English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 December 2002, 16:12   #21
backtoskooldaze
Registered User
backtoskooldaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 103
Smile Isa cards on amiga is like-

Isa cards to be active on amigas using a bridgeboard is like having 6 pci slots on the amiga in a tower and the mediator1200sx being the brdgeboard as so to speak.
I would not wait till i get an amiga 4000 just to get isa cards in there i would prefer to get an a1200 in a tower and get 6 pci slots instead.I think it's time to forget isa cards by now surely?
Also it will be better when www.elbox.com come up with a newer mediator board with preferably 6 pci slots like the mediator1200 sx but with an agp slot so you can use better graphics cards instead of the pci version of the voodoo3 3000 etc....
I know elbox have the sharkppc+ accellerator card out by next year which will have an agp slot on it as well as pc memory slots etc......and that will require a pci slot on your mediator board.

So i think ISA cards are not so big in the amiga's today!
backtoskooldaze is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 15 December 2002, 16:16   #22
backtoskooldaze
Registered User
backtoskooldaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 103
Unhappy Ethernet cards+pcmcia on the amiga:(

As far as Ethernet goes on the amiga well with all the incompatible pcmcia cards and actually finding one cheap enough that works on the amiga it is much cheaper and easier to get a pci ethernet card for your amiga and they work faster than pcmcia cards.


My pci ethernet card for the amiga cost me £14.99 and the broadband flies str8 through the cable router to my miggy



MEDIATOR IS THE WAY FORWARD FOR THE CLASSIC AMIGAS
backtoskooldaze is offline  
Old 15 December 2002, 16:23   #23
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Re: Ethernet cards+pcmcia on the amiga:(

Quote:
Originally posted by backtoskooldaze
As far as Ethernet goes on the amiga well with all the incompatible pcmcia cards and actually finding one cheap enough that works on the amiga it is much cheaper and easier to get a pci ethernet card for your amiga and they work faster than pcmcia cards.
But there´s no PCMCIA Slot on A2000
RetroMan is offline  
Old 15 December 2002, 16:30   #24
backtoskooldaze
Registered User
backtoskooldaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 103
Smile Hi Retroman

I must confess i don't know much about the a2000 or 4000 but i am sure that elbox have something for the a2000 or 4000 users to get pci slots.
That way they can have the ethernet they have always wanted!
backtoskooldaze is offline  
Old 15 December 2002, 16:50   #25
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Re: Hi Retroman

Quote:
Originally posted by backtoskooldaze
I must confess i don't know much about the a2000 or 4000 but i am sure that elbox have something for the a2000 or 4000 users to get pci slots.
That way they can have the ethernet they have always wanted!
The A4000 can easily be upgraded with PCI Slots, but there´s no way for the A2000, those Zorro II Slots are just way toooooo slow to handle those
RetroMan is offline  
Old 15 December 2002, 18:15   #26
backtoskooldaze
Registered User
backtoskooldaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 103
Wink It seems:-

So am i right thinking the a2000 is like an a500+ were upgrading is concerned.
backtoskooldaze is offline  
Old 15 December 2002, 18:50   #27
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,355
Re: Re: Ethernet cards+pcmcia on the amiga:(

Quote:
Originally posted by RetroMan
But there´s no PCMCIA Slot on A2000
True, but wasn't there an adapter card that pligged into a Zorro slot and had this on it or am I thinking of only USB ports
jmmijo is offline  
Old 15 December 2002, 18:53   #28
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Never heard of an adapter card for Zorro II that gives you a PCMCIA Slot on A2000 But there is an USB Card for Zorro II
RetroMan is offline  
Old 15 December 2002, 19:22   #29
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,355
Quote:
Originally posted by RetroMan
Never heard of an adapter card for Zorro II that gives you a PCMCIA Slot on A2000 But there is an USB Card for Zorro II
That's most likely what I was thinking about then, thanks RetroMan for the clarification
jmmijo is offline  
Old 15 December 2002, 22:34   #30
Severin
Registered User
Severin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gloucester / UK
Posts: 700
Send a message via ICQ to Severin
Quote:
Originally posted by Burseg
I see but my point is, amigas did never have an internal flicker fixer or a high density floppy drive
the A3000s have an internal flicker fixer... and the A4000s do have high density drives, there are 2 types, the older one is a non-standard size (about 8mm higher) and very slow but
later A4000s came with a standard sized drive that is alot faster
Severin is offline  
Old 15 December 2002, 22:38   #31
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Sure, I wasn't able to explain well actually. I mean the low end amigas lack these features as if they were luxuries. A standard 020 and 2mb chip ram with a DD drive was quite uncool for a new AGA amiga in 1992.
 
Old 15 December 2002, 22:43   #32
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,355
Quote:
Originally posted by Burseg
Sure, I wasn't able to explain well actually. I mean the low end amigas lack these features as if they were luxuries. A standard 020 and 2mb chip ram with a DD drive was quite uncool for a new AGA amiga in 1992.
Yep, you could say that alright, although my 4000 came with the low end 030 running at 25MHz but it also had 16MB of Fast RAM too
jmmijo is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.19383 seconds with 11 queries