English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 December 2014, 21:41   #1
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 44
Posts: 718
"Jump Block Jump!" game, preview edition (made with Backbone)

I have a preview of my new game made with Backbone, clone of Geometry Dash/The Impossible game.
The preview has only 8 levels, but more to come if there is an interest in the game.

I'm also looking for a fast paced MOD music I could include in the game. If anyone has good Techno/DJ MOD and wants to share it in the game and it feels right, please let me know. The credit will be given.

PLEASE DON'T KILL ME IF YOU GET FRUSTRATED

https://www.dropbox.com/s/ilhh2khtvh...kjump.zip?dl=0

OH...Press 2 on NumKeypad to skip levels.
amiman99 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 04 December 2014, 22:18   #2
seuden
uber cool demi god

seuden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kent/England
Posts: 1,905
Cool, I'll try it over the weekend.
seuden is offline  
Old 04 December 2014, 23:50   #3
Lonewolf10
AMOS Extensions Developer
Lonewolf10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: near Cambridge, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,917
I also have downloaded it and will try it over the weekend.
Lonewolf10 is offline  
Old 05 December 2014, 00:17   #4
mihcael
Zone Friend
mihcael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Aussie
Posts: 1,096
Download link requires registration, can you up it the zone please.
mihcael is offline  
Old 05 December 2014, 00:29   #5
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,816
click "no, thanks, just download the file"
s2325 is offline  
Old 05 December 2014, 00:30   #6
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by mihcael View Post
Download link requires registration, can you up it the zone please.
Dropbox works for me here (following the last two Chrome updates) without registration (cookies required, but then what sites don't?).

If you really can't use it, I will upload it to The Zone for you.
prowler is offline  
Old 05 December 2014, 01:38   #7
mihcael
Zone Friend
mihcael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Aussie
Posts: 1,096
"no, thanks, just download the file"

I did look for something like that but just missed it. Thanks.

Edit - Tried the game now.

I had to slow down WinuAE to make it at all playable. Very hard to play.

Last edited by mihcael; 05 December 2014 at 01:46.
mihcael is offline  
Old 05 December 2014, 05:00   #8
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 44
Posts: 718
The game is HARD by design, it's all about timing and sometimes adjustment forward and back.
That's why I gave 20 lives and skip levels option.
On the levels with 3 triangles you need to jump as close as possible to make it. Also for fast jumps, press and release the button quickly, for longer jupms hold the button longer and hold the joystick forward.
amiman99 is offline  
Old 05 December 2014, 21:37   #9
Lonewolf10
AMOS Extensions Developer
Lonewolf10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: near Cambridge, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,917
Suggestions:

- Difficulty steep for 1st level, perhaps make it a little easier?
- Can camera keep controlling block in centre of screen (height-wise) as unable to see block platforms when they go downwards alot
- Score should be incrementing (small amounts) all the time like racing games.
- Progress bar, so I can see how far I am through the level.

Bugs:

- Using 68000 CPU (WinUAE), 'illegal function call' error just after drawing the 2nd level.
- Switched to 68040 CPU (WinUAE) and 'illegal function call' error after pressing Start button (specifically after platform blocks drawn and 'character' block is about to appear) and before playing level 1!
- Has anyone else tried the skip level method? I can't get it to work on my WinUAE setup.

Gameplay tip: Use left and right when jumping to extend jumps or help land in tight spots.

Edit: I see amiman99 already mentioned my tip!
Lonewolf10 is offline  
Old 05 December 2014, 22:45   #10
hipoonios
Amiga Hardcore Gamer

hipoonios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sweden
Age: 39
Posts: 1,106
A perfect choice of game to make in Backbone! Well done amiman99!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lonewolf10 View Post
Has anyone else tried the skip level method? I can't get it to work on my WinUAE setup.
Works here. But only works with numpad AND of course it will not work if you have Keyboard Layout A in Joystick setup.

Last edited by hipoonios; 05 December 2014 at 23:09.
hipoonios is offline  
Old 05 December 2014, 23:30   #11
nobody
Registered User

nobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: GR
Age: 40
Posts: 983
Decent game and very hard. Could be 1 adf if you used small MODs.
nobody is offline  
Old 05 December 2014, 23:40   #12
Lonewolf10
AMOS Extensions Developer
Lonewolf10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: near Cambridge, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by hipoonios View Post
Works here. But only works with numpad AND of course it will not work if you have Keyboard Layout A in Joystick setup.
Hmmm, strange. Maybe my setup is dodgy, or I'm simply not use the numpad correctly on my laptop? (I never normally use the numpad on my laptop, which reuses existing keys - no separate numpad like desktop computers)
I usually use Keyboard Layout B (so the cursor keys and Control are movement and fire button).
Lonewolf10 is offline  
Old 06 December 2014, 00:33   #13
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 44
Posts: 718
Quote:
Originally Posted by nobody View Post
Decent game and very hard. Could be 1 adf if you used small MODs.
If someone can find me small chip tunes that fit the fast paced game, I'll use it.
amiman99 is offline  
Old 06 December 2014, 00:58   #14
mjnurney
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Milton Keynes
Posts: 262
excellent game , i love it - i want do it but hey ho.

