English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 September 2015, 12:28   #461
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnnaWu View Post
mouse.drv=BridgeBoard Mouse Driver 1.7 for Windows 3.0
Which mouse driver is that ^ one?
Arnie is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 08 September 2015, 12:58   #462
AnnaWu
Registered User
AnnaWu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
Which mouse driver is that ^ one?
PC Janus

BridgeBoard Mouse Driver 1.7 for Windows 3.0 = AMOUSE3.DRV
BridgeBoard Mouse Driver 1.7 for Windows 2.0 = AMOUSE2.DRV
AnnaWu is offline  
Old 08 September 2015, 13:11   #463
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnnaWu View Post
The AMOUSE3.DRV (PC Janus disk) driver doesn't work.
SYSTEM.INI
mouse.drv=BridgeBoard Mouse Driver 1.7 for Windows 3.0
or
mouse.drv=AMOUSE3.DRV

As I said, the mouse pointer is visible but it doesn't work.
http://www.l8r.net/technical/bridgeboard.html

Quote:
Originally Posted by Compatibility problems / Bridgeboard Problems
How do I install the AMouse3.drv in Windows? The AMouse3.drv (comes with Janus 2.1), will operate under Windows 3.0 and 3.1, however you have to install it manually. First install Windows, then enter your Windows directory and edit the file called "SYSTEM.INI". Find the line called "mouse.drv=#####" and set it to "mouse.drv=amouse3.drv". Lastly, put a copy of the AMouse3.drv in the "system" directory found in your "windows" directory.
Also need to copy AMouse3.drv to the "system" directory found in your "windows" directory! (have you done this?!)

Note: "The AMouse3.drv (comes with Janus 2.1), will operate under Windows 3.0 and 3.1!"

Btw. just remind you, I have not tested!

Last edited by amilo3438; 08 September 2015 at 13:38.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 08 September 2015, 13:25   #464
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Copied the Amouse3.drv, edited the System.ini.
I get the hour glass busy icon, then the normal mouse Icon but, no mouse pointer movement.
Arnie is offline  
Old 08 September 2015, 14:33   #465
Mixter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 39
Win 3.x on A2386SX is working quite okay with some bugs so would be interesting to see if Windows 95 or 98 boots on the A2386SX

Also some old 386 PC linux dists would be nice to try...
Mixter is offline  
Old 08 September 2015, 14:36   #466
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
I think '95 would struggle never mind '98

Does your mouse work?
Arnie is offline  
Old 08 September 2015, 17:17   #467
AnnaWu
Registered User
AnnaWu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
Copied the Amouse3.drv, edited the System.ini.
I get the hour glass busy icon, then the normal mouse Icon but, no mouse pointer movement.
I know, I wrote this already.

The problem exist for all Windows 3.x versions.
It is supposed to work with the original hardware.
AnnaWu is offline  
Old 08 September 2015, 17:26   #468
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnnaWu View Post
I know, I wrote this already.

The problem exist for all Windows 3.x versions.
It is supposed to work with the original hardware.
I've tried with a usb cordless mouse and a usb Mouse/Keybord combo, still the same. I don't have any wired mice to try. I was thinking maybe it's because we're using laptop touchpads, what do you think?

Hmm, I have a bluetooth mouse somewhere, might try that.
Arnie is offline  
Old 08 September 2015, 17:31   #469
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
I don't think anyone with real bridgeboard has used universal xtide bios, it could conflict with janus handler stuff.

I'll take a closer look if it still happens with janus hardfile windows installation.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 08 September 2015, 17:37   #470
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
I don't think anyone with real bridgeboard has used universal xtide bios, it could conflict with janus handler stuff.

I'll take a closer look if it still happens with janus hardfile windows installation.
I would appreciate that, Toni, I personally don't mind a little 'hack' to get the mouse working with XTIde.
Arnie is offline  
Old 08 September 2015, 17:40   #471
AnnaWu
Registered User
AnnaWu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
To edit the System.ini by hand is one way, the other way is to load the driver (mounted PC Janus floppy disk) via setup.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	m1.png
Views:	151
Size:	27.2 KB
ID:	45406   Click image for larger version

Name:	m2.png
Views:	98
Size:	24.5 KB
ID:	45407  
AnnaWu is offline  
Old 08 September 2015, 20:04   #472
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,114
@AnnaWu

Quote:
Originally Posted by Compatibility problems / Bridgeboard Problems
... however you have to install it manually. First install Windows, then enter your Windows directory and edit the file called "SYSTEM.INI" ...
Maybe there is some reason why it is said to be done manually ... otherwise probably would have suggested your way. (dont know, just guess)
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 09 September 2015, 12:56   #473
AnnaWu
Registered User
AnnaWu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
I don't think anyone with real bridgeboard has used universal xtide bios, it could conflict with janus handler stuff.

I'll take a closer look if it still happens with janus hardfile windows installation.
I tried 3 different* hard disk images with installed Windows 3.11
*AT IDE Primary, XTIDE Universal and Autoboot (MakeAB)
A2386SX
VGA
Amouse3.drv

No chance, the mouse is not working
AnnaWu is offline  
Old 09 September 2015, 13:41   #474
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnnaWu View Post
I tried 3 different* hard disk images with installed Windows 3.11
*AT IDE Primary, XTIDE Universal and Autoboot (MakeAB)
A2386SX
VGA
Amouse3.drv

No chance, the mouse is not working
I need MakeAB (janus) hardfile that is bootable, fully configured (mouse driver installed) that works without any extra HD controllers, janus hardfile only. Only then mouse debugging is acceptable
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 09 September 2015, 13:43   #475
AnnaWu
Registered User
AnnaWu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
I need MakeAB (janus) hardfile that is bootable, fully configured (mouse driver installed) that works without any extra HD controllers, janus hardfile only. Only then mouse debugging is acceptable
OKi, wait 5 minutes ...
AnnaWu is offline  
Old 09 September 2015, 13:53   #476
AnnaWu
Registered User
AnnaWu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnnaWu View Post
OKi, wait 5 minutes ...

PM sent
AnnaWu is offline  
Old 09 September 2015, 14:13   #477
AnnaWu
Registered User
AnnaWu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 429
Maybe a Windows in 386 enhanced mode debugging is useful too?
AnnaWu is offline  
Old 09 September 2015, 18:13   #478
AnnaWu
Registered User
AnnaWu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 429
Next PM
AnnaWu is offline  
Old 09 September 2015, 18:15   #479
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnnaWu View Post
Next PM
No need to post anything here. This forum software will send automatic PM notify mails.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 09 September 2015, 19:12   #480
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
There is no emulation bug.

It is Janus feature (I guess it has to be documented somewhere..), PC mouse defaults to joystick port. Left Amiga + P switches it.
Toni Wilen is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cycle exact cpu emulation speed, accurate ? turrican3 support.WinUAE 1 23 December 2013 18:20
Problem with cycle-exact and custum CPU emulation speed pintcat support.WinUAE 14 11 May 2010 20:12
Action Replay Mk3 problem (cpu emulation?) w/ Rick Dangerous Xorlac support.WinUAE 7 13 March 2010 15:26
Shortcuts for CPU-Emulation Speed Retro-Nerd request.UAE Wishlist 4 03 September 2005 22:59
CPU emulation and timings....... Bloodwych support.WinUAE 1 04 August 2003 16:00

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21891 seconds with 12 queries