English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 November 2014, 00:38   #1
Snake79
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Poland
Posts: 168
RunInUAE/Petunia in AmigaOS4.x

Hello. I have a question: what version of (Win)UAE correspond of RunInUAE in AmigaOS4(.1)? Does RunInUAE (or Petunia) in AOS4 support AGA (games / demos) or OCS/ECS only? Thanks.

Last edited by Snake79; 07 November 2014 at 12:09.
Snake79 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 07 November 2014, 00:56   #2
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,525
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snake79 View Post
Hello. I have a question: what version of (Win)UAE correspond of RunInUAE in AmigaOS4(.1)? Does RunInUAE (or Petunia) in AOS4 support AGA (games) or OCS/ECS only? Thanks.
RunInUAE uses WIP4 of E-UAE.
Yes it can run AGA as well as OCS/ECS.

Petunia, will only run stuff that doesn't bang the hardware.
FOL is offline  
Old 07 November 2014, 12:15   #3
Snake79
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Poland
Posts: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
RunInUAE uses WIP4 of E-UAE.
Yes it can run AGA as well as OCS/ECS.

Petunia, will only run stuff that doesn't bang the hardware.
Great then Thanks for info! I wonder how they will run on WinUAE (on emulation in emulation ) in terms of compatibility.

Last edited by Snake79; 07 November 2014 at 12:29.
Snake79 is offline  
Old 07 November 2014, 13:27   #4
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,525
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snake79 View Post
Great then Thanks for info! I wonder how they will run on WinUAE (on emulation in emulation ) in terms of compatibility.
Dont even bother, PPC emulation in WinUAE already pushes alot of systems to the limit.
You then want to Emulate on top of emutlation. It will suck, I have tried it, just to see what happens. This was on my Quad core PC, which runs OS4.1 classic very fast. My Dual core Laptop, just about runs it half decent. I wouldn't even atempt to run it on that.
FOL is offline  
Old 07 November 2014, 16:18   #5
Snake79
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Poland
Posts: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
Dont even bother, PPC emulation in WinUAE already pushes alot of systems to the limit.
You then want to Emulate on top of emutlation. It will suck, I have tried it, just to see what happens. This was on my Quad core PC, which runs OS4.1 classic very fast. My Dual core Laptop, just about runs it half decent. I wouldn't even atempt to run it on that.
So i understand that quad core I5 4670k @4GHz will not be sufficient for classic games and demos, but will be enough for AmigaOS4 environment itself. For me more important is compatibility and ability to run application (game/demo) than speed. Maybe this will change in the future, who knows? We have Toni and his community PS. I think 30euro/about40usd for AOS4.1 is "must have it" price Thanks!
Snake79 is offline  
Old 07 November 2014, 17:39   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,522
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
Dont even bother, PPC emulation in WinUAE already pushes alot of systems to the limit.
You then want to Emulate on top of emutlation. It will suck, I have tried it, just to see what happens. This was on my Quad core PC, which runs OS4.1 classic very fast. My Dual core Laptop, just about runs it half decent. I wouldn't even atempt to run it on that.
Why not? Emulator should JIT very nicely because it mainly just moves data around and does nothing complex, very JITtable. Also PC specs without including CPU generation is mostly useless. (Plain megahertz value would be even more useless today)

Other parts of emulation may be too slow but without scientific tests "don't do it" won't be acceptable in support.WinUAE forum
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 07 November 2014, 18:56   #7
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,525
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Why not? Emulator should JIT very nicely because it mainly just moves data around and does nothing complex, very JITtable. Also PC specs without including CPU generation is mostly useless. (Plain megahertz value would be even more useless today)

Other parts of emulation may be too slow but without scientific tests "don't do it" won't be acceptable in support.WinUAE forum
I just remember trying it, just to see and its slow.
My question is why do it anyway, thats what WinUAE is for, .
FOL is offline  
Old 07 November 2014, 19:20   #8
Snake79
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Poland
Posts: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
I just remember trying it, just to see and its slow.
My question is why do it anyway, thats what WinUAE is for, .
Of course we have WinUAE for that, and the answer is "because we can" Greetings.
Snake79 is offline  
Old 08 November 2014, 13:46   #9
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,522
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
I just remember trying it, just to see and its slow.
This is better. Much better than "it is too slow, do not even attempt"

Someone reads your original reply and repeats it in other forums as absolute truth: Final result is that no one really tests it and perhaps even find out whats wrong. (If there is something wrong).

I don't care if it is even about WinUAE, it is just technically bad way to reply to these kinds of questions, especially because emulator running slowly can be caused by dozens of different reasons and only one of them is raw CPU speed.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 08 November 2014, 16:16   #10
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,525
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
This is better. Much better than "it is too slow, do not even attempt"

Someone reads your original reply and repeats it in other forums as absolute truth: Final result is that no one really tests it and perhaps even find out whats wrong. (If there is something wrong).

I don't care if it is even about WinUAE, it is just technically bad way to reply to these kinds of questions, especially because emulator running slowly can be caused by dozens of different reasons and only one of them is raw CPU speed.
Sorry Toni, that was not my intention. I just ment Using WinUAE in non PPC mode would be better. As it doesn't have to worry about emulating a PPC.

I will do some tests later.

EDIT:- Just been doing some playing around. It runs not to bad on my system (AMD Athlon II x4 2.8GHz), Emulated CPU usage is around 130 to 170 and FPS stays around 30 to 40.
Could proberly get it to run better by tweaking the E-UAE configs. Will play with it some more later.
Will also try my tweaked version of E-UAE for OS4.1 I compiled in the past.

Last edited by FOL; 08 November 2014 at 16:52.
FOL is offline  
Old 12 November 2014, 12:49   #11
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,525
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
To follow up,

I tried the latest PPC JIT E-UAE. It seemed to make it worse, which is odd.
I will keep playing with with it.
FOL is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hyperion Announce AmigaOS4.1 Update 1 Now available for download Mikey_C News 6 24 January 2010 15:04
Is it possible to compile Chromium for AmigaOS4? Zener request.Apps 1 20 November 2009 10:38
AmigaOS4 BootDisk the2 request.Apps 2 03 April 2008 03:02
New AmigaOS4 screenshots MikeB Amiga scene 8 24 July 2002 22:56
AmigaOS4 emulation??? th4t1guy Amiga scene 6 21 July 2002 13:55

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.17913 seconds with 11 queries