English Amiga Board Amiga Lore

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

Old 13 January 2015, 12:57   #1
steviebwoy

CD32 Newbie Questions

Hi all,

Total CD32 newbie here, in fact Iíve not actually even bought one yet! I used to have an A1200 back in the day (I think itís still in my fatherís attic actually), but Iím intrigued by the prospect of having a CD32 under my TV to be able to dip in and out of my youth.

The trouble is, Iíve really no idea how to get to what Iím after Ė essentially I want to be able to play old Amiga games quickly from either bootleg CDs or USB images. Is this possible to do with a CD32?

One of the main games Iíd be playing is Sensible World of Soccer, which I believe has been converted into a CD-R compilation by the Unofficial CD32 Ports guys. The trouble is, how would I save my career etc?

Presumably I can plug a keyboard and mouse into the CD32 somehow as well, so that I can play things like Settlers, Lemmings etc.?

Any help or guidance would be gratefully received, and sorry for all the newbie questions!

Cheers
steve
AdSense AdSense  
Old 13 January 2015, 14:15   #2
Adrian Browne
Jackie Chan

Yes a keyboard and mouse can be plugged. If memory serves, the cd32 has some internal storage space for save games.
The third post in this thread links to a method for making your own cd32 cd's.
http://www.amiga.org/forums/showthread.php?t=52840

Apparently there is a special version of whdload for cd 32's, as the cd32 is limited to 2 megabyte of ram. There may be some homebrew memory add-ons for all I know, though. I believe a cf/hardrive can be used on a cd32. Its an sdcard modified to act as an amiga hardrive; whdload and thousands of amiga games are already preset on there. You just click to play. You can buy them on e-bay.

Btw, the cd32 pads are rubbish, the d-pad will break with little usage. I suggest you get a competition pro or some other joypad. Amigakit sells some, I believe.