English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 August 2015, 18:41   #221
AnnaWu
Registered User
AnnaWu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
I added HD type #2 and 30M HDF (without setting manual geometry), partitioned and formatted manually (fdisk + format + sys), boots fine.

This must be some DOS/Bridgeboard BIOS weirdness because IDE log messages look normal.

Is it possible to upload your config, flash and hard disk file for a double check?
AnnaWu is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 22 August 2015, 18:49   #222
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnnaWu View Post
Is it possible to upload your config, flash and hard disk file for a double check?
No but just create HDF with size=30M and don't touch manual geometry and set bios HD to type #2. Everything else seems to be mostly same in your config.

It can be also DOS version difference. I used 3.20 because it was already used in other configs
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 22 August 2015, 19:27   #223
AnnaWu
Registered User
AnnaWu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
No but just create HDF with size=30M and don't touch manual geometry and set bios HD to type #2. Everything else seems to be mostly same in your config.

It can be also DOS version difference. I used 3.20 because it was already used in other configs
Strange, still not bootable (MS-DOS 6.22)
30MB HDF created
Manual geometry disabled
Hard disk image partitioned and formatted (format c: /S
BIOS Setup: Hard Disk 0 > Type 2 (20MB instead of 30MB for the hard disk image?)

Do you use KS/WB 1.3 and Janus 2.1?

If I have time I will check another DOS version (3.20)
AnnaWu is offline  
Old 22 August 2015, 20:21   #224
Amiga_CDTV
Mind Walker
Amiga_CDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amiga_CDTV View Post
I am using the Janus install disk 2.1 (from http://amiga.resource.cx). The installer creates the autoboot file (no need to run makeab manually), but what else do I need to do to actually use it? If I boot from the DOS floppy (the one in the Zone) and run fdisk, it doesn't detect any disks. The 2088XT manual says PCDisk should be run first in order to use autoboot file, but the 2.1 disk doesn't have it.
I am sorry to keep asking this, but I still can't manage to get this working. I have a vanilla WB3.1 install within a A3000 setup (both in real life and in WinUAE) with A2088XT. I can create hardfile (either with the setup or the makeab) file, it shows correctly in the aboot.ctrl -file, but the DOS 3.2's FDISK can't see it. This shouldn't be this complicated, but why can't I get it working? Do I need to do something more to attach it?

The CBM manual for Janus mentions PCDisk, but I am beginning to believe that to be something related only to earlier Janus versions as the 2.1 install disk doesn't have it.
Amiga_CDTV is offline  
Old 22 August 2015, 20:52   #225
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnnaWu View Post
Strange, still not bootable (MS-DOS 6.22)
winuae.7z updated which fixes 6.22 (possible some earlier dos versions too) "long" IDE writes while formatting. Writing also must not clear DRQ bit between sectors. (Why does it do that? Stupid BIOS code)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amiga_CDTV View Post
The CBM manual for Janus mentions PCDisk, but I am beginning to believe that to be something related only to earlier Janus versions as the 2.1 install disk doesn't have it.
I don't know.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 22 August 2015, 21:05   #226
rbm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: CAT
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
winuae.7z updated which fixes 6.22 (possible some earlier dos versions too) "long" IDE writes while formatting. Writing also must not clear DRQ bit between sectors. (Why does it do that? Stupid BIOS code)



I don't know.

Confirmed. Now boot also with the Windows 95 dos.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	12.jpg
Views:	146
Size:	95.8 KB
ID:	45161  
rbm is offline  
Old 22 August 2015, 23:48   #227
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 1,942
Thanks Toni with the new update "winuae.7z" I installed MS-DOS 6.22 in Italian without problems sull'HardFile 30MB. Your recent recommendations and some attached picture they have clarified a little 'ideas.

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 04 March 2016 at 15:47.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 23 August 2015, 01:04   #228
AnnaWu
Registered User
AnnaWu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
winuae.7z updated which fixes 6.22 (possible some earlier dos versions too) "long" IDE writes while formatting. Writing also must not clear DRQ bit between sectors. (Why does it do that? Stupid BIOS code)



I don't know.
Very excellent job, Toni.
My hard disk image (MS-DOS 6.22) is now bootable.

