English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 December 2014, 22:03   #1
tero
Registered User

tero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: M'Gladbach
Age: 40
Posts: 449
Crash with WinUAE 3.0.0

Hi,
WinUAE crash/freeze when i try to compile sources with AmiBlitz.

Log says 'JIT: Can't handle access'. With JIT off it says 'CPU halted: reason = 3'
Both freeze winuae in the same moment.

EDIT: In 2.8.1 a guru (8000 000A) is shown. This is correct in this case
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaelog.txt (29.1 KB, 49 views)
File Type: txt winuaelog_JIT.txt (22.7 KB, 53 views)
File Type: uae Blitzbasic_OS39.uae (21.2 KB, 39 views)

Last edited by tero; 17 December 2014 at 22:51.
tero is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 18 December 2014, 08:11   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,518
Quote:
Originally Posted by tero View Post
Hi,
WinUAE crash/freeze when i try to compile sources with AmiBlitz.

Log says 'JIT: Can't handle access'. With JIT off it says 'CPU halted: reason = 3'
Both freeze winuae in the same moment.
Sounds like common Amiga-side problem of too small stack size. Running "stack 100000" before running crashing program should help.

(HALT shouldn't freeze it, only waits for reset. HALT = CPU stopped due to double fault)

Quote:
EDIT: In 2.8.1 a guru (8000 000A) is shown. This is correct in this case
I don't think so. Your memory layout is now different (Z3 RAM in official location, this is now preferred if possible since 3.0, reduces problems with PPC operating systems. You switch to old mode by setting memory panel Z3 mapping to UAE)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 18 December 2014, 10:18   #3
tero
Registered User

tero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: M'Gladbach
Age: 40
Posts: 449
Raising stack/old Z3 mapping makes no difference. See below, but i would prefer a guru instead the freeze.

Anyway, the matter has resolved itself:
In the meantime i figured the whole Guru was my fault, endless loop inside an include i used in all sources i tried.
tero is offline  
Old 18 December 2014, 16:30   #4
Dunny
Registered User

Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 737
Had one crash with the new WinUAE also - hard lock up, window doesn't respond to any input (no F12 to bring up UI, RMB doesn't release the mouse) after an error box. This was with A1200 4MB quickstart option trying to get NIALL to run.

I'll see if I can get it reproduced and gather logs.

D.
Dunny is offline  
Old 20 December 2014, 22:30   #5
Nut
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 36
Hate to complain but JIT on-the-fly switch ON crashes 3.0.0. Have to boot JIT ON for it to work. Then you can switch off/on without problems. It worked with previous versions, sort of, some versions did
Nut is offline  
Old 21 December 2014, 08:44   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,518
I think last two posts don't include enough information to be any use..

--

HALT status when program attempts to execute code from unexisting memory is now correct behavior. It is unrecoverable anyway and makes debugging easier, just check the log, getting to OS crash handler (if you are fortunate enough) will only get useless crash information.
Toni Wilen is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE 2.8.1 Crash Saghalie support.WinUAE 1 06 November 2014 08:12
WinUAE 2.7.0 Crash BlackByte support.WinUAE 8 13 December 2013 11:13
Winuae 2.0.1 crash Heula support.WinUAE 7 03 January 2010 10:43
another WinUAE 1.5.1 crash jharrison support.WinUAE 4 04 September 2008 16:53
WinUAE 08.17 r1 -r3 W98 crash Car support.WinUAE 2 07 December 2001 10:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.19926 seconds with 12 queries