English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 December 2014, 01:08   #1
Boltar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 18
WinUAE/PPC with APUS Linux

Hi all, I thought I'd give APUS Linux a bash and see if it'll install. I did manage to get to the installer although that was a chore, having to use a picasso II+ card and clgen video mode for it to even get to the installer, anything else and it just complains it can't recognize the display. It initialized the swap and linux ext3 partitions without any trouble, but then when it came to installing the system, the problems started. Using the CDROM image it complains it cannot mount the rescue.bin floppy image, then it totally screws up as it can't unmount whatever it tried to mount previously and the cd-rom becomes inaccessible. So I made an adf of the rescue disk by mounting the boot partiton (amiga ffs) which had rescue.bin copied onto it, creating a HD adf floppy image and selecting it in df0 and then using: cat /target/boot/rescue.bin > /dev/fd0 to dump the image onto the emulated floppy. This worked in so far as it did indeed create the floppy properly, but, when selected during the installation, WinUAE freezes and has to be terminated by task manager. I'm continuing to play with it to see if I can get any other results. So far I've tried a A4000T config with the cyberstorm ppc/060 accelerator and a A1200 config with the blizzard ppc/060 accelerator, both with the same results. I have yet to try it with warp however, so maybe that'll be different? Just wondered if anyone else has tried this yet, and if you've had better luck? Cheers Bolt

Last edited by Boltar; 23 December 2014 at 15:46.
Boltar is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 22 December 2014, 08:10   #2
Michael
A1260T/PPC/BV/SCSI/NET

Michael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Moscow / Russia
Posts: 580
Do you have a link to where to get the latest complete APUS image and kernels ?
Michael is offline  
Old 22 December 2014, 08:23   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,512
Yeah, urls to exact same files are of course needed and exact steps to duplicate it.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 22 December 2014, 14:28   #4
Boltar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 18
I'm not sure if I'm allowed to post a link to another board where the steps are, but I can post the Debian links I believe as the distro is free to download.

CD Image
Kernel
Bootstrapper

I can't really post the WinUAE config as I've tried a lot of options mostly with the same result. Mainly, I've used a 4000T/PPC/060 config. 2MB chip ram with 128 MB accelerator ram, cyberstorm 44.71 rom.

DVD/CD-ROM placed on A4000T scsi controller unit 1 with the distro CD iso mounted.

Picasso II+ RTG

For the hard drive I made a HDF of 2GB with the 4000T internal scsi controller unit 0. Using HDToolBox I split this into 3 partitions, a small one at the start for AmigaOS, a large one in the middle for APUS root and a medium size one at the end for swap space. The root and swap were given 0x45585432 and 0x53574150 partition type IDs respectively. Also changed max transfer on each partition from 0xffffff to 0xffff.

Formatted up the AmigaOS partition and placed a minimal install for the PPC card. Using PUP, all I did here was to copy the PPC test disk image
PPC Test Disk
Onto the hard drive and edited the startup-sequence to remove the menu. Also copied a few vital commands from a workbench disk like dir, list, delete etc..

Then copied bootstrap, ppcboot_pup into C: and copied the kernel image to vmlinuz in dh0: and root.bin to dh0: (SYS:).

Launched the installer with:
bootstrap --apus -k dh0:vmlinuz -r dh0:root.bin 60nsram nobats video=clgen:mode:1024x768-60

Then the installer appears, and breaks at the point I mentioned previously. I'm still experimenting atm. I've tried a lot of different configs with no luck so far. Weirdly, changing the resolution in the mode parameter seems to have no effect, turning off the amiga display with video=amifb:off seems to crash the emulator.

I have no real purpose for this to be honest. I'm just curious if I can get it to work. Having a "native" PPC bsd environment could be useful to me as I mess around with old obsolete PPC set top cable TV boxes, converting them to media players.
Boltar is offline  
Old 22 December 2014, 14:43   #5
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,512
Do you get same problem if you use mainboard IDE or A4000 + A4091? (A4000T hardware is very rare, A4000T SCSI driver may have bugs)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 22 December 2014, 15:00   #6
Boltar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 18
I've tried almost every permutation of configurations, A1200, A4000, A3000 with different HD controllers and they all seem to fail at the same point. Currently, I'm going to try a full OS3.1 install on the FFS partition and install the PPC stuff properly. Also going to install the Picasso drivers onto the OS3.1 and have the workbench in a picasso screen mode when I launch the bootstrapper, see if that changes anything,

TBH I haven't had so much fun for ages And great work on WinUAE 3 btw.

