB CF card.
I was hoping to buy something like the ACA1220 card but they sold out before I could get the cash together

Can't afford the ACA 1230 so stuck with an '020' and 2 Meg for now.

Just like to get a few WHD games running and some demo's so any tips? (yep I know about minimal start up in ClassicWB 68K, which is installed on the CF card).

Anyone got a list of WHD and Demos that work on a 2 MB A1200's?

Cheers
Fatboy
fatboy is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 16 January 2015, 21:06   #2
Adrian Browne
Jackie Chan
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ireland
Age: 40
Posts: 647
I had this setup for a time. I could only get tiny pd games to run. Someone mentioned about turning off "preload" in order to load some games. My guess is not many games will run with 2 meg. Whdload takes most of it just to run asfaik.

I think you might be able to get some extra ram cheaply.

I got an aca 1233 and after some trouble making it work with wb classic, I'm now very happy with it.
Adrian Browne is offline  
Old 16 January 2015, 21:07   #3
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 39
Posts: 4,444
You only need some FastRAM, no accelerator is needed to enjoy WHD Load.
Predseda is offline  
Old 16 January 2015, 21:07   #4
lordofchaos
TinkerTailorContentMaker

lordofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bedfordshire
Age: 39
Posts: 1,002
Well I don't have a list exactly, but this listing from Hall Of Light should prove useful, lot's of single disk WHDLoad games work ok with 2MB chip.

http://hol.abime.net/hol_search.php?...isk=1&N_hd=yes
lordofchaos is offline  
Old 16 January 2015, 21:20   #5
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,702
How many games are on Cd32 compilations? O sorry you said WHDload only.

definitely easier to run games from HD with more ram.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 16 January 2015, 22:42   #6
seuden
uber cool demi god

seuden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kent/England
Posts: 1,894
Would most HD installable game work on a stock A1200?
seuden is online now  
Old 16 January 2015, 22:57   #7
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,702
If you mean would most games HD installed with WHDload work without extra ram then no but for example most games on something like the 888 compilation should work but I wouldnt like to set it up might be a bit fiddly - so extra ram is definitely an advantage
of course you might find some favorites wont run witout extra ram like aladdin.
Also WHDload is updated and supported and the obvious choice.

Last edited by Retro1234; 16 January 2015 at 23:07.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 16 January 2015, 23:57   #8
crazyc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Gravesend - UK
Posts: 408
Dont forget as a makeshift you can pick a few favourites and write the adfs to disk and play them as they were meant to be, without whdload....
crazyc is offline  
Old 17 January 2015, 00:00   #9
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,702
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyc View Post
Dont forget as a makeshift you can pick a few favourites and write the adfs to disk and play them as they were meant to be, without whdload....
I like this idea you only need 1 floppy disk and could have a HD or CD etc full of 1 disk ADFs

add a menu like AGS that uses some adf 2 disk and there a nice little collection
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 17 January 2015, 00:07   #10
seuden
uber cool demi god

seuden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kent/England
Posts: 1,894
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boo Boo View Post
If you mean would most games HD installed with WHDload work without extra ram then no but for example most games on something like the 888 compilation should work but I wouldnt like to set it up might be a bit fiddly - so extra ram is definitely an advantage
of course you might find some favorites wont run witout extra ram like aladdin.
Also WHDload is updated and supported and the obvious choice.
Sorry, I meant HD installable without WHDLoad. :-D

Ie this lot http://hol.abime.net/hol_search.php?N_hd=yes
seuden is online now  
Old 17 January 2015, 00:09   #11
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
well Mr Beanbag should run ok.

probably also Deluxe Galaga, Megaball?
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 17 January 2015, 00:11   #12
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,702
Quote:
Originally Posted by seuden View Post
Sorry, I meant HD installable without WHDLoad. :-D

Ie this lot http://hol.abime.net/hol_search.php?N_hd=yes
They should but for example Waxworks sound is to fast on cpu above 68010 - This is where WHDload is great.
Oops waxworks should have a yes in Hol
Other games also may say yes but might have problems on high spec etc.

Last edited by Retro1234; 17 January 2015 at 00:16.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 17 January 2015, 08:14   #13
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 45
Posts: 1,088
You will need some fast ram for WHDLoad. Get a SRAM card for the PCMCIA, or a Kipper 4MB RAM card that clips on the CPU. But I highly recommend an ACA 1233 card though.
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 17 January 2015, 09:23   #14
britelite
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Espoo / Finland
Posts: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by TjLaZer View Post
Get a SRAM card for the PCMCIA
Not a good idea on the A1200, it will be slow.
Quote:
or a Kipper 4MB RAM card that clips on the CPU.
I don't think there's a version for the A1200
britelite is offline  
Old 17 January 2015, 10:07   #15
fgh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 576
Most HD installable a500 games should work. (= without whdload)

This site shows WHDLoad memory requirements per game:
http://amigang.fr/whdload-memory-usage.html
fgh is offline  
Old 17 January 2015, 12:23   #16
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,637
According to Jens (saw it in Forum 64) he will release two new low cost ACAs in February.

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 17 January 2015 at 12:45.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 18 January 2015, 15:26   #17
fatboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: the unknown
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
According to Jens (saw it in Forum 64) he will release two new low cost ACAs in February.
but why no direct ACA 1220 replacement? that seemed the best price/performance ratio of all the cards he's produced IMHO
fatboy is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale - A1200/A1000/IndiAGA MkII/A1200 Trapdoor Ram & Other Goodies! fitzsteve MarketPlace 1 11 December 2012 10:32
Orig. Commodore A1200 vs. Escom A1200 c0dehunter MarketPlace 5 01 June 2011 20:08
Trading A1200 030 acc and A1200 indivision for Amiga stuff 8bitbubsy MarketPlace 17 14 December 2009 21:50
Trade Mac g3 300/400 or A1200 for an A1200 accellerator BiL0 MarketPlace 0 07 June 2006 17:41
A1200 , and a1200 hardware keropi MarketPlace 23 22 February 2005 00:17

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.28056 seconds with 11 queries