English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 December 2014, 02:56   #1
selco
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 41
Crash in WinUAE 3.0.0 debgger

Dear Toni,
I am playing with the debuger and managed to crash WinUAE :-(

I use Quickstart->Emulated Hardware->A1200 with a A1200 OS3.1 ROM. Nothing else.
Emulation starts, the Disk emulation Boot screen is shown.
I enter shift F12 for debugger and the w 0 f850f2 2 as I want to stop when the word from $f850f2 is read. I enter g and the disk animation continues. ok.
Now I enter CTRL Amiga-Amiga to reboot the Amiga. I expect the debugger to open as soon as f850f2 is accessed and that should happen during boot. But now WinUAE always crashes.

None of the three windows can be closed, taskmanager is needed.

Crash-Screenshot is https://www.dropbox.com/s/82oai1qrmr...crash.PNG?dl=0

Dump file is https://www.dropbox.com/s/szw71z9uql...49.52.dmp?dl=0

The issue is 100% reproduceable here.

COuld you have a look at it, please?

Kind regards
selco
selco is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 21 December 2014, 08:55   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,542
Thanks, fixed. (http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae.zip)

Note that CPU instruction fetches in non-chip ram are not included in memwatch checks (would make already complex CPU pipeline stuff even more complex and slower). Only normal break points work in this case.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 21 December 2014, 14:24   #3
selco
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 41
Thanks Toni, the crash has gone.
But it does not stop either. So the watchpoint does not seem to work anymore?

The memory-access should happen by a
move.b (A2+),D0
instruction with A2 pointing to f85056.

I guess that is not meant by your explaination?

Kind regards selco
selco is offline  
Old 21 December 2014, 15:47   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,542
It should work. Include address of instruction that does the memory read and I'll check.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 21 December 2014, 16:22   #5
selco
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 41
OK. Kickstart 3.1 from A1200

; begin of drawing the boot picture in "strap"

$f84b54 MOVE.B (A2)+,D0 ; A2 is $f85020

If I set a breakpoint to f84b54 (f f84b54) and the reboot the emulated Amiga it stops at that address. Fine. A2 points to the drawing coordiantes/instructions table .

Now I try to reach the same by using a watchpoint:

w 0 f85020 1

but this time the Amiga does not stop after reboot.

See
https://www.dropbox.com/s/5thwi736et...point.PNG?dl=0

Kind regards
selco
selco is offline  
Old 21 December 2014, 16:47   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,542
Fixed (ROM regions didn't work correctly).
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 21 December 2014, 17:52   #7
selco
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 41
OK, thanks.
It stops now at the watchpoint as expeced but...

I set the watchpoint as described above:

shift F12
w 0 f85020 1
and then g

the boot animation continues.
OK. I press CTRL Amiga Amiga. It stops. Nice. (Seems to be a first access during checksum check?)
I enter g again, it runs a moment and stops again (the intended stop now). Fine.
I am now at
f8b456 MOVE.L #$00000000,D1

Thats correct.

I enter t to execute this one instruction.
- But then the animation contiunes and the debug window shows tons of execptions???
See
https://www.dropbox.com/s/2u9gvtourf...tions.PNG?dl=0

BTW
How do I remove the watchpoint when it is no longer needed?

best regards selco

Last edited by selco; 21 December 2014 at 22:50.
selco is offline  
Old 22 December 2014, 13:46   #8
selco
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 41
edited last posting
selco is offline  
Old 22 December 2014, 20:20   #9
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,542
Quote:
Originally Posted by selco View Post
OK. I press CTRL Amiga Amiga. It stops. Nice. (Seems to be a first access during checksum check?)
Yeah, first hit is ROM checksum check.

Quote:
I enter t to execute this one instruction.
- But then the animation contiunes and the debug window shows tons of execptions???
What config? Fast CPU modes may not work with debugger, especially JIT modes.

Exceptions are normal, when debugger has run for the first time, exceptions (including interrupts) are listed.

Quote:
BTW
How do I remove the watchpoint when it is no longer needed?
w <number> removes it.
Toni Wilen is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crash with WinUAE 3.0.0 tero support.WinUAE 5 21 December 2014 08:44
WinUAE 2.8.1 Crash Saghalie support.WinUAE 1 06 November 2014 08:12
WinUAE 2.7.0 Crash BlackByte support.WinUAE 8 13 December 2013 11:13
Winuae 2.0.1 crash Heula support.WinUAE 7 03 January 2010 10:43
another WinUAE 1.5.1 crash jharrison support.WinUAE 4 04 September 2008 16:53

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.16558 seconds with 11 queries