EDIT: From the tutorials I've seen elsewhere for installing APUS onto actual hardware it seems as though a working network adapter is required. Unfortunately, the APUS kernel used does not seem to support the A2065, although the bootstrapper does mention it will be reset on kernel startup. But the actual nix side doesn't recognize any installed network adapter. The readme in the bootstrapper archive is somewhat cryptic regarding the A2065 saying it's too 'plug and play'???. My exploration however continues.

EDIT 2: Solved the ethernet problem. Using the A2065 in SLIRP+NAT mode and appending the kernel option:
ether=eth0
to the end of the bootstrap parameters seems to allow the kernel to see and configure the network. Unfortunately this hasn't fixed the install problem

EDIT 3: YAY! I've got it to start instaling the base system. I had to mount the cd and hdf on different controllers. It's in the process of installing now if it works I'll post a video of the whole process if any one is interested

EDIT 4: I've now installed it and got it to boot up to a shell. I'm still a long way from an X/KDE desktop environment, but so far it's promising.

Last edited by Boltar; 22 December 2014 at 20:36.
Boltar is offline  
Old 23 December 2014, 13:02   #7
Boltar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 18
I've gotten APUS running nice now. Still only console based as nothing I do will allow X to start, something about the kernel scanning PCI first and thus never finding the RTG card. I also don't think the distro has a Cirrus driver.

I've installed a box with the same kernel and distro and managed to compile some stuff on the WinUAE side which worked on the box straight off. This considerably cuts down on the messing around I have to do at the development side. Ideally of course, compiling on the set-top-box itself would be best, but they have a very limited RAM, and storage is a small amount of flash ram, I can't even get the kernel headers on one and have enough room to do much else.

The absolute best solution would be to run an X session remotely. But I'm coming up against problems with the networking. The autoconfig of the network interface gives me 10.0.2.15 as an IP, I'm assuming this is done by WinUAE and acting as a NAT bridge. The issue here is that the Windows side of things cannot connect to a service running on the emulator. I've resolved this by writing an app for each side that tunnels the connections with the emulator side pushing the connection. This is obviously something that few people will ever need to do, so including this functionality in WinUAE directly is probably something that you wouldn't want to do. Just a thought tho'

Cheers,
Bolt
Boltar is offline  
Old 23 December 2014, 13:21   #8
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,512
You can have listening services with slirp (Listening port mapped to host OS ip:port pair): http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=69712 (posts 24+).
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 23 December 2014, 14:14   #9
B14ck W01f
m68k all the way
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Koalaland
Posts: 473
What's APUS?
B14ck W01f is offline  
Old 23 December 2014, 14:19   #10
Boltar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 18
Ahh, I didn't know about that, that would have saved me some coding. lol
added line to config file:
slirp_redir=tcp:10022:22:10.0.2.15

And I can login an ssh session using 127.0.0.1:10022. Absolutely perfect, I'll probably enable raw telnet to tunnel the X session though, to cut down on CPU load.

Thanks Toni.



Quote:
Originally Posted by B14ck W01f View Post
What's APUS?
It's an Amiga/PPC distribution of Debian.

Last edited by Boltar; 23 December 2014 at 14:29.
Boltar is offline  
Old 23 December 2014, 14:51   #11
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,507
APUS means Amiga Power Up System

APUS Linux is the Debian distribution.
thomas is offline  
Old 23 December 2014, 14:56   #12
Boltar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 18
To be OCD about it, Debian Woody/Sarge are the distributions, they have several platform versions (e.g. x86, 68k) including PPC. In the PPC distributions are many sub-platforms for different PowerPC systems such as Macs etc.., one of these is APUS (for Amiga/PPC). The APUS kernel was not developed to version 2.6 which appears to limit the version usable on APUS to Sarge, I may get stuck into the latest kernel source and see what I can come up with however.

