English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 August 2015, 10:03   #201
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 1,942
Hello Toni, the advice that you mentioned above I made them already.
Today I wanted to do a fresh install Amiga OS3.9 Janus 2.1 on a system with 200MB Hardisk by creating a 30MB HD automatically dedicated to the PC. This time the floppy MS-DOS on A2286 has started smoothly, I have left the issue HD (PC) that still is not seen, maybe something wrong in setting the Bios, attach screenshots for a consultation.

N.B. remade "the same thing" done on a new system OS 1.3 installed MS-DOS Floppy still does not start on A2286.

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 23 August 2015 at 11:29.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 21 August 2015, 10:47   #202
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Repeating again: you need to include both log and config file every time (put log, config and images in zip if you don't want to attach many files. you can delete them after few days)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 21 August 2015, 13:27   #203
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 1,942
Excuse Toni thought that the experiment with OS 3.9 could not be of interest.

Attach files Config, the hardfile from 200M is too large compressed is reduced to 75MB not think you can attach here, eventually you need where you can upload?

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 06 September 2015 at 20:51.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 21 August 2015, 14:15   #204
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
Excuse Toni thought that the experiment with OS 3.9 could not be of interest.
I misunderstood your post. Anyway, IDE HD should now work with A2286 (check link above)

I haven't tried Janus drives yet, there is too many unknown variables (Amiga side driver code <> PC side driver code loaded from Amiga side <> PC bios), hardware emulation is much easier to debug.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 21 August 2015, 16:34   #205
AnnaWu
Registered User
AnnaWu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
Excuse Toni thought that the experiment with OS 3.9 could not be of interest.

Attach files Config, the hardfile from 200M is too large compressed is reduced to 75MB not think you can attach here, eventually you need where you can upload?

I don't think your hard disk image will work.
AnnaWu is offline  
Old 21 August 2015, 18:03   #206
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 1,942
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnnaWu View Post
I don't think your hard disk image will work.
In that sense Anna? what you mean to the overall magnitude dell'Hardfile (200MB), one dedicated to the PC (30MB) or OS3.9?
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 22 August 2015, 00:55   #207
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 1,942
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
I haven't tried Janus drives yet, there is too many unknown variables (Amiga side driver code <> PC side driver code loaded from Amiga side <> PC bios), hardware emulation is much easier to debug.
If you can help, I recreated manually hardfile PC 30MB of OS 3.9, attach screenshots with the values entered, the MS-DOS Floppy has started tranquillamete, recognition Hardisk usually error 1782 Controller failure.

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 23 January 2016 at 08:11.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 22 August 2015, 09:29   #208
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
If you can help, I recreated manually hardfile PC 30MB of OS 3.9, attach screenshots with the values entered, the MS-DOS Floppy has started tranquillamete, recognition Hardisk usually error 1782 Controller failure.
As I said before, BIOS harddisk setting is hardware IDE only. Do not set it if you use Janus (makeab) hardfile. Check A2286 manual, it says you should only set HD BIOS setting if you install IDE board. (IDE HD configured in BIOS but no HD _or_ controller = 1782 Controller Failure)

I finally tried A2286 janus hardfile and noticed that Amiga to PC interrupt was not delivered to PC side. Fixed in winuae.7z now.

Did janus hardfiles work with older bridgeboards? If they did, then A2286 changed interrupt enable logic. (And it does not anymore match technical manual register listing)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 22 August 2015, 10:11   #209
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 1,942
Thanks again Toni, I think I understand that I have to wait for the next developments of WinUAE, unfortunately does not help Google Translator is very easy to understand "Fischi per Fiashi (Italy)", in English I think they say "To get hold of the wrong end of the stick" . This morning I tried to run "Anydrive" but he failed to give information, i attach screenshot.

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 04 March 2016 at 15:45.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 22 August 2015, 13:04   #210
AnnaWu
Registered User
AnnaWu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Did janus hardfiles work with older bridgeboards?
The virtual hard disk image is working/bootable (UAE, without any IDE controller) with the A1060 Sidecar, A2088 and A2088T Bridgeboard expansion and Janus 2.1
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	A1060.png
Views:	125
Size:	21.0 KB
ID:	45144   Click image for larger version

Name:	A2088.png
Views:	122
Size:	20.2 KB
ID:	45145   Click image for larger version

Name:	A2088T.png
Views:	117
Size:	20.1 KB
ID:	45146  
AnnaWu is offline  
Old 22 August 2015, 14:17   #211
rbm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: CAT
Posts: 46
The virtual hard disk image also boot with the A2286 Bridgeboard Expansion.

