English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 November 2014, 14:42   #1
hipoonios
Amiga Hardcore Gamer

hipoonios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sweden
Age: 39
Posts: 1,106
SuperTed - New game for the Amiga released (2014/11/22)



My first Amiga game is now finished. This is the result of three weeks of hard work

You don't have to tell me it sucks, because i know that already

First i planned to do a much better game than this, but discovered pretty quickly that Backbone could not do what i wanted to do. So lost interest and put this little game together instead. The biggest problem is that it runs so damn slow. So if you are going to try it on the real thing. Then be sure you have a fast Amiga and some MB of RAM. Do not use Cycle-exact if you run it in ***UAE.

My next game will probably be better and not made with Backbone.

I've set up a simple page where you can download it and read more...

http://www.hipooniosamigasite.org/superted/

Last edited by hipoonios; 22 November 2014 at 15:21.
hipoonios is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 22 November 2014, 18:49   #2
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by hipoonios View Post


My first Amiga game is now finished. This is the result of three weeks of hard work

You don't have to tell me it sucks, because i know that already

First i planned to do a much better game than this, but discovered pretty quickly that Backbone could not do what i wanted to do. So lost interest and put this little game together instead. The biggest problem is that it runs so damn slow. So if you are going to try it on the real thing. Then be sure you have a fast Amiga and some MB of RAM. Do not use Cycle-exact if you run it in ***UAE.

My next game will probably be better and not made with Backbone.

I've set up a simple page where you can download it and read more...

http://www.hipooniosamigasite.org/superted/
Now that brings back childhood memories. Rushing home to watch superted, . Will check it out once I get home.

Its cool how some welsh programmes are quite famous around the world.
I though it was only Voltron, but here we have SuperTed and who can forget Fireman Sam, lol.

Hope your next game is BananaMan, with full cartoon intro, .
Oh, what about dogtaninan, .

Last edited by FOL; 22 November 2014 at 18:56.
FOL is offline  
Old 22 November 2014, 19:17   #3
nobody
Registered User

nobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: GR
Age: 40
Posts: 980
Playable on A1200
nobody is offline  
Old 22 November 2014, 20:45   #4
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 42
Posts: 1,024
hi hipoonios i hope its ok i have posted this on amibay too to spread the word
johnim is offline  
Old 22 November 2014, 21:07   #5
Superman
Registered User

Superman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Wakefield
Age: 42
Posts: 638
Its ZoolperTed

Nice game btw
Superman is offline  
Old 22 November 2014, 21:10   #6
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,816
Per-Ola Eriksson recorded another video [ Show youtube player ]
s2325 is offline  
Old 22 November 2014, 21:11   #7
Foul
Registered User

Foul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Perigueux/France
Age: 43
Posts: 1,264
Send a message via ICQ to Foul Send a message via MSN to Foul Send a message via Skype™ to Foul
Again a new game ! cool !

Thank you
Foul is offline  
Old 22 November 2014, 21:45   #8
Lonewolf10
AMOS Extensions Developer
Lonewolf10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: near Cambridge, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by hipoonios View Post
You don't have to tell me it sucks, because i know that already
Don't worry, for the majority of us our first games do suck (even though we are proud of them at the time, until a few weeks later when we realise how crap they really are!)

Learn from your mistakes (coding, software used etc.) and you're next game will be better


Quote:
Originally Posted by hipoonios View Post
My next game will probably be better and not made with Backbone.
Backbone was made with AMOS Basic, so yes it will be slow. I use AMOS occasionally and currently don't have Backbone - any chance of sticking it in The Zone for me?

Edit:

I see from your website that it is on Aminet. Will download it from there

End Edit



Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
Hope your next game is BananaMan, with full cartoon intro, .
Oh, what about dogtaninan, .
Avoiding obvious 1980's cartoons (He-Man, She-Ra, Thundercats...) his next game has to be:

Dungeons and Dragons, or...
Ulysses 31
Lonewolf10 is offline  
Old 22 November 2014, 22:00   #9
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lonewolf10 View Post
Dungeons and Dragons, or...
Ulysses 31
Oh yes please, you just reminded me. I have to finish watching the boxset of Ulysses 31, .
FOL is offline  
Old 22 November 2014, 22:00   #10
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lonewolf10 View Post
Don't worry, for the majority of us our first games do suck (even though we are proud of them at the time, until a few weeks later when we realise how crap they really are!)
ha, let's just say Mr Beanbag was not my first game. that was just when i got into my stride.