Last edited by Boltar; 23 December 2014 at 15:28.
Boltar is offline  
Old 23 December 2014, 15:02   #13
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,512
Could you attach your winuaelog.txt (enable logging checkbox in paths panel to create it) when you boot to ppc linux? Just want to confirm the config before doing any tests.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 23 December 2014, 15:11   #14
Boltar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 18
Sure, I've included my config file as well. This is the log from start up to the appearance of the linux login prompt.
Attached Files
File Type: zip log.zip (9.8 KB, 39 views)
Boltar is offline  
Old 23 December 2014, 15:39   #15
Boltar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 18
Here's a file list dump of the amiga boot partition.
Code:
Trashcan                     Dir ----rwed Yesterday 20:33:07
Trashcan.info               1172 ----rw-d Yesterday 20:33:07
S                            Dir ----rwed Yesterday 20:34:47
C                            Dir ----rwed Yesterday 20:38:32
ENV                          Dir ----rwed Yesterday 20:34:17
Libs                         Dir ----rwed Yesterday 20:37:40
root.bin                 1474560 ----rwed Yesterday 20:38:38
vmlinuz                  1068153 ----rwed Yesterday 20:38:55
install                      103 -s--rw-d Yesterday 20:47:45
first.b.preserved           1024 -------d 26-Nov-01 05:16:27
second.b.preserved         41680 -------d 26-Nov-01 05:16:27
linux                         83 -s--rw-d Today     01:36:18
hdd.txt                      588 ----rwed Today     14:32:17
first.b                     1024 -------d 07-Apr-05 18:24:18
second.b                   54760 -------d 07-Apr-05 18:24:18
10 files - 5 directories - 5190 blocks used

Directory "Trashcan" is empty

Directory "S" on Tuesday 23-Dec-14
startup-sequence              28 ----rw-d Yesterday 20:34:47
P                             50 -s--rw-d Yesterday 20:34:17
W                             55 -s--rw-d Yesterday 20:34:17
3 files - 6 blocks used

Directory "C" on Tuesday 23-Dec-14
Execute                     4432 ----rwed Yesterday 20:36:05
Assign                      3220 ----rwed Yesterday 20:34:17
PPCInstall                   268 ----rwed Yesterday 20:34:17
PPCInstall.doc               367 ----rwed Yesterday 20:34:17
ppctest                     8460 ----rwed Yesterday 20:34:17
SetPatch                   14868 ----rwed Yesterday 20:34:17
warptest                    4684 ----rwed Yesterday 20:34:17
copy                        5580 ----rwed Yesterday 20:35:30
delete                      1972 ----rwed Yesterday 20:35:47
dir                         3440 ----rwed Yesterday 20:35:53
ed                         25044 ----rwed Yesterday 20:35:58
list                        5108 ----rwed Yesterday 20:36:16
makedir                      464 ----rwed Yesterday 20:36:27
protect                     1300 ----rwed Yesterday 20:36:35
rename                      1140 ----rwed Yesterday 20:36:43
type                        1496 ----rwed Yesterday 20:36:57
bootstrap                  46956 ----rwed Yesterday 20:38:25
ppcboot_pup                38027 ----rwed Yesterday 20:38:32
18 files - 351 blocks used

Directory "ENV" on Tuesday 23-Dec-14
powerpc                      Dir ----rwed Yesterday 20:34:17
1 directory - 2 blocks used

Directory "ENV/powerpc" on Tuesday 23-Dec-14
terminator                     1 ----rwed Yesterday 20:34:17
1 file - 2 blocks used

