English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 November 2014, 22:10   #1
stu232
Utterly Lost....

 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 167
Those new fandangled PPC Amigas..?

How do the PPC machines execute classic 680x0 code, do they emulate it?
stu232 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 26 November 2014, 22:18   #2
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,533
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by stu232 View Post
How do the PPC machines execute classic 680x0 code, do they emulate it?
Yes, E-UAE. There is also the new E-UAE JIT available now as beta.
FOL is offline  
Old 26 November 2014, 22:30   #3
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,084
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
There is also Petunia for running OS friendly 68k programs in AmigaOS4 without UAE.
DDNI is offline  
Old 26 November 2014, 22:31   #4
stu232
Utterly Lost....

 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 167
Is the emulation seemless or does the emulator have been to executed manually?
stu232 is offline  
Old 26 November 2014, 22:42   #5
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,084
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
You can use RunINUAE to automatically start EUAE whenver you double click on an ADF or WHDLoad slave. The program or game can then run in a window or fullscreen.
DDNI is offline  
Old 26 November 2014, 22:49   #6
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 908
Emulation is seamless for system-friendly programs (=needs only 68k emulation). For example, if you run Personal Paint it will run just like it normally would.

If it's a game or something that needs direct access to the original chipset (not through system libraries), then it will run in E-UAE in one way or another and isn't necessarily quite so seamless.
ajk is offline  
Old 27 November 2014, 00:06   #7
stu232
Utterly Lost....

 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 167
Hmm, I'm curious now.

Should I spend money and buy an old PPC machine or use an old AMD x86 3.2Ghz PC and run something like Amithon on it?
stu232 is offline  
Old 27 November 2014, 00:34   #8
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 36
Posts: 1,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by stu232 View Post
Hmm, I'm curious now.

Should I spend money and buy an old PPC machine or use an old AMD x86 3.2Ghz PC and run something like Amithon on it?
OS4.1 is running great on my A4000T (604e@400MHz) It's just that CVisionPPC (8mb) struggles a lot and 128mb ram is not really enough.

Amithlon is like using a very fast Draco. No Amiga custom chips.
ancalimon is offline  
Old 27 November 2014, 06:28   #9
ptyerman
Registered User

ptyerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Worksop/UK
Age: 53
Posts: 927
But again you can use UAE on Amithlon to access ADFs and such.
ptyerman is offline  
Old 30 November 2014, 11:21   #10
esc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Palo Alto, California, USA
Posts: 372
Just my two cents - Amithlon is great, but it seems like it's constantly locking up for some reason. These days I'd just throw a barebones linux install, xorg, a lightweight wm (openbox comes to mind), and launchers for FS-UAE.
esc is offline  
Old 30 November 2014, 12:11   #11
jPV
Registered User
jPV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: RNO
Posts: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by stu232 View Post
How do the PPC machines execute classic 680x0 code, do they emulate it?
Both OS4 and MorphOS do this in the same way. They have OS3.x compatible API and 68k CPU emulator with JIT (Petunia on OS4 and Trance on MorphOS). 68k emulation is always running and it's transparent to user. User doesn't even notice if he's running native or emulated programs. Emulation is so good that you can even use 68k system components on the new operating systems (libraries, devices, datatypes, commands etc). Emulated programs also run very quickly, because whole Amiga isn't emulated. Programs mostly use PPC native compatible components when they run.

Because only CPU is emulated, 68k programs must be coded system friendly way. If they try to hit original Amiga hardware directly they don't work and must be run on UAE then. Games, demos and maybe some older audio applications are the most problematic to run directly without UAE, but some newer of them which are AHI and RTG compatible do work though.
jPV is offline  
Old 02 December 2014, 15:01   #12
amiga_fan
Users Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: retro-land
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by ancalimon View Post
OS4.1 is running great on my A4000T (604e@400MHz) It's just that CVisionPPC (8mb) struggles a lot and 128mb ram is not really enough.

Amithlon is like using a very fast Draco. No Amiga custom chips.
O$4 does NOT use custom chips either; so both Amithlon and O$4 are on the same boat.


@Stu232:

I'd recommend you to try Icaros Desktop 2 (see here for more details: http://www.icarosdesktop.org );
you can run 68k Amiga programs (under emulation) in "coherency mode", that is to say, seamlessly integrated in the Aros host!

(In case you don't know, Aros is an open-source implementation of Amiga OS that runs on commodity hardware (read: PCs);
Icaros Desktop is an Aros distro).

Last edited by amiga_fan; 02 December 2014 at 15:19.
amiga_fan is offline  
Old 02 December 2014, 15:30   #13
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 908
OS4 does use the custom chips when running on Classic hardware (you get video and audio without a separate graphics or sound card). But only through libraries, not in a way that would allow games to run without emulation.
ajk is offline  
Old 02 December 2014, 15:59   #14
jPV
Registered User
jPV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: RNO
Posts: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by amiga_fan View Post
I'd recommend you to try Icaros Desktop 2 (see here for more details: http://www.icarosdesktop.org );
you can run 68k Amiga programs (under emulation) in "coherency mode", that is to say, seamlessly integrated in the Aros host!
What do you mean with seamlessly? Do the 68k programs share same filesystem (you can access for example USB sticks from them), can you use their AREXX ports from main OS? Is the clipboard shared? Do they look the same with window borders&gadgets to native programs?


Quote:
(In case you don't know, Aros is an open-source implementation of Amiga OS that runs on commodity hardware (read: PCs);
Icaros Desktop is an Aros distro).
But you have to remember that you can't run existing Amiga binaries directly under it, they need to be recompiled or run within an UAE box. MorphOS and OS4 let you do that, and they also run classic PPC software too. MorphOS is the only OS which also runs both PUP and WOS software.
jPV is offline  
Old 02 December 2014, 21:21   #15
tero
Registered User

tero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: M'Gladbach
Age: 40
Posts: 449
@jPV
Have a look at the second screenshot, Aweb and AmigaAmp are 68k.
http://www.icarosdesktop.org/
tero is offline  
Old 03 December 2014, 22:47   #16
stu232
Utterly Lost....

 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 167
I'll install IcarOS, looks neat.
stu232 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Blizzard PPC 060@66MHz/PPC@330MHz with SCSI + 128MB RAM stachu100 MarketPlace 3 23 November 2011 11:42
FS: Blizzard PPC 060@66MHz/PPC@330MHz with SCSI + 128MB RAM stachu100 MarketPlace 3 27 May 2011 18:14
FS: Blizzard PPC 060@66MHz/PPC@330MHz + 128MB RAM (no SCSI) stachu100 MarketPlace 0 07 April 2011 07:45
Sale: Phase 5 Blizzard PPC 603e+ 68040/25 PPC 240 Mhz wizard66 MarketPlace 6 09 February 2007 17:34
SALE: Amiga Blizzard PPC card PPC@160 , 68040 @25 MHz morka MarketPlace 3 12 October 2006 00:28

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.19031 seconds with 11 queries