English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 December 2014, 20:40   #21
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 43
Posts: 717
It's possible that CF0 icon/file is not properly edited, can you send it as an attachment so we can examine it.
Or if you feel brave you can edit it yourself with a text editor.
Make sure device name and filesystem if correct.
amiman99 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 19 December 2014, 07:58   #22
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,235
Quote:
Originally Posted by modrobert View Post
On my A1200 with WB 3.1 I have to mount the CF card (attached to adapter) in the PCMCIA slot using this command in an Amiga shell:

mount CF0:

After that the workbench icon shows up.
That's because you have CF0 stored in Storage/DosDrivers. Moving it to Devs/DosDrivers will make it mount automatically when WB is started.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 19 December 2014, 16:11   #23
modrobert
old bearded fool

modrobert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bangkok
Age: 50
Posts: 384
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
That's because you have CF0 stored in Storage/DosDrivers. Moving it to Devs/DosDrivers will make it mount automatically when WB is started.
OK, thanks for the explanation. I rarely use the CF card though, have WiFi card in the PCMCIA slot most of the time, so manual mount is fine.
modrobert is offline  
Old 24 December 2014, 00:45   #24
minke
Registered User

minke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: manchester
Posts: 10
All is well at last. Got me a sandisk ultra 2 and everything worked a treat. I actually got hold of zip files for all the games and unzipped them to the card. Just had to plug into the pcmcia, show all, double click the white box and finally drag the file straight over. No lha commands to install each game, which would have taken a while. Finally have around 2gb of the best Amiga games. Thanks for all your help folks, glad I stuck with it.
minke is offline  
Old 24 December 2014, 09:56   #25
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,235
Quote:
Originally Posted by minke View Post
No lha commands to install each game, which would have taken a while.
I'm pretty sure you can do an "lha x #?.lha". #? is the AmigaDOS equivalent of * in UNIX, or *.* in Windows/MS-DOS.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 26 December 2014, 13:20   #26
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,446
Didn't read all the way, but it sounds like what a friend had. Plain file copies would just get corrupted a bit in. WinUAE had trouble writing to several correctly Amiga-formatted CF cards, some incompatibility with his CF reader. The cards were set up on Amiga and WB disks installed. Then he wanted to get the bulk of files over and it just wouldn't work. In the end he had to copy the files to a PC-formatted card (just unzipped the files outside WinUAE) and copy from that to the Amiga-formatted card on his Amiga.

Now if the CF card is PC formatted you don't need WinUAE for file copy, just drag them over and you can use 7zip to extract .lha files as if they were zip files.

If you're using ze godforsaken .hdf files, then before anything just create a "Harddisk directory" in WinUAE and copy them over so you have proper files on your PC instead.
Photon is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Game identification (Really struggling!) dnfrd Looking for a game name ? 10 11 December 2014 18:46
8gb CF card - Struggling gazj82 support.Hardware 11 11 September 2014 08:20
I'm new to all this - struggling with Cloanto Jim support.WinUAE 228 17 November 2013 21:58
Struggling with ClassicWB :( Geon106 support.WinUAE 3 28 March 2013 15:04
Newbie struggling on downloaded games Scampi New to Emulation or Amiga scene 21 23 October 2007 22:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21510 seconds with 11 queries