But I can't get to boot up using the IDE board ....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1.jpg
Views:	104
Size:	103.3 KB
ID:	45147   Click image for larger version

Name:	2.jpg
Views:	97
Size:	99.1 KB
ID:	45148  
rbm is offline  
Old 22 August 2015, 14:38   #212
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnnaWu View Post
The virtual hard disk image is working/bootable (UAE, without any IDE controller) with the A1060 Sidecar, A2088 and A2088T Bridgeboard expansion and Janus 2.1
Thanks. I think I misunderstood technical manual interrupt enable/disable bits. I guess it only disables hardware generated interrupts, not software generated generated interrupts.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rbm View Post
The virtual hard disk image also boot with the A2286 Bridgeboard Expansion.

But I can't get to boot up using the IDE board ....
IDE is easier to debug: just check log, you should see some IDE log messages. (and config and log needed as usual if you want better suggestions)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 22 August 2015, 15:21   #213
AnnaWu
Registered User
AnnaWu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbm View Post
The virtual hard disk image also boot with the A2286 Bridgeboard Expansion.
I can confirm this.
The virtual hard disk image is working/bootable (UAE, without any IDE controller) with the A2286 Bridgeboard expansion.
Still need to understand how it is working with the AT IDE Primary (x86) controller.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	A2286.png
Views:	90
Size:	20.4 KB
ID:	45150   Click image for larger version

Name:	A2286_2.png
Views:	85
Size:	20.5 KB
ID:	45151  

Last edited by AnnaWu; 22 August 2015 at 15:32.
AnnaWu is offline  
Old 22 August 2015, 15:39   #214
rbm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: CAT
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Thanks. I think I misunderstood technical manual interrupt enable/disable bits. I guess it only disables hardware generated interrupts, not software generated generated interrupts.



IDE is easier to debug: just check log, you should see some IDE log messages. (and config and log needed as usual if you want better suggestions)
Attached the config files and logs. The OS stuck loading without any message.
Attached Files
File Type: rar A2286.rar (19.4 KB, 50 views)
rbm is offline  
Old 22 August 2015, 15:52   #215
rbm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: CAT
Posts: 46
The same procedure, fdisk and format /s using the windows 95 boot disk for installation gives a error message.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	11.jpg
Views:	104
Size:	99.4 KB
ID:	45153  
rbm is offline  
Old 22 August 2015, 17:33   #216
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbm View Post
Attached the config files and logs. The OS stuck loading without any message.
IDE log messages look ok. More interesting probably are log when you partitioned and installed the drive.

But first remove all unneeded options from your config (PPC etc..). Always use minimal config to reduce unknown variables.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 22 August 2015, 17:48   #217
AnnaWu
Registered User
AnnaWu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbm View Post
But I can't get to boot up using the IDE board ....
2286 Bridgeboard expansion
I have access to the hard disk but the image is not bootable.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1.png
Views:	102
Size:	52.3 KB
ID:	45154   Click image for larger version

Name:	2.png
Views:	104
Size:	21.2 KB
ID:	45155  
Attached Files
File Type: zip A2286_Color_IDE_HDD.zip (8.5 KB, 49 views)
AnnaWu is offline  
Old 22 August 2015, 18:08   #218
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnnaWu View Post
2286 Bridgeboard expansion
I have access to the hard disk but the image is not bootable.
winuaelog.txt missing but if it is only not bootable but works if booted from disk, did you forgot to make it bootable? ("sys c:")
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 22 August 2015, 18:30   #219
AnnaWu
Registered User
AnnaWu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
winuaelog.txt missing but if it is only not bootable but works if booted from disk, did you forgot to make it bootable? ("sys c:")
I used the "sys" command twice.
format c: /s
sys c:

command.com (visible)
io.sys
msdos.sys

should be available.
Attached Files
File Type: zip winuaelog.zip (10.3 KB, 29 views)
AnnaWu is offline  
Old 22 August 2015, 18:37   #220
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
I added HD type #2 and 30M HDF (without setting manual geometry), partitioned and formatted manually (fdisk + format + sys), boots fine.

This must be some DOS/Bridgeboard BIOS weirdness because IDE log messages look normal.
Toni Wilen is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cycle exact cpu emulation speed, accurate ? turrican3 support.WinUAE 1 23 December 2013 18:20
Problem with cycle-exact and custum CPU emulation speed pintcat support.WinUAE 14 11 May 2010 20:12
Action Replay Mk3 problem (cpu emulation?) w/ Rick Dangerous Xorlac support.WinUAE 7 13 March 2010 15:26
Shortcuts for CPU-Emulation Speed Retro-Nerd request.UAE Wishlist 4 03 September 2005 22:59
CPU emulation and timings....... Bloodwych support.WinUAE 1 04 August 2003 16:00

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.56654 seconds with 12 queries