English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 November 2014, 17:47   #1
Stuart
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Alton, Hampshire/UK
Posts: 33
AmigaGuide.library not opening correctly.

Hi, please can you help. I have a registered version of WHDload on my A600 and I am having lots of fun playing the games that are downloaded from the WHdownload web site. My problem is when I get a Readme file that I want to open it says cannot open AmigaGuide.library. I have now got AmigaGuide from the Internet but I am unsure where to place all the files etc to get these Readme files to successfully open up in my Workbench.

Thank you for your time.
Stuart is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 16 November 2014, 22:46   #2
B14ck W01f
m68k all the way
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Koalaland
Posts: 473
In the libs directory
B14ck W01f is offline  
Old 17 November 2014, 03:11   #3
ma693541
Computer Wizard

ma693541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ramberg/Norway
Posts: 575
Not all files should go in the LIBS directory, only the AmigaGuide.library should be placed there. Place the AmigaGuide file itself in the C directory and that's it, or better use the install file that followed in the AmigaGuide package.
ma693541 is offline  
Old 17 November 2014, 19:13   #4
Stuart
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Alton, Hampshire/UK
Posts: 33
Thanks for the information. I still seem to be having a few problems. I have placed the AmigaGuide.library into LIBS directory and AmigaGuide tool into C directory. When I click on a readme file I get the following message. Mutlitiview info Cannot open AmigaGuide.library using default instead. This however does not seem to open up either. The default tool is Multiview and I am not really sure if this is set up either. Sorry, bit of a novice with the Amiga but keen to learn. Thank you for your time again.
Stuart is offline  
Old 17 November 2014, 19:55   #5
ma693541
Computer Wizard

ma693541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ramberg/Norway
Posts: 575
Place also the Multiview program in the C directory. One hint for you, install SnoopDOS on your harddrive, can be found on Aminet, use it's installer to install it, and be sure to read it's docs. That program will warn you about missing pieces to get other to work properly.
ma693541 is offline  
Old 18 November 2014, 19:08   #6
Stuart
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Alton, Hampshire/UK
Posts: 33
Thank you. I have just downloaded, unpacked and run SnoopDOS in my WINUAE setup. Looks like its just what I've been looking for. I will have a good read of the documents first.
Stuart is offline  
Old 18 November 2014, 19:27   #7
ma693541
Computer Wizard

ma693541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ramberg/Norway
Posts: 575
Glad to help you out. I haven't used none of my Amiga's for over 10 year's, so i am a bit rusty when it comes to the real thing.
ma693541 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
amigaguide.library virus Leandro Jardim support.WinUAE 5 28 April 2014 05:23
HELP: Opus5, KingCON, SysInfo.library (Sysmon.library) triangle Michael support.Apps 6 10 March 2014 14:08
Amigaguide to PDF Josh request.Apps 28 18 August 2011 18:51
looking for Amigaguide.library v44.5 patch voxel request.Apps 5 03 October 2006 20:44
AmigaGuide Iron Butterfly request.Apps 7 17 July 2003 09:23

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.11963 seconds with 11 queries