Im just starting with backbone now and think its great. a few bugs and limitations aside.
mjnurney is offline  
Old 06 December 2014, 02:48   #15
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 44
Posts: 718
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lonewolf10 View Post
Suggestions:

- Difficulty steep for 1st level, perhaps make it a little easier?
- Can camera keep controlling block in centre of screen (height-wise) as unable to see block platforms when they go downwards alot
- Score should be incrementing (small amounts) all the time like racing games.
- Progress bar, so I can see how far I am through the level.

Bugs:

- Using 68000 CPU (WinUAE), 'illegal function call' error just after drawing the 2nd level.
- Switched to 68040 CPU (WinUAE) and 'illegal function call' error after pressing Start button (specifically after platform blocks drawn and 'character' block is about to appear) and before playing level 1!
- Has anyone else tried the skip level method? I can't get it to work on my WinUAE setup.

Edit: I see amiman99 already mentioned my tip!
Thanks for playing my game, here are some of my answers.

BUGS:
I'm using Real A1200 with 68030, did not tried it with WinUAE yet. Try to use A1200 config with 4MB fast ram and 3.1 WB. Try to use NTSC screen mode and no graphics card emulation.

I might make it more progressively difficult, easy at first then harder. That was my original idea, my kids loved to play it.

I don't think I can change the camera position, Backbone does not have that option. In few areas I where you can't see, I added a platform so you won't die a cheap death, also you could memorize some areas and plan ahead.

I could add score, there is an option for that.

No progress bar, but I can add numbered blocks in the level to indicate % completed.
amiman99 is offline  
Old 06 December 2014, 03:10   #16
mjnurney
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Milton Keynes
Posts: 262
There is a bug in backbone , it just keeps the score adding up from one game to another unless you quit and restart.
mjnurney is offline  
Old 06 December 2014, 14:57   #17
Lemming880
Registered User

Lemming880's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: NL
Posts: 118
Cool idea amiman99. Surprisingly different from your Marco Gregorios game. I guess Backbone actually works best for simplistic designs like this, I'll remember that for a next game. This one's a bit too hard for my taste though.
Lemming880 is offline  
Old 06 December 2014, 20:29   #18
Lonewolf10
AMOS Extensions Developer
Lonewolf10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: near Cambridge, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by amiman99 View Post
I'm using Real A1200 with 68030, did not tried it with WinUAE yet. Try to use A1200 config with 4MB fast ram and 3.1 WB. Try to use NTSC screen mode and no graphics card emulation.
Already wrote this out once and my connection threw a wobbly and I lost my original reply (I normally copy it first, but forgot this time, and was unable to go back )


I changed my setup to 68030 CPU, with 2MB of chipRAM and 8MB of fastRAM (originally I just had 8MB of chipRAM). It seems many (all?) games created using Backbone require lots of fastRAM to run without any issues.
I managed to complete all the levels within the current demo


Bugs:

- Graphical glitch left on background from main character block (only seems to appear since switching to new setup).
- 2 levels (I think the ones with the moving circle objects) do not end straight away like the other levels. You have to walk further to the right to end said level and access the next one.


Suggestions:

- Add level number to display at the bottom (it will help us debug the game too )
- Level 1 is the hardest of all (8?) levels. Move it to level 8 and shift the others up.
- If you can, make this for the I-phone too. I think it is ripe for a potential big hit - simple concept that is very addictive.

Last edited by Lonewolf10; 06 December 2014 at 20:35.
Lonewolf10 is offline  
Old 07 December 2014, 04:17   #19
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 44
Posts: 718
The game is partly based on iPhone game https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/the-...367242040?mt=8

You can see in my previous game "Marco Gregorios Adventures to Unusual Places" in between levels I used a similar idea.

I was planning to do 20+ levels, this is only a preview version.
amiman99 is offline  
Old 09 December 2014, 00:20   #20
Lonewolf10
AMOS Extensions Developer
Lonewolf10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: near Cambridge, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by amiman99 View Post
The game is partly based on iPhone game https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/the-...367242040?mt=8
Ahh
Lonewolf10 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unofficial game "sequels" made by crackers Minuous Nostalgia & memories 84 17 July 2016 02:38
HOL, jump to next game in list? DDNI HOL suggestions and feedback 1 27 August 2014 11:59
"Exception "Line 1111 Emulator" ($2c) Error at $1004" when exiting game demolition support.WinUAE 15 30 November 2012 17:43
PFS3 continuosly giving "Block outside reserved area" -errors emuola project.ClassicWB 15 19 August 2012 20:47
"block zero write failed!" Error message MoreGrog support.WinUAE 5 21 July 2010 22:30

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.47325 seconds with 11 queries