English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 December 2014, 02:12   #1
Saghalie
Registered User

Saghalie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: FT Lewis, WA
Posts: 104
Tape Emulation

Does the tape emulation emulate the A3070 or is it just a "SCSI" emulator.

I've been able to use ABACKUP to backup to tape files using the emulation but am unable to restore from the tapes I just created.

When I tried using it for AMIX 2.1 it read the tape files that I have but since I don't have the full distribution I couldn't load AMIX.

I've downloaded tons of tape files from the official (and other) site and nothing seems to work so if anyone has the tapes (for AMIX) I would love it if you could share them (legally of course).

Of course installing AMIX is just a curiosity thing - I have tons of software for the Amiga and C64 and I love putting together systems in the emulator (WinUAE etc).

Thanks for your consideration!

Regards

Saghalie
http://www.kcmhosting.com
Saghalie is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 08 December 2014, 19:27   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,561
It is basically made to work with Amix but it has been confirmed working with Amiga tape backup programs. Mostly generic SCSI tape emulator.

Logs help, as usual. (Tape logging is always enabled)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 08 December 2014, 22:07   #3
Saghalie
Registered User

Saghalie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: FT Lewis, WA
Posts: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Logs help, as usual. (Tape logging is always enabled)
Of course they do!

Here you go...

Regards,

Saghalie
http://www.kcmhosting.com
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaebootlog.txt (17.2 KB, 34 views)
File Type: txt winuaelog.txt (38.9 KB, 50 views)
Saghalie is offline  
Old 09 December 2014, 16:45   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,561
It seems abackup requires Device Configuration mode page support (SCSI mode sense page 0x10, perhaps also 0x11)

I guess I need to dump this data from A3070 tape drive (I have one, never tested).. Unless someone is faster than me

Unfortunately it is too difficult to guess correct bits just by reading SCSI spec. Too many strange tape-only feature bits.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 09 December 2014, 20:00   #5
Saghalie
Registered User

Saghalie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: FT Lewis, WA
Posts: 104
Aw... well.

I would be nice to be able to emulate a tape drive - just because. It is after all "emulation" - and I'm all about that for the Amiga.

My Amiga is unfortunately in the storage shed so emulation is all I have.

Thanks!
Saghalie is offline  
Old 09 December 2014, 20:12   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,561
Diavolo and Quarterback are confirmed working. If you really want to emulate tape drive just for fun
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 09 December 2014, 21:32   #7
Saghalie
Registered User

Saghalie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: FT Lewis, WA
Posts: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Diavolo and Quarterback are confirmed working. If you really want to emulate tape drive just for fun
I've tried both. I can write out the tape files just fine. But both programs report that the tapes are not valid tapes for their programs when I try to restore the tapes.

I dunno, weird stuff.

Thanks!

Logs attached.

For some reason, it won't let me attach two files so here is the other one.

Thanks!

EDIT:
Maybe it's too big... I'll put it up to my server and you can dl it

http://www.mtida.net/files/winuaelog.txt

EDIT:
I think I got it... still testing but was able to use Quarterback and backup a volume and restore it. I forgot to tick A4091 when using it. Well - I didn't forget, I didn't know ... live and learn I suppose.

EDIT:
Nope, got it to work that ONE time now no matter what config I use, it doesn't work with any of the configurations... sigh
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaebootlog.txt (16.3 KB, 53 views)

Last edited by Saghalie; 10 December 2014 at 02:11. Reason: Fixed? Nope
Saghalie is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A3070 tape options source support.Hardware 0 19 January 2011 06:10
Tape Drive in Winuae quicksylver support.WinUAE 7 11 August 2003 04:09
Tape 64 Steve request.Apps 13 31 January 2003 19:03
Amiga Primer on tape Oscar Castillo Nostalgia & memories 0 02 September 2002 23:07

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.17461 seconds with 12 queries