Created HDF file (Boot-Test)
30MB Type #2 > 20MB OK
40MB Type #3 > 30MB OK
50MB Type #14 > 42MB OK
70MB Type #4 > 62MB OK
...

Last edited by AnnaWu; 23 August 2015 at 07:17.
AnnaWu is offline  
Old 23 August 2015, 13:14   #229
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 1,942
If you can help someone I made a video that shows the steps for conigurazione x86 Emulation Bridgeboard A2286 of course everything can be improved! thanks Toni

[ Show youtube player ]
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 23 August 2015, 13:23   #230
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
One more winuae.7z update: x86 CPU speed adjustment in CPU panel (leftmost position equals m68k "fastest possible" mode).

NOTE: Odd things can happen, BIOS has too many CPU delay loops, I added some hacks (especially in fastest possible mode) that should prevent most of them happening. Also fast mode is always force-disabled during early BIOS diagnostics because too fast CPU will break some tests..

Bridgeboard stuff is now mostly finished for 3.2. A2386SX won't get any fixes until someone finds some ideas for "invalid configuration" error. (A2386SX is very different, it has "real" off the self integrated AT chipset)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 23 August 2015, 14:10   #231
B14ck W01f
m68k all the way
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Koalaland
Posts: 473
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
If you can help someone I made a video that shows the steps for conigurazione x86 Emulation Bridgeboard A2286 of course everything can be improved! thanks Toni

[ Show youtube player ]
As a person who never tried WinUAE's bridgeboard emulation, I can't believe I gave themamboman the right instructions.
B14ck W01f is offline  
Old 23 August 2015, 17:35   #232
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
If you can help someone I made a video that shows the steps for conigurazione x86 Emulation Bridgeboard A2286 of course everything can be improved! thanks Toni

[ Show youtube player ]
Thanks for the video. Just a point to remember for anyone following it, don't forget the .nvr file.
Arnie is offline  
Old 23 August 2015, 18:19   #233
AnnaWu
Registered User
AnnaWu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 429
I will try now the function of the Bridgeboard VGA (x86) expansion.
AnnaWu is offline  
Old 23 August 2015, 21:34   #234
rbm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: CAT
Posts: 46
This is a set of 48x48 dual png icons for the pc bridgeboard tools. The old ones looks very ugly on a modern desktop !

Maybe is not the correct thread to post it, but here they go.
Attached Files
File Type: rar PC48x48.rar (25.0 KB, 50 views)
rbm is offline  
Old 23 August 2015, 22:25   #235
rbm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: CAT
Posts: 46
Another set of 32 bit dual PNG icons.
Attached Files
File Type: rar PC2.rar (43.6 KB, 53 views)
rbm is offline  
Old 24 August 2015, 00:41   #236
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 1,942
Thanks rbm, added new icons in my system OS3 dedicated PC emulation, completed the set with some icon found in the depths of my Hardisk.

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 06 September 2016 at 15:34.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 24 August 2015, 02:19   #237
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
@rbm

I can't get the icons to display using OS3.5/3.9. (also tried CWB versions) Do I need something specific for this WB?
Arnie is offline  
Old 24 August 2015, 06:35   #238
rbm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: CAT
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
@rbm

I can't get the icons to display using OS3.5/3.9. (also tried CWB versions) Do I need something specific for this WB?
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=66213
rbm is offline  
Old 24 August 2015, 08:00   #239
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Thanks
Arnie is offline  
Old 26 August 2015, 09:41   #240
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 1,942
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnnaWu View Post
I will try now the function of the Bridgeboard VGA (x86) expansion.
Found
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cycle exact cpu emulation speed, accurate ? turrican3 support.WinUAE 1 23 December 2013 18:20
Problem with cycle-exact and custum CPU emulation speed pintcat support.WinUAE 14 11 May 2010 20:12
Action Replay Mk3 problem (cpu emulation?) w/ Rick Dangerous Xorlac support.WinUAE 7 13 March 2010 15:26
Shortcuts for CPU-Emulation Speed Retro-Nerd request.UAE Wishlist 4 03 September 2005 22:59
CPU emulation and timings....... Bloodwych support.WinUAE 1 04 August 2003 16:00

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.28304 seconds with 12 queries