English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 31 December 2014, 19:57   #1
GiuseppeC
 
Posts: n/a
Bridgeboard emulation (x86 CPU, for example A2286)

What about adding Brigdeboard PC Card emulation to WinUAE ?

.
.
.
.

Ok, I am joking ;-)

Giuseppe Chillemi
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 02 January 2015, 20:24   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
PCI bridge emulation is actually planned. Someday as usually.

It isn't that stupid idea, there may be useful PCI/PCI-e hardware implementations in other open source virtual machines that can be used with PCI bridge emulation in Amiga emulation.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 02 January 2015, 21:19   #3
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 29
Posts: 1,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
PCI bridge emulation is actually planned. Someday as usually.

It isn't that stupid idea, there may be useful PCI/PCI-e hardware implementations in other open source virtual machines that can be used with PCI bridge emulation in Amiga emulation.
I think Giuseppe meant emulating some of those boards which have got a real x86 on it (like the A2286).

I suppose QEMU should make that kinda easy to do?
jbenam is offline  
Old 03 January 2015, 11:20   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Ok, that kind of emulation is getting close to being more than most pointless way to emulate old x86 programs.

Don't need QEMU, some much simpler and much much much less complex x86 emulator should be more than enough to emulate some max 10MHz pre-386 x86 CPU.

Biggest technical issue is, as usual, lack of hardware information. At least there was some PPC board information available (From Linux and NetBSD) but I don't think anyone wanted to reverse-engineer those bridgeboards.

Stupid, pointless and very possible. Maybe. Someday.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 03 January 2015, 11:37   #5
Jul
 
Posts: n/a
Come on ! Re-enacting the 1985's Amiga world premiere would be awesome.
[ Show youtube player ]
(Starting from 10:00)
 
Old 03 January 2015, 13:06   #6
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,222
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
You can already do that, the premiere IBM emulation was done with Transformer.
Jope is offline  
Old 10 January 2015, 20:58   #7
Noth
Registered User
Noth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lausanne, Switzerland
Posts: 152
How about PCEM http://pcem-emulator.co.uk/ as a base for the bridgeboard? Could be as good as a GoldenGate Vortex one...
Noth is offline  
Old 13 January 2015, 08:40   #8
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Finding optimal PC/x86 emulator is the very last problem to solve.

IO/memory mappings from both sides of hardware is needed first. (What hardware Amiga side sees and vice versa). I don't think this information is easily available. (as usual).
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 13 January 2015, 09:35   #9
Locutus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 714
Isnt the documentation and CPLD code of the Prometheus board open?

One thing i wonder what use it would be though.

Ofcourse you could use existing code for NE2k, CL or S3 VGA, Ensonic audio, PCI-Serial. But all of those are covered by Zorro board emulations.

And writing a PCI VSA100 or R200 emulation does not sound appealing :-P
Locutus is online now  
Old 13 January 2015, 11:00   #10
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by Locutus View Post
Isnt the documentation and CPLD code of the Prometheus board open?
x86 bridge boards, not PCI. I also misunderstood it first. Title edited

Quote:
And writing a PCI VSA100 or R200 emulation does not sound appealing :-P
No but some other open source virtual machine/pc emulator may implement something useful in the future.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 15 January 2015, 17:52   #11
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,479
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
IO/memory mappings from both sides of hardware is needed first. (What hardware Amiga side sees and vice versa). I don't think this information is easily available. (as usual).
The A500/A2000 Technical Reference Manual has some info starting on page 109.
mark_k is offline  
Old 17 January 2015, 17:32   #12
Leo42
Senior Member
Leo42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Paris
Posts: 122
This site contains bridgeboard stuff too: disk images, Janus sdk, some documents,...
Leo42 is offline  
Old 17 January 2015, 19:47   #13
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Technical reference seems to include everything needed to emulate it. (I have had those manual scans for ages but I forgot about bridgeboard info, probably because it is was so uninteresting..)

Of course it is not going to happen any time soon.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 17 January 2015, 19:56   #14
Leo42
Senior Member
Leo42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Paris
Posts: 122
If it's as anytime soon as ppc emulation that's good
Leo42 is offline  
Old 19 July 2015, 21:02   #15
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
"Any time soon" is now proven to be about 6 months.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	CBM-PCInstall-334_001.png
Views:	745
Size:	15.0 KB
ID:	44777  
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 20 July 2015, 00:46   #16
Locutus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 714
That's still faster then 'Just 2 more weeks' (-:
Locutus is online now  
Old 20 July 2015, 09:06   #17
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,222
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Seeing this gives me perverse satisfaction. :-D
Jope is offline  
Old 20 July 2015, 10:50   #18
Kitchen2010
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
Posts: 25
Wow, thank you very much Tony Wilen !
It is very nice to see that you have already come so far !

Can you say us what exactly works and where the emulation fails ? Maybe some people owning the real hardware may help you (e.g. finding the real hardware addresses) !
Kitchen2010 is offline  
Old 20 July 2015, 12:33   #19
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
Seeing this gives me perverse satisfaction. :-D
It is proper native emulation in emulation experience!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kitchen2010 View Post
Wow, thank you very much Tony Wilen !
It is very nice to see that you have already come so far !

Can you say us what exactly works and where the emulation fails ? Maybe some people owning the real hardware may help you (e.g. finding the real hardware addresses) !
Above screenshot was first test run that didn't fail during bios hardware diagnostics, x86 code wrote something to display ram, Amiga-side code handled it properly and was converted to Amiga window.

For example floppy controller is totally unimplemented, interrupt stuff is not complete, configuration jumpers are not fully decoded. Too early for debugging.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 20 July 2015, 17:55   #20
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,523
Anyone have Sidecar/A2088 compatible installed MSDOS janus "hardfile"?
(Floppy controller emulation is too boring task, maybe later..)
Toni Wilen is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cycle exact cpu emulation speed, accurate ? turrican3 support.WinUAE 1 23 December 2013 18:20
Problem with cycle-exact and custum CPU emulation speed pintcat support.WinUAE 14 11 May 2010 20:12
Action Replay Mk3 problem (cpu emulation?) w/ Rick Dangerous Xorlac support.WinUAE 7 13 March 2010 15:26
Shortcuts for CPU-Emulation Speed Retro-Nerd request.UAE Wishlist 4 03 September 2005 22:59
CPU emulation and timings....... Bloodwych support.WinUAE 1 04 August 2003 16:00

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.26374 seconds with 12 queries