English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 December 2002, 11:09   #1
misguided_fool
Registered User
misguided_fool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Cardiff
Age: 43
Posts: 68
Unhappy Bloody Joystick!!

I can't believe it... More problems.

I've been running the latest WinUAE r3 absolutely perfectly recently with some help from you guys.

I've encountered a new problem. I've been playing amiga games that require a mouse. Now I try to use a joystick and nothing happens! Im sure the old version worked fine.

I have a simple PC setup - a gravis gamepad connected to my soundblaster live card. It detects it, but doesnt work at all with any games. They joypad works with all PC games, and every other emulator I own. Any ideas???

Im gutted - got the baby purring like a kitten - and now I cant play any games that use a joystick.

Please help... Or I will have to take my own life... well maybe not.
misguided_fool is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 06 December 2002, 16:13   #2
nnever
 
Posts: n/a
I have same problem here (gravis games pro usb)

I solved pressing two times the "switch port" button on the winuae input panel.
 
Old 06 December 2002, 16:22   #3
misguided_fool
Registered User
misguided_fool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Cardiff
Age: 43
Posts: 68
I'll give that a go, but I'm sure I've tried it.
Thanks anyway.

Anyone have any other ideas ? Can't believe a standard gamepad connected through a popular soundcard doesn't work with WinUAE....

I'm gutted........ Cant play with keys/mouse - bloody impossible !
misguided_fool is offline  
Old 06 December 2002, 17:07   #4
Djay
breakpointUK.com

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Founders System
Age: 41
Posts: 3,089
Send a message via MSN to Djay
i normally have about 4 versions of WinUAE installed on my system at any one time, so i can report errors on the latest release but then step backwards so i can still play games
Djay is offline  
Old 09 December 2002, 09:04   #5
nnever
 
Posts: n/a
You have to do this every time you load a game!!!!

Try again, it will work!!!!

If not my gravis never and never worked!!!!
 
Old 11 December 2002, 10:32   #6
misguided_fool
Registered User
misguided_fool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Cardiff
Age: 43
Posts: 68
Still no joy with joystick...

I need more help lads !!!!

I've tried everything this weekend lads, and I still can't get any control from my joypad. It works 100% with every windows / dos / emulator games. Why now WinUAE ?

Heres what I have - my PC isn't fantastic, but it runs everything I want perfectly. Its a 1g AMD Thunderbird processor - plenty of memory, a G-force gfx card, a soundblaster live card (through which my joystick is connected) and I am running windows millenium.

Whatever setup i use in WinUAE doesn't seem to work - It allows me to select my gravis gamepad - but none of the modes work - i've tried compatibility mode and configs 1-4 on the controller panel.

I've tried swapping controllers on the input panel several times as suggested by you guys, but nothing happens whatsoever.
I've checked the WinUAE log and it contains messages such as 'Joystick failed x0000 blah blah blah'

I know thats not very specific (I'm in the office at the moment - can't remember the exact wording of the error message)

So, what now ? I have to get some joystick to work - it's pointless having WinUAE otherwise. I tried playing Wizkid last night on the keyboard - which wasn't much fun I can tell you !
misguided_fool is offline  
Old 11 December 2002, 11:13   #7
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,674
Quote:
'Joystick failed x0000 blah blah blah'
What is the exact error code?
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 11 December 2002, 11:47   #8
misguided_fool
Registered User
misguided_fool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Cardiff
Age: 43
Posts: 68
Error code

Hi Toni !

Can't remember the exact error code. Im stuck in the office at the moment (9am-5pm). Will make note of it tonight & post tomorrow. Think I need your expertise on this one ! I'm sure you can help.

Will post tomorrow if thats ok !

Cheers !
misguided_fool is offline  
Old 18 December 2002, 10:31   #9
misguided_fool
Registered User
misguided_fool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Cardiff
Age: 43
Posts: 68
Gutted

Well I've tried everything.

Dont think I'm ever gonna get a joystick working unless I try changing my operating system or getting new hardware. I'm gutted....

Anyway, thanks for helping guys.... Im off now to sulk for a few months..
misguided_fool is offline  
Old 18 December 2002, 11:55   #10
P-J
EAB veteran... Honest!
P-J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Warwickshire, England
Age: 37
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via MSN to P-J
Re: Still no joy with joystick...

Quote:
Originally posted by misguided_fool
...and I am running windows millenium...
Dude, not trying to be negative, but lose this piece of shit. It'll probably fix the problem...
P-J is offline  
Old 18 December 2002, 14:38   #11
misguided_fool
Registered User
misguided_fool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Cardiff
Age: 43
Posts: 68
Yeah i know what ur saying... I hate it...
Just the way my stuff is all installed & hooked up ,
its gonna be a major pain in the ass.

I dont like XP, so it'll have to be 2000..
misguided_fool is offline  
Old 18 December 2002, 22:11   #12
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Whenever I see the name of this thread in new posts, I'm terrorized, thinking the process that produced a "bloody joystick"
 
Old 19 December 2002, 11:03   #13
misguided_fool
Registered User
misguided_fool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Cardiff
Age: 43
Posts: 68
Haha

Yeah Burseg... Didnt realise that.
The amount of times I've hit it recently, there's a wonder it isn't covered in blood.
misguided_fool is offline  
Old 04 March 2003, 10:54   #14
misguided_fool
Registered User
misguided_fool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Cardiff
Age: 43
Posts: 68
Success !!!!!

At last im back ! I'd given up...

Just when i had resigned myself to boredom without WinUAE, theres a new release that works with my joystick !!!!

Thanks a lot WinUAE guys ! I don't know what you did, but you did it ! Wooo Hoooo !!

Right... Wheres that kick off 2.....
misguided_fool is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another bloody Australian KJezza Member Introductions 8 20 October 2011 08:47
Bloody annoying Ian request.Old Rare Games 10 07 March 2007 20:44
Bloody WinUAE, bloody ADFs, bloody Workbench... Shrub New to Emulation or Amiga scene 1 27 July 2005 01:21
Bloody Afternoon plasmatron request.Old Rare Games 12 23 June 2003 12:27
Bloody cigarettes! Akira support.Hardware 21 31 July 2002 22:59

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.19590 seconds with 11 queries