English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 August 2015, 15:51   #141
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
I don't want to learn to fish, learn Japanese symbols, or any other learning techniques.

Just yes/no or here are the files will suffice
Arnie is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 13 August 2015, 15:53   #142
AnnaWu
Registered User
AnnaWu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
Hmm, seems Anna made configuration for A2000 (the slowest possible 68000 7MHz CPU).

According to this http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/a2088xt it also supports A3000 and A4000 amigas.

Because the screen updating seems to depend on 680x0 CPU side, it works much faster (read more fluid) if installed on A3000 or A4000 base amigas
(the feeling is a lot closer to real PC's).

p.s. Btw. thanks for the info how to create and install on HD (I have been too lazy to read a manual).

Yes, it was just a test (bootable hard disk) for me, nothing else. In this case I don't care about the CPU speed.
AnnaWu is offline  
Old 13 August 2015, 15:55   #143
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
I don't want to learn to fish, learn Japanese symbols, or any other learning techniques.

Just yes/no or here are the files will suffice
I think you already know my answer! (no pain, no gain)
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 13 August 2015, 15:55   #144
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
And much appreciated it is too, thanks again Anna.
Arnie is offline  
Old 13 August 2015, 15:57   #145
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
I think you already know my answer! (no pain, no gain)
Oh God! another one to add to the list.
Arnie is offline  
Old 13 August 2015, 15:58   #146
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnnaWu View Post
Yes, it was just a test (bootable hard disk) for me, nothing else. In this case I don't care about the CPU speed.
You should, the difference is so huge!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
Oh God! another one to add to the list.
Let me guess; hall of fame, right?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
I don't want to learn to fish, learn Japanese symbols, or any other learning techniques.
But you should, it is good for brain defragmentation. (seriously)

Last edited by amilo3438; 13 August 2015 at 16:03.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 13 August 2015, 16:13   #147
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
Let me guess; hall of fame, right?
No, actually I meant another stepping stone to add to the possibility of having a hassle free experience of using a (slightly interesting) feature of WinUAE.

1.Learn to fish
2.Learn Japanese Symbols
3.Get some Pain

I don't think I'll bother.

Now where's my adf of Superfrog?
Arnie is offline  
Old 13 August 2015, 16:20   #148
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
No, actually I meant another stepping stone to add to the possibility of having a hassle free experience of using a (slightly interesting) feature of WinUAE.

1.Learn to fish
2.Learn Japanese Symbols
3.Get some Pain

I don't think I'll bother.

Now where's my adf of Superfrog?
what comes after Superfrog ... watching television?! (no headaches, brain will be very grateful)

p.s. I'm sorry (I was a little bit too cocky) (on jap. = ごめんなさい or gomennasai)

Last edited by amilo3438; 13 August 2015 at 16:33.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 13 August 2015, 16:44   #149
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
I'll just say this:

As I've gotten older the things that I used to find easy somehow became harder. Whether it's brain cell death or lack of concentration, I don't know.

I can't even spell properly any more (thank god for spell checker). I never used to use a calculator, now I have to use one.

I'm not really that old but it creeps up on you, so no fishing, Symbols or pain is going to make any difference to me.

I'm glad Google doesn't offer me any advice after typing in a search, it's just "here you go, is that what you are looking for". Perfect.
Arnie is offline  
Old 13 August 2015, 17:16   #150
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Some of the things you mention here, I also felt a few years ago (although a lot younger) until I set limits ... especially on the food. when I dropped weight within acceptable limits and blood pressure became normal and the brain started to behave differently ... well, all this from my own experience ... and that I have achieved gradually ... it took only a little more self-discipline. (except the language, I'm still working on it)

I wish you all the best.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 14 August 2015, 15:50   #151
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 1,942
@Toni
Tried to install Windows 3.0, after setup the first floppy disk, is not recognized the second floppy, insert the second floppy drive B is the second floppy then recognized establishment, or after copying some files but it remains stuck on flatscreen prompt flashing.