Directory "Libs" on Tuesday 23-Dec-14
ppcdiss.library            61820 ----rwed Yesterday 20:34:17
warp.library               21288 ----rwed Yesterday 20:34:17
warpHW.library              1396 ----rwed Yesterday 20:34:17
68040.library                748 ----rwed Yesterday 20:34:18
68040new.library           86276 ----rwed Yesterday 20:34:18
68060.library             103636 ----rwed Yesterday 20:34:18
powerpc.library           111044 ----rwed Yesterday 20:34:18
ppc.library               162700 ----rwed Yesterday 20:34:19
amigaguide.library         22020 ----rwed Yesterday 20:37:39
asl.library                40944 ----rwed Yesterday 20:37:40
bullet.library             28960 ----rwed Yesterday 20:37:40
commodities.library         8644 ----rwed Yesterday 20:37:40
datatypes.library          15592 ----rwed Yesterday 20:37:40
diskfont.library           15340 ----rwed Yesterday 20:37:40
iffparse.library            6832 ----rwed Yesterday 20:37:40
locale.library             18072 ----rwed Yesterday 20:37:40
lowlevel.library            6920 ----rwed Yesterday 20:37:40
mathieeedoubbas.library     5240 ----rwed Yesterday 20:37:40
mathieeedoubtrans.library   16584 ----rwed Yesterday 20:37:40
mathieeesingtrans.library   10428 ----rwed Yesterday 20:37:40
mathtrans.library           4280 ----rwed Yesterday 20:37:40
nonvolatile.library         3588 ----rwed Yesterday 20:37:40
realtime.library            3980 ----rwed Yesterday 20:37:40
rexxsupport.library         2524 ----rwed Yesterday 20:37:40
rexxsyslib.library         33392 ----rwed Yesterday 20:37:40
version.library              272 ----rwed Yesterday 20:37:40
26 files - 1586 blocks used

TOTAL: 58 files - 6 directories - 7137 blocks used
The startup-sequence
Code:
SetPatch QUIET
stack 40000
The install script
Code:
bootstrap --apus -k dh0:vmlinuz -r dh0:root.bin root=/dev/ram 60nsram nobats video=clgen:mode:1024x768-64 ether=eth0
The linux startup script (after install)
Code:
bootstrap --apus -k dh0:vmlinuz root=/dev/sda2 60nsram nobats video=clgen:mode:1024x768-64 ether=eth0
Boltar is offline  
Old 24 December 2014, 02:17   #16
Boltar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 18
I've got it to a desktop environment using Xming it's a tad slow, but I can try fine tuning it. Quite happy with this, I can run a development IDE now. *chuffed*

[ Show youtube player ]


note: sorry for triple post
Boltar is offline  
Old 24 December 2014, 08:39   #17
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 34
Posts: 2,235
You really shouldn't be doing those things as root...
Hewitson is offline  
Old 24 December 2014, 10:25   #18
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 29
Posts: 1,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boltar View Post
I've got it to a desktop environment using Xming it's a tad slow, but I can try fine tuning it. Quite happy with this, I can run a development IDE now. *chuffed*

[ Show youtube player ]


note: sorry for triple post
What is a Linux user doing on Windows?

That was really cool, btw! I might give it a spin myself... (after installing Amix )

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
You really shouldn't be doing those things as root...
I don't think there's much to care about security on an emulated Amiga machine running a 12-years-old distribution
jbenam is offline  
Old 24 December 2014, 13:00   #19
Boltar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
You really shouldn't be doing those things as root...
So I run the risk of messing up an emulated test environment? It's no big deal.
Boltar is offline  
Old 24 December 2014, 19:10   #20
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,512
(Still feeling a bit too lazy..)

Could you run installation with logging command line parameters ("winuae.exe -log -scsiemulog -scsilog"), when CD problem appears, wait 10 seconds more, quit winuae and attach the winuaelog.txt.

It must be some unknown SCSI emulation bug or missing feature.
Toni Wilen is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE QEMU PPC Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 382 16 May 2017 03:37
PPC emulation for winuae marauder request.UAE Wishlist 25 04 November 2014 06:13
WinUAE PPC thread B14ck W01f support.WinUAE 301 10 September 2014 16:34
WinUAE ppc support? blasterreal support.WinUAE 8 29 September 2010 00:51
PPC on WinUAE ? glue request.UAE Wishlist 4 28 January 2007 12:04

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.27320 seconds with 12 queries