English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 November 2014, 09:45   #1
croupier
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Koper, Slovenia
Posts: 47
Extra parallel port on A500/1000/2000

Anyone with a solution how to add an extra parallel port to an A500/1000/2000?

I was looking around and this is on Aminet....but I don't need all these ports...just 1 extra parallel...

http://aminet.net/package/docs/hard/IOBoard

Anyone with a nice solution for this?

Thanks!
croupier is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 12 November 2014, 10:03   #2
Oli_HD
Collector

Oli_HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: No longer active
Posts: 157
The easiest way is a clock port adapter that fits under the 68000, then you can get a single parallel port card (IOBlix did one)

There are also lots of A2000 options, The best imho is the Z2 IOBlix which has 2 parallel and four serial ports. There are others less ports though.

As for specific cards for the A500 & A1000 side expansion slots, no Im not aware of one.

Just out of interest, why do you need an extra parallel ports?
Oli_HD is offline  
Old 12 November 2014, 10:39   #3
pandy71
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: PL
Posts: 1,546
Parallel for what? Perhaps current one can be easily expanded or serial to parallel converter can be used? Perhaps even joystick port can be OK - please be more specific.
pandy71 is offline  
Old 12 November 2014, 15:08   #4
croupier
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Koper, Slovenia
Posts: 47
I'm playing with my A500 mod....managed to fit the MB in an old PC minitower....

At the same time I've also built a PlipBox Ethernet adapter based on ArduinoMini (as per lallafa's blog)...and as I have a tower now, with planty of space for extra connectors on the back.....I could use an extra parallel port to be used for the ethernet...))...and actually have on the back just the Ethernet socket...with the adaptor hiden inside the tower...one parallel still free for printers, etc...

Possibly using an internal mod....expansion slot is already used for HD/RAM....
croupier is offline  
Old 12 November 2014, 16:57   #5
Oli_HD
Collector

Oli_HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: No longer active
Posts: 157
Ahhh cool. Okay well as its towered Ill throw another option in, the ACA A500 CPU upgrade. Lets you use A1200 cpu cards (all the way up to 060/PPC) and gives you a clock port for a parallel port adapter.
Oli_HD is offline  
Old 12 November 2014, 17:06   #6
croupier
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Koper, Slovenia
Posts: 47
...this would be way out of the planned budget....
croupier is offline  
Old 12 November 2014, 20:04   #7
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
Is the Plipbox considerably faster than using the Amiga Serial port directly?

http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php...d-Raspberry-Pi

Last edited by alexh; 12 November 2014 at 20:13.
alexh is online now  
Old 12 November 2014, 21:33   #8
pandy71
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: PL
Posts: 1,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by croupier View Post
I could use an extra parallel port to be used for the ethernet...))...and actually have on the back just the Ethernet socket...with the adaptor hiden inside the tower...one parallel still free for printers, etc...
Software already exist? Perhaps expanding original parallel port will be sufficient (with relatively simple circuitry based around 244 and 574 - perhaps some Arduino intelligence to do this in transparent way?)


http://retired.beyondlogic.org/spp/parallel.htm

As a benefit you can buffer and protect CIA reducing damage risk.
pandy71 is offline  
Old 13 November 2014, 05:17   #9
K.C.Lee
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Ottawa/Canada
Posts: 49
May be you can hack in an extra 8250 and using extra address bits for decoding the _CS line? Even a damaged 8250 is fine as long as you got enough bits for the Ethernet port.
Just need to recompile the network driver to use new address.

There is also the path of printing to a network printer. Most of the open router firmware has support for that (assuming that router and print has USB).

Last edited by K.C.Lee; 13 November 2014 at 05:22.
K.C.Lee is offline  
Old 13 November 2014, 07:18   #10
McTrinsic
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 302
I agree, this should be the most convenient solition.

Get an A500 Clockport-Adapter from Individual Computers and a Clockport-Hypercom and you're set.

Cheers,
McT


Quote:
Originally Posted by Oli_HD View Post
The easiest way is a clock port adapter that fits under the 68000, then you can get a single parallel port card (IOBlix did one)

There are also lots of A2000 options, The best imho is the Z2 IOBlix which has 2 parallel and four serial ports. There are others less ports though.

As for specific cards for the A500 & A1000 side expansion slots, no Im not aware of one.

Just out of interest, why do you need an extra parallel ports?
McTrinsic is offline  
Old 13 November 2014, 10:19   #11
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
Quote:
Originally Posted by McTrinsic View Post
Get an A500 Clockport-Adapter from Individual Computers and a Clockport-Hypercom and you're set.
I looked at this solution yesterday and unfortunately icomp.de don't make or sell either of them any more.
alexh is online now  
Old 13 November 2014, 10:27   #12
McTrinsic
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 302
The clockport-Adapters are easily found here and/or on similar trading Sites.

The hypercom could be available from some international dealers, e.g. amigakit or others.

Cheers,
McT
McTrinsic is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
was there ever a PowerPC accelerator for A500 1000 2000? boing_1000 request.Other 6 04 April 2014 08:12
Serial port, parallel port, and pipe device mount errors Samurai_Crow support.FS-UAE 4 13 March 2014 01:04
Amiga 1000 parallel port desiv support.Hardware 2 24 November 2010 06:17
Internal IDE for A500(and possibly 1000/2000) coze Hardware mods 50 18 August 2010 11:20
In absence of parallel port ? Another World project.SPS (was CAPS) 7 19 September 2008 18:42

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.28037 seconds with 11 queries