English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 January 2015, 12:16   #1
melomonster
Registered User

melomonster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Białystok/Poland
Posts: 16
Floppy disk Converting mfm image to ipf/adf

Hello! I've been looking for this educational game called ABC Chemii. I found it but it was in mfm format which is not supported by Winuae. Can anyone tell me how to convert this mfm file into adf or ipf? Thanks in advance.
melomonster is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 02 January 2015, 12:19   #2
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,536
Is it something different than Chemia V2.1 from Alderan?
s2325 is offline  
Old 02 January 2015, 12:27   #3
melomonster
Registered User

melomonster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Białystok/Poland
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2325 View Post
Is it something different than Chemia V2.1 from Alderan?
Yes, it's different. ABC Chemii was made by company called Ego Software. Although it would be cool if you gave me link or directions on how to get that Chemia V2.1 from Alderan. I'm also looking for Historia Polski by Alderan.
melomonster is offline  
Old 02 January 2015, 12:34   #4
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,536
Chemia V2.1 from Alderan is on http://wt.exotica.org.uk/others.html
I know where is Historia Klasa 8 (1995)(Techland)(PL) only (EAB server).
s2325 is offline  
Old 02 January 2015, 13:25   #5
melomonster
Registered User

melomonster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Białystok/Poland
Posts: 16
Thanks! I already have Historia Klasa 8 (1995)(Techland)(PL). I thought it was a program i've had back in the day, but it's not this one. I had Historia Polski by Alderan (1993).

So, anybody knows how to convert mfm file to adf or ipf?
melomonster is offline  
Old 02 January 2015, 13:53   #6
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Have you a link for the mfm file?
Arnie is offline  
Old 02 January 2015, 14:01   #7
melomonster
Registered User

melomonster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Białystok/Poland
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
Have you a link for the mfm file?
http://olesio.eu/ABC_Chemii.MFM
melomonster is offline  
Old 02 January 2015, 14:13   #8
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,536
olesio is EAB member http://eab.abime.net/member.php?u=8953
s2325 is offline  
Old 02 January 2015, 14:18   #9
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 34
Posts: 2,235
Quote:
Originally Posted by melomonster View Post
So, anybody knows how to convert mfm file to adf or ipf?
Try to write the file to ADF with software such as MFMWarp. Hopefully the protection doesn't fail, otherwise it will need to be cracked.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 02 January 2015, 14:46   #10
melomonster
Registered User

melomonster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Białystok/Poland
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
Try to write the file to ADF with software such as MFMWarp. Hopefully the protection doesn't fail, otherwise it will need to be cracked.
Sure. There's just tiny problem - I don't have the slightest idea how to do it. Im using Winuae and i don't know exactly how to make files appear on my emulated Amiga, but i guess it's possible to do, i just have to look into it. But then there's the problem with launching program which i completely don't know how to use. I was hoping that there is a program (preferably for windows) that would convert the mfm file, but since that's not an option, I'm asking, maybe someone did something like this before and can do this for me, if it isn't too much trouble?
melomonster is offline  
Old 02 January 2015, 14:54   #11
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 34
Posts: 2,235
The easiest way to transfer files across to your emulated Amiga is to mount a directory as a hard drive.

I'm sure decent documentation is available for MFMWarp. Someone probably will do it for you if necessary but it's not a difficult job.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 02 January 2015, 15:27   #12
melomonster
Registered User

melomonster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Białystok/Poland
Posts: 16
I've downloaded MFMWarp from here http://www.whdload.de/whdload/Tools/ and to my surprise, there is an exe file in the archive. As far as i remember amiga binaries didn't have that extension. I don't see any documentation or instructions how to use it.
melomonster is offline  
Old 02 January 2015, 15:37   #13
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,536
You can view with Notepad for some hints:
Code:
Usage:›0;31;40m
      MFMWarp <COM> [SCOM1] [SCOM2] ...

      <COM>=VIEW
            READ  <FILENAME>[.MFM]
            VIEWF <FILENAME>[.MFM]
            WRITE <FILENAME>[.MFM]

      [SCOMn]=UNIT  <0..3>           Drive to be selected
              LOW   <0..82>[.<0/1>]  Low track
              HIGH  <0..82>[.<0/1>]  High track
              CMODE <XPK-PACKID>     Packer ('BLZW','HFMN','GZIP',...)
              ALL                    Warp inproccessable T80+, too
              NORETRY                Read inproccessables just once
              NODOS                  No DOS track detect
              SYNC  <SYNC>           Sync ('$1448','9512',...)
              WLEN  <0/DLEN>         Write lenght (0=AUTO)  
              POS   <GAPEND>         Set gapend address
              KEYWORD <WORD>         Set KeyWord (in USERSYNC only!)
              INDEX                  Index Copy
              USERSYNC               Sync Copy
              DEEP                   Deep1 Copy
              DEEP2                  Deep2 Copy
              USERPOS                Position Copy
              USERCODE <FILENAME>    User Copy (LOADSEG 'own routine')
              SYNCCODE <FILENAME>    SyncCopy (LOADSEG 'own routine')

›1;31;40mNOTE:›0;31;40m
      WRITE/VIEWF supports PhilWarp,MOKWarp,NoMADWarp, too!