Quote:
Dungeons and Dragons, or...
Ulysses 31
a Ulysses 31 game would be amazing!

kind of worried about all the copyright violation mind you.
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 22 November 2014, 22:00   #11
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 42
Posts: 1,024
or even a sport billy 1
johnim is offline  
Old 22 November 2014, 22:22   #12
Joe Maroni
Moderator

Joe Maroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Germany
Age: 38
Posts: 1,278
Send a message via MSN to Joe Maroni
Mrs Beanbag:

When will your game be finished ???

Joe Maroni is offline  
Old 22 November 2014, 22:32   #13
hipoonios
Amiga Hardcore Gamer

hipoonios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sweden
Age: 39
Posts: 1,106
Ironclaw just longplayed this game. He said in his description he sort of regret using the settings he used. He wanted the game to run faster, but it got a bit unstable instead, same with the cracktro.

[ Show youtube player ]
hipoonios is offline  
Old 22 November 2014, 22:39   #14
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Maroni View Post
Mrs Beanbag:

When will your game be finished ???

hmm i don't know, maybe by 2030? but don't hold me to that
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 22 November 2014, 22:42   #15
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnim View Post
or even a sport billy 1
Curse you, just looked it up and end up watching 30 mins of cartoon intros, lol.
Even the wife joined me.
FOL is offline  
Old 22 November 2014, 23:46   #16
Lonewolf10
AMOS Extensions Developer
Lonewolf10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: near Cambridge, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,917
Level 1 end boss:

- you can 'beat' the first boss by dodging around him to hit the switch (at the cost of 1 life)
- you can beat the boss normally (just!) by shooting him 13 times with the watermelon (you'll have to be far left of screen to survive).

Level 2 is glitchy regardless of which method I use to beat level 1 boss.
Level 2 appears for about 0.5 second then all black screen. Pressing Escape does nothing, pressing movement keys and/or fire button does nothing ;(


I'm using the ADF and WinUAE, with 68040 CPU (though CPU doesn't give any real boost to the game, but disabling 'cycle exact' speeds it up a little - as you stated previously).

Is anyone else having issues?

Last edited by Lonewolf10; 22 November 2014 at 23:55. Reason: counted lvl 1 boss hits
Lonewolf10 is offline  
Old 23 November 2014, 00:36   #17
hipoonios
Amiga Hardcore Gamer

hipoonios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sweden
Age: 39
Posts: 1,106
Thanks for playing!

There is tons of bugs in this game. But don't think this is a bug. It's a memory problem.

I tried it with 040 and no Cycle exact. Same happens for me everytime if i only have 2 MB chip RAM and no fast RAM. So try add some fast RAM! Fast RAM also speeds up the game a bit.

I found out that the game interrupts and quits to Workbench when the screen goes black. But you don't see it because of the system-configuration file in devs folder. Anyway, there is a message saying "out of memory".
hipoonios is offline  
Old 23 November 2014, 00:42   #18
clenched
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Gainesville U.S.A.
Posts: 587
The intro and game over parts look fine to me. The sluggish scrolling hurts it though. However that little setback didn't prevent me from enjoying making a map.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SupTedMap.png
Views:	231
Size:	83.1 KB
ID:	42293  
clenched is offline  
Old 23 November 2014, 03:41   #19
Lonewolf10
AMOS Extensions Developer
Lonewolf10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: near Cambridge, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by hipoonios View Post
I tried it with 040 and no Cycle exact. Same happens for me everytime if i only have 2 MB chip RAM and no fast RAM. So try add some fast RAM! Fast RAM also speeds up the game a bit.
My default WinUAE config has 8MB chip RAM and 0 fast RAM. I will try changing it so I have 4MB of each and see what happens.


Quote:
Originally Posted by hipoonios View Post
I found out that the game interrupts and quits to Workbench when the screen goes black. But you don't see it because of the system-configuration file in devs folder. Anyway, there is a message saying "out of memory".
Hmpf, ok. I might see if I can rework the ADF so that it displays a simple reminder before loading your little intro bit. I always include important info (memory requirements etc.) in simple workbench/dos windows that can be read before trying to run the game - maybe you did include such info on the disk, but I haven't checked out the other stuff on there yet.
Lonewolf10 is offline  
Old 23 November 2014, 10:48   #20
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 42
Posts: 1,024
@fol I watched the first episode of Ulysses 31 will watch some more later
johnim is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga4096 - New Amiga Game 2014! Coagulus Amiga scene 26 19 December 2014 09:38
It's a Knockout! 2014/15: Game Vote Graham Humphrey EAB's competition 15 30 November 2014 03:27
EAB/Lemon Super League 2014: Round 6 Game Vote Graham Humphrey EAB's competition 14 28 April 2014 23:58
Amiga game title never released? koseidon72 project.aGTW 11 20 September 2007 18:52
New Amiga Game Released Graham Humphrey Amiga scene 8 29 May 2006 16:23

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.28262 seconds with 12 queries