To install MS-DOS 6.22 ITA no problem exchange floppy!
Tried to install the CD, but I get an error of "Initigraph", see screenshot

@Anna
I installed MS-DOS 6.22 in Italian, but then I was left with little room sull'hardfile, can know which tool you've created the file "HD" 10MB? I attach screenshot.

Now I go to the sea, the heat is unbearable !!!

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 06 September 2015 at 20:53.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 15 August 2015, 03:03   #152
Noth
Registered User
Noth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lausanne, Switzerland
Posts: 152
I've got a better challenge for you than MS DOS: Xenix, MicroSoft's unix variant that works on 8086 upwards (for first versions). It'd be interesting to see if it works with the A2286, and gives you a lot more power.
Noth is offline  
Old 15 August 2015, 09:38   #153
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 1,942
Interestingly, for now I would like to understand why during the setup of Windows 3.0 hangs before loading the graphics probably go set a graphics mode? I also tried to start the Color mode but the block and the exchange of floppy remains. I enclose screnshot "A2088T Color"

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 06 September 2015 at 20:53.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 15 August 2015, 10:18   #154
amadama
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 45
Make sure you are running the emulated card in CGA mode and select CGA graphics when you install Windows 3.0
amadama is offline  
Old 15 August 2015, 10:34   #155
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 1,942
Thanks amadama with CGA mode Windows Setup continues although Monochrome, now some other text mode to see if anything Color compatible.

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 06 September 2015 at 20:53.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 16 August 2015, 06:34   #156
AnnaWu
Registered User
AnnaWu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
Thanks amadama with CGA mode Windows Setup continues although Monochrome, now some other text mode to see if anything Color compatible.
How is your progress going?
Color (CGA)?
Mouse driver support?
AnnaWu is offline  
Old 16 August 2015, 11:03   #157
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 1,942
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnnaWu View Post
How is your progress going?
It installed Win3.0 (see screenshot), fixed problem recognizing floppy, floppy others tried to find the right ones "not corrupt"

Quote:
Color?
There are modes supported

Quote:
Mouse driver support?
There are modes supported

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 06 September 2015 at 20:53.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 16 August 2015, 11:46   #158
AnnaWu
Registered User
AnnaWu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 429
I think to use the A2088(T) expansion and Windows 3.0 is useless.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2.png
Views:	154
Size:	17.8 KB
ID:	45079  
AnnaWu is offline  
Old 16 August 2015, 12:18   #159
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 1,942
Hello Anna

You Windows 3.0 is only experimental, tell me how you created the harddisk, you have created with DOS emulators such as Bochs, DOSBox etc .. or with WinUAE, if you how DOS Type?

You tested A2286 and A2386SX, were implemented ?, played around and I do not recognize the floppy and harddisk.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 16 August 2015, 13:09   #160
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
You tested A2286 and A2386SX, were implemented ?, played around and I do not recognize the floppy and harddisk.
A2368SX does not work correctly.

A2286 should work but you need to enter BIOS at least once and set correct floppy and HD settings, CMOS RAM is uninitialized (cleared) by default. Remember to set "Flash RAM" path if you want to keep saved BIOS settings.
Toni Wilen is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cycle exact cpu emulation speed, accurate ? turrican3 support.WinUAE 1 23 December 2013 18:20
Problem with cycle-exact and custum CPU emulation speed pintcat support.WinUAE 14 11 May 2010 20:12
Action Replay Mk3 problem (cpu emulation?) w/ Rick Dangerous Xorlac support.WinUAE 7 13 March 2010 15:26
Shortcuts for CPU-Emulation Speed Retro-Nerd request.UAE Wishlist 4 03 September 2005 22:59
CPU emulation and timings....... Bloodwych support.WinUAE 1 04 August 2003 16:00

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25129 seconds with 12 queries