English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 November 2014, 23:03   #1
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Amiga 2000 configs

I'm making some Amiga 2000 configs and I was wondering how to set the memory for 512 chip + 512 fast. These are for non expanded, stock, off the shelf A2000's

The 512 chip is obvious but I'm not sure about the 512 fast. Should it be:

Z2 Fast

Motherboard Fast EDIT: doesn't work

Slow

Some info says the 512 fast was soldered to the Motherboard and some say it was in the processor slot.

As I never owned one of these Amigas I wonder if anyone can shed some light on this.

The models I'm making the configs for are for the rev 4.0, 4.1-4.4 & 4.5 motherboards

Last edited by Arnie; 13 November 2014 at 23:32.
Arnie is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 14 November 2014, 02:41   #2
B14ck W01f
m68k all the way
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Koalaland
Posts: 473
While we are talking about memory, I have a question. In previous versions of WinUAE, under RAM section, there are settings for Chip and Fast. However, in recent versions, Fast has been replaced with Z2 Fast, with strange values for 64KB, 128KB, 256KB, 512KB. So I'm guessing that Fast isn't the same as Z2 Fast?
B14ck W01f is offline  
Old 14 November 2014, 02:45   #3
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 34
Posts: 2,235
An A2000 with 512k chip has 512k "fake fast" or "slow" ram. This was changed to 1MB chip on the superior revision 6 boards.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 14 November 2014, 08:55   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,565
First A2000 model (based on A1000 design) has real fast 512k RAM located at "slow" RAM address space. (Original DIP Agnus supported 512k of chip RAM only, "slow RAM" didn't exist in A1000 era)

WinUAE option is in Advanced chipset ("C00000 is Fast RAM"). Original A2000 also has real time clock in different address (also in Advanced chipset)

Fast RAM has always meant Zorro II Fast RAM. (Name was changed because now there are too many other types of fast RAM). Z2 does support tiny expansion sizes (min size is 64k in autoconfig specs) = It must be configurable. Expansion.library supports them.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 14 November 2014, 13:32   #5
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 34
Posts: 2,235
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
First A2000 model (based on A1000 design) has real fast 512k RAM located at "slow" RAM address space. (Original DIP Agnus supported 512k of chip RAM only, "slow RAM" didn't exist in A1000 era)
I stand corrected, sorry for the misinformation.

How much slower is the slow ram? And what do you believe was the reason for using it on the 500?
Hewitson is offline  
Old 14 November 2014, 14:20   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
How much slower is the slow ram? And what do you believe was the reason for using it on the 500?
It has same speed as chip ram = the more Agnus DMA channels are in use, the slower it is from CPU point of view = it depends

Most likely reason was cost: Fat Agnus can do all chip and "slow" memory controller tasks with minimal extra components.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 14 November 2014, 14:25   #7
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
First A2000 model (based on A1000 design) has real fast 512k RAM located at "slow" RAM address space. (Original DIP Agnus supported 512k of chip RAM only, "slow RAM" didn't exist in A1000 era)

WinUAE option is in Advanced chipset ("C00000 is Fast RAM"). Original A2000 also has real time clock in different address (also in Advanced chipset)

Fast RAM has always meant Zorro II Fast RAM. (Name was changed because now there are too many other types of fast RAM). Z2 does support tiny expansion sizes (min size is 64k in autoconfig specs) = It must be configurable. Expansion.library supports them.
Thanks Toni

In advanced chipset there is also a setting for A1000 Agnus. Would that be the one for the early A2000's (Rev 4)?

If the A1000 Agnus isn't correct for the early A2000's, there is a setting for Agnus/Alice revision, what would I put in that box?

EDIT: This is the info I'm working from:

Model A = 8367 (Rev 4.0) (512mb)
Model B = 8371 (Rev 4.1 - 4.5) (512mb)
8372A (Rev 6.0 - 6.3) (1mb)
8375 (318069-16) (from Rev 6.4) (1mb)

Last edited by Arnie; 14 November 2014 at 14:39.
Arnie is offline  
Old 14 November 2014, 14:47   #8
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
In advanced chipset there is also a setting for A1000 Agnus. Would that be the one for the early A2000's (Rev 4)?
8367 is same as used in A1000. (Which has two known bugs that are fixed in "Fat" versions)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 15 November 2014, 04:41   #9
B14ck W01f
m68k all the way
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Koalaland
Posts: 473
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Fast RAM has always meant Zorro II Fast RAM. (Name was changed because now there are too many other types of fast RAM). Z2 does support tiny expansion sizes (min size is 64k in autoconfig specs) = It must be configurable. Expansion.library supports them.
Thanks for the clarification.
B14ck W01f is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with winUAE Configs - GameBase Amiga Critic support.WinUAE 0 13 November 2013 07:17
amiga game configs ransom1122 support.WinUAE 15 02 July 2012 03:22
Amiga Forever 2011 - where are the WinUAE configs? Foebane support.WinUAE 0 12 September 2011 22:36
4000+ amiga configs & game info mike4466 support.Other 25 20 June 2010 19:44
Standard Amiga Models / Configs Feltzkrone Retrogaming General Discussion 8 10 January 2003 09:34

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.24606 seconds with 11 queries