English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 December 2014, 02:26   #1
fondpondforever
Registered User

fondpondforever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Cornwall, England
Posts: 311
Commodore Amiga 4000T Worth This Much?

Reading about the evolution of Amiga Computer's on a website and only just discovered that the Commodore Amiga 4000T is the most powerful Machine in Commodore's arsenal. It was the only Amiga ever to have both SCSI and IDE interfaces built in on the motherboard. Sound's cool hey. Is it worth 750?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/COMMODORE-AMIGA-4000-TOWER-COMPUTER-RBM-TowerHawk-A4000T-/321537541443?pt=UK_VintageComputing_RL&hash=item4add218543
fondpondforever is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 05 December 2014, 02:34   #2
T_hairy_bootson
Workbitch 1.3

T_hairy_bootson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 40
Posts: 2,028
That is a regular 4000 motherboard with an aftermarket zorro riser in an aftermarket tower case.

The real a4000T motherboard is different to the 4000D motherboard.

This is an a4000T case only:

4000T CASE ON EBAY

Last edited by T_hairy_bootson; 05 December 2014 at 02:40.
T_hairy_bootson is offline  
Old 05 December 2014, 02:37   #3
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 36
Posts: 1,229
The Commodore version is very rare I think.

I have an Escom 4000T and was offered €3000 by someone. Of course this is a fully expanded one. Too bad I can never sell it

Quote:
Originally Posted by T_hairy_bootson View Post
That is a regular 4000 motherboard with an aftermarket zorro riser in an aftermarket tower case.

The real a4000T motherboard is different to the 4000D motherboard.

This is a 4000T case only:

4000T CASE ON EBAY
That one is an Escom case like mine. Not the original commodore case.
ancalimon is offline  
Old 05 December 2014, 02:47   #4
fondpondforever
Registered User

fondpondforever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Cornwall, England
Posts: 311
Didn't realise it was the case only, sorry about that. Does any of the EAB User's have an Amiga 4000 that they actively use. What's Video Toaster like? How much do you think the Commodore version would sell for? Were there any exclusive 4000 games.

Last edited by fondpondforever; 05 December 2014 at 02:59.
fondpondforever is offline  
Old 05 December 2014, 03:47   #5
mech
Registered User
mech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: texas,usa
Posts: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by fondpondforever View Post
Didn't realise it was the case only, sorry about that. Does any of the EAB User's have an Amiga 4000 that they actively use. What's Video Toaster like? How much do you think the Commodore version would sell for? Were there any exclusive 4000 games.
I have quickpak A4000t and the AmigaTechnologies ones(hey all use the AT motherboard). Putting a value on them is hard. a basic one usually sells for $1000usd mark on US ebay but i have seem them go higher and lower.
They are great machines. The value is basically what you are willing to pay for it. Scsi on amiga has always worked well,the 4000T scsi is rated 10MB/s and i see around 9MB/s with low cpu usage. The 4000T's come with lithiumcoin batteries,so no worries about leaking battery.
Other than scsi it is not much different than the desktop 4000. If you want the fastest speeds in any big box amiga add a aftermarket accelerator like a cyberstorm ppc or MKII,MKIII etc which give fast scsi and 128Mb of 32bit ram. stock 4000(T) has a max of 16MB motherboard ram and its fairly slow.
Some Quikpak models came with the Quikpak 060 accelerator, arguably the fastest accelerator memory wise since it is the only one to take advantage of edo ram.
mech is offline  
Old 05 December 2014, 05:07   #6
fondpondforever
Registered User

fondpondforever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Cornwall, England
Posts: 311
A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away....


Commodore International said to Amiga Technologies release the Quickpak in 4 years time so that the user's can see France defeat Brazil in the World Cup whilst there shooting down tanks on Banshee with one hand and eating pizza and drinking beer in the other hand!
fondpondforever is offline  
Old 05 December 2014, 08:53   #7
T_hairy_bootson
Workbitch 1.3

T_hairy_bootson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 40
Posts: 2,028
I'm lost
T_hairy_bootson is offline  
Old 05 December 2014, 08:59   #8
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,235
525 for a case? I wouldn't pay that even if it was a complete machine.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 05 December 2014, 11:49   #9
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
I have an use an A4000. I don't use a Video Toaster thought.

Whilst there aren't specific games for A4000 there are for AGA same as A1200 but with the A4000 you have easy upgrade access to RTG and Sound Cards and there are games and software that take advantage of RTG/AHI.

I had an A4000T but I sold it last year when I was out of work. In fact I sold a lot of my Amiga stuff, I've also had A4000's in after market towers by Elbox such as Power Tower & Mirage Pro.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 05 December 2014, 12:15   #10
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,235
It's worth mentioning that AGA games are usually written specifically for the 1200 and may not work on the 4000's 030/040.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 05 December 2014, 12:29   #11
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
It's worth mentioning that AGA games are usually written specifically for the 1200 and may not work on the 4000's 030/040.
030 should be fine but 040 might be an issue for some games. WHDLoad will fix most of these

I'm not sure they were 'usually' written for the A1200 as a lot of AGA Games the box says A1200/A4000 (At least the ones I own anyway...)
fitzsteve is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For sale: Commodore Amiga 4000T bitman MarketPlace 29 19 September 2013 20:49
Amiga 4000T cdrom Landoq support.Hardware 33 28 May 2010 18:45
What's it worth: Commodore Overdrive 240MB PCMCIA Voz79 MarketPlace 13 07 December 2009 10:16
Amiga 4000t HD help GreenMeanie support.Hardware 17 04 November 2007 10:12
Wanted: Amiga-1500, Escom A-600, Commodore A-4000T and others... Overdoc MarketPlace 0 08 July 2005 03:49

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.16203 seconds with 11 queries