›1;31;40mDefault:›0;31;40m
      UNIT 0 LOW 0.0 HIGH 82.1 CMODE HFMN
      INDEX SYNC $4489 POS $0000 WLEN $0000

 xpkmaster.library
"xpkmaster.library" - so it should be Amiga executable file
s2325 is offline  
Old 02 January 2015, 15:40   #14
olesio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 337
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2325 View Post
I placed that mfm there, but I have it from zeku from emulacja.net forum. And melomonster asled about that game there. So I uploaded what I got. But I also have no idea how to convert that mfm to open it under WinUAE easy. I tried that command under Classic WB but I got "ERR: ShortRead in file!" error. I tried to write on standard and custom ADF created under WinUAE and inserted to DF0: under emu.
Code:
MFMWarp.exe write ABC_Chemii.MFM 0
I also seen old post on emulacja.net where Norbi recommand using trackwarp program to convert .mfm to .adf, so I googled trackwarp16.lha and use tw2adf like that:
Code:
tw2adf abc_chemii.mfm test.adf
But I got checksum error when reading track 1 of 158.

Last edited by olesio; 02 January 2015 at 16:07.
olesio is offline  
Old 02 January 2015, 17:25   #15
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 40
Posts: 7,063
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
the solution is easy : you deal with an MFM image, it means that the game is not using regular amigaDOS tracks, but MFM tracks.

You must not use a standard ADF, but an 'EXTENDED' adf, that you must create with the 'create custom ADF' box under winuae (press F12).

You apply then the MFMwarp.exe write abc_chemii.MFM unit 0

and the MFM file will be written in the empty extended ADF
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 02 January 2015, 21:40   #16
olesio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 337
Thanks. I tried wrote as DOS trackes using answer "a" in mfmwarp.exe - but it crash after writing 71 track. Anyway, norbi on other forum reports he did dump correctly but game is probable written wrong on mfm. Because he see screen with "Presents" in Polish with damaged graphics and game reboot Amiga. I do not know can we do something better.

EDIT: now I wrote is as a non DOS. And dump passed ok, but I got the same as norbi descibed on other forum. So maybe bad mfm? :/
olesio is offline  
Old 02 January 2015, 22:00   #17
melomonster
Registered User

melomonster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Białystok/Poland
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by olesio View Post
Thanks. I tried wrote as DOS trackes using answer "a" in mfmwarp.exe - but it crash after writing 71 track. Anyway, norbi on other forum reports he did dump correctly but game is probable written wrong on mfm. Because he see screen with "Presents" in Polish with damaged graphics and game reboot Amiga. I do not know can we do something better.

EDIT: now I wrote is as a non DOS. And dump passed ok, but I got the same as norbi descibed on other forum. So maybe bad mfm? :/
That would suck

PS. dlfrsilver: great avatar!

Last edited by melomonster; 02 January 2015 at 22:06. Reason: Wanted to add PS
melomonster is offline  
Old 02 January 2015, 22:17   #18
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 40
Posts: 7,063
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by melomonster View Post
That would suck

PS. dlfrsilver: great avatar!
indeed, it symbolizes quite well my 'wired' side
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 02 January 2015, 22:29   #19
olesio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 337
I wrote e-mail to Psygore. Maybe he can help somehow, if mfm is not completly wrong.
olesio is offline  
Old 02 January 2015, 22:41   #20
melomonster
Registered User

melomonster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Białystok/Poland
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by olesio View Post
I wrote e-mail to Psygore. Maybe he can help somehow, if mfm is not completly wrong.
Thanks, maybe he'll come up with something.
melomonster is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IPF image database alexh project.SPS (was CAPS) 128 15 April 2013 11:13
Converting IPF files to ADF Dagon support.Games 24 17 March 2011 13:42
How to create an ADF image from IPF kipper2k support.Games 11 01 May 2009 00:52
Ipf image speed Anubis request.UAE Wishlist 4 02 October 2006 14:08
Winuae+IPF > MFM > Floppy killergorilla project.SPS (was CAPS) 1 14 July 2004 13:04

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21477 seconds with 11 queries