English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 November 2014, 05:24   #1
twinbee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 37
Copying over Amiga files with dodgy filenames to PC

I have an old CD with Amiga files on that I want to copy to my Windows 7 PC.

When Windows finds a file with a problematic filename, it only allows you to skip that file - it won't automatically copy the file and remove the forbidden characters (such as '?' or '|') in it at the same time.

I want those 'forbidden' files. How do I get Windows to automatically rename them as it copies and continue with the rest?

Will I need to WinUAE for this I wonder or is there a simpler solution...?

I've tried the following file manager programs, all without success. I even tried to dip into the options for each program to hopefully use its own custom copy method:

- FreeCommander XE (has its own copy routine, but still fails)
- XYplorer (has its own copy routine, but still fails)
- Double Commander
- Directory Opus 11 64-bit. (Pro edition)
- xplorer²
- Q-Dir
- Unreal Commander
- NexusFile
- Total Commander
twinbee is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 09 November 2014, 07:03   #2
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,546
Try to make image file and mount it as virtual CD.
s2325 is online now  
Old 09 November 2014, 07:04   #3
watsonfmly
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 59
Make an old fashioned bat file.
watsonfmly is offline  
Old 09 November 2014, 07:44   #4
Michael Sykes
WinUAE end user

Michael Sykes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Bremen
Age: 38
Posts: 623
Mount the image in WinUAE and copy the files from within emulation.
Michael Sykes is offline  
Old 09 November 2014, 12:38   #5
twinbee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 37
Thanks all.

Any easier way than through WinUAE emulation, and renaming all the files manually?

A bat file won't work, since Windows can't even read files that have filenames with weird characters.
twinbee is offline  
Old 09 November 2014, 12:55   #6
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 36
Posts: 1,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by twinbee View Post
Thanks all.

Any easier way than through WinUAE emulation, and renaming all the files manually?

A bat file won't work, since Windows can't even read files that have filenames with weird characters.
The only way to copy such files to aPC filesystem was to mount the cd using WinUAE and rename them after copying to Amiga filesystem formatted media. That was what I did.
ancalimon is offline  
Old 09 November 2014, 13:40   #7
Vot
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 646
See if iso buster on windows can extract it. (You may need the registered version however)
Vot is offline  
Old 10 November 2014, 03:31   #8
twinbee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 37
Quote:
The only way to copy such files to aPC filesystem was to mount the cd using WinUAE
Mount the CD inside Workbench I presume?

What's the best/easiest Amiga rename utility to remove the special characters?
twinbee is offline  
Old 12 November 2014, 09:39   #9
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 36
Posts: 3,368
@twinbee You don't need to manually rename files. With FS-UAE, You can copy the files from the CD to a directory hard drive (mounted host directory) within Workbench. Files with illegal names on your host OS will automatically be renamed by FS-UAE during the copy process. I believe WinUAE will also rename the files (using a slightly different method).
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 12 November 2014, 11:51   #10
Michael Sykes
WinUAE end user

Michael Sykes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Bremen
Age: 38
Posts: 623
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim View Post
@twinbee You don't need to manually rename files. With FS-UAE, You can copy the files from the CD to a directory hard drive (mounted host directory) within Workbench. Files with illegal names on your host OS will automatically be renamed by FS-UAE during the copy process. I believe WinUAE will also rename the files (using a slightly different method).
It's called UAEFSDB. And yes it should work from within WinUAE even with a normal mounted windows CD drive and a win dirctory as HDD.

edit: I hope twinbee did NOT tick that box...

Last edited by Michael Sykes; 12 November 2014 at 11:52. Reason: edit: I hope twinbee did NOT tick that box...
Michael Sykes is offline  
Old 12 November 2014, 12:14   #11
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,561
UAEFSDB has nothing to do with name mangling needed to support characters that are illegal on host system. UAEFSDB is (now mostly obsolete) method to store the original name.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 12 November 2014, 12:34   #12
Michael Sykes
WinUAE end user

Michael Sykes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Bremen
Age: 38
Posts: 623
Ahh I see.
Mabe my memory was playing tricks on me. I didn't experience the problem in years.

But reading this after I solved my prblem by mounting an image of the CD and read it with an Amiga filesystem made me think it could have done the trick.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
UAEFSDB contains list of file/directory information:

- protection flag combinations that native filesystem can't support.
- filenote (comment)
- original and "mangled" filename (Amiga support characters in file names that are illegal in most other platforms)
Michael Sykes is offline  
Old 12 November 2014, 16:17   #13
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Sykes View Post
Ahh I see.
Mabe my memory was playing tricks on me. I didn't experience the problem in years.

But reading this after I solved my prblem by mounting an image of the CD and read it with an Amiga filesystem made me think it could have done the trick.
It is possible old version refused to open "illegal" filename if it needed "mangling" and uaefsdb was disabled.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 13 November 2014, 08:39   #14
twinbee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 37
Okay, through WinUAE, it successfully translates a filename such as "CAS_BH-#_N?"..... to ......: "__uae___CAS_BH-#_N_". As I think Toni implied, ticking the "UAEFSDB-support" box didn't make any difference to the transfer. Thanks all. Anything else I should be aware of before I start to copy over everything?

Quick suggestion for Toni: Can you make WinUAE load the last configuration used when WinUAE first starts up?
twinbee is offline  
Old 13 November 2014, 11:10   #15
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,510
# ? | [ ] ( ) ~ are illegal characters in AmigaDOS file names, too. Some Amiga programs might have difficulties to open such files. For example the Shell commands Copy, Rename and Delete.

Last edited by thomas; 13 November 2014 at 11:15.
thomas is offline  
Old 13 November 2014, 12:22   #16
twinbee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 37
It's silly that WorkBench or Windows restricts filenames at all considering one could use quote marks to surround them, like CSV does.
twinbee is offline  
Old 13 November 2014, 14:27   #17
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,510
It has nothing to do with delimiters but with wildcards.

Code:
copy sys:~(disk).info ram:
This command will copy all icon files from your boot drive to the ram disk, except disk.info. Now, if you create a file called ~(disk).info on your boot drive and try to copy solely it to the ram disk, the command will look rather complicated because you have to escape each of the characters so that they are not interpreted as wildcards:

Code:
copy "sys:'~'(disk').info" ram:
I find it rather user-friendly to restrict file names (like Windows does it) rather than to allow wildcards in file names and cause difficulties in using these names later on.

I think there even was a bug in Workbench which caused it to run amok when you try to delete for example a file called #?. (Running amok in this case means deleting all files and drawers. Rather dangerous, don't you think so?)
thomas is offline  
Old 13 November 2014, 16:26   #18
twinbee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 37
Fair point Thomas - interesting!
twinbee is offline  
Old 14 November 2014, 04:04   #19
twinbee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 37
Without using WinUAE, there's another way too (someone's just won the 'bounty' I offered):

http://superuser.com/questions/83610.../839645#839645
twinbee is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Copying files from CD are corrupt videofx support.Apps 3 17 January 2014 09:23
Freezing when copying files over network Firestone support.Other 1 10 July 2013 08:06
Copying files commodoresales New to Emulation or Amiga scene 5 24 March 2012 21:57
v26 CF problem: copying files causes a crash emuola project.ClassicWB 6 11 May 2011 20:28
Copying Amiga HD files off PC harddrive onto Amiga HD DanE New to Emulation or Amiga scene 9 26 July 2005 17:51

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20406 seconds with 11 queries