English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 November 2014, 00:00   #1
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 2,590
Gotek & Amiga 500

Hi.
Simple question.

Can a gotek simply replace a floppy drive without the need of buying extra longer floppy or power cables and in an amiga 500 casing?
If so how?
Do I need to remove the metal casing from the original floppy drive and put the gotek in that?
ransom1122 is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 05 November 2014, 00:35   #2
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 2,590
Anyone know?
ransom1122 is online now  
Old 05 November 2014, 00:43   #3
liviux76
Registered User

liviux76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: BO/Italy
Posts: 711
Hello,
you can use the Gotek in place of the original drive but in order to easily access the buttons of the Gotek you should cut a little the top plastic case. Actually I cut both the top and the bottom case to perfectly fit my Gotek in a A500...
No need of extra longer cables or metal casing from the floppy drive.
liviux76 is offline  
Old 05 November 2014, 01:33   #4
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 2,590
Quote:
Originally Posted by liviux76 View Post
Hello,
you can use the Gotek in place of the original drive but in order to easily access the buttons of the Gotek you should cut a little the top plastic case. Actually I cut both the top and the bottom case to perfectly fit my Gotek in a A500...
No need of extra longer cables or metal casing from the floppy drive.
Did you remove the floppy drive out of its metal casing by removing the two screws on the side and the one screw on the top of the originalfloppy drive?
I see the original floppy drive has that metal Mount for it. Does the gotek sit in that so it's firm inthe a500?

What did you use to cut the a500 panel?
ransom1122 is online now  
Old 05 November 2014, 03:29   #5
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 836
Quote:
Originally Posted by liviux76 View Post
Hello,
No need of metal casing from the floppy drive.

I used a Stanley ( Craft) Knife



Nobby_UK is offline  
Old 05 November 2014, 03:51   #6
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 2,590
Nice Thanks for the pics. How did you Mount the gotek? Did you use the metallic casing croon the original floppy with the gotek?
ransom1122 is online now  
Old 05 November 2014, 04:12   #7
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 836
No
Nobby_UK is offline  
Old 05 November 2014, 04:31   #8
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 2,590
My original floppy drive has the mounting kit with it. When I remove the floppy drive theres not much things you can screw the gotek into beside one small raised plasticpanel. And that ain't strong enough to screw the gotek onto on its own?
ransom1122 is online now  
Old 05 November 2014, 21:46   #9
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 836
You remove the Brass Columns/Stand-Offs and screw them into the Gotek.

Its hard if you don't put one of the Black Screws (that come with the Gotek)
in first --- to make a Guide for the Stand-off.
Nobby_UK is offline  
Old 06 November 2014, 01:09   #10
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 2,590
Right. . I never knew the Brass Colomns come off the original floppy.
The gotek came with 4 black little screws. I assume you use those in the Colomns then thanks. I'll let you know how I go
ransom1122 is online now  
Old 06 November 2014, 07:40   #11
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 2,590
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nobby_UK View Post
You remove the Brass Columns/Stand-Offs and screw them into the Gotek.

Its hard if you don't put one of the Black Screws (that come with the Gotek)
in first --- to make a Guide for the Stand-off.
my gotek has spots for 4 holes underneath it, the black screws that come with the gotek arent long enough to fit through the underside of the amiga into the brass colomns/standofs and then into the gotek?

And it looks like you can only fit 3 screws from the bottom - the front right corner underneath the LED of the gotek doesnt have a hole in the amiga there to screw, so you have to screw it into that flimsy piece of plastic in the amiga?
ransom1122 is online now  
Old 06 November 2014, 10:37   #12
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,235
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nobby_UK View Post

I used a Stanley ( Craft) Knife
Doesn't look too bad surprisingly. I'd have used a file.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 06 November 2014, 13:28   #13
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 2,590
If someone can provide photos of how its mounted on the inside that would be so helpful
ransom1122 is online now  
Old 07 November 2014, 00:21   #14
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 836
A file ?
Whats that ?


Was I typing Chinese for ransom1122 not to understand ?




Nobby_UK is offline  
Old 07 November 2014, 00:55   #15
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 2,590
How many colomns did you use nobby? I've only got two.

That last pic. I'm assuming you don't have a colomn there as there is no hole there under the amiga.

File. FYI http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/File_(tool)
ransom1122 is online now  
Old 07 November 2014, 01:01   #16
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 836
I give up
Nobby_UK is offline  
Old 07 November 2014, 09:08   #17
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 2,590
OK Got it it secured and fitted in, Thanks for your help Nobby
ransom1122 is online now  
Old 07 November 2014, 09:19   #18
amigappc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Croatia
Age: 41
Posts: 98
This will be great, once it is in finished. It seems like Floppy take half way out:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/121478962114
amigappc is offline  
Old 07 November 2014, 10:53   #19
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 2,590
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigappc View Post
This will be great, once it is in finished. It seems like Floppy take half way out:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/121478962114
Yeah I saw that. It doesn't offer anything new. Beside a new led and button layout on the gotek
ransom1122 is online now  
Old 07 November 2014, 22:35   #20
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 836
Bit big for my liking.
Nobby_UK is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gotek Extension Board - Prototype ready and working perfectly, pics & video Mounty Retrogaming General Discussion 5 04 November 2014 12:05
Gotek floppy emulator & Skick iowtheme support.Hardware 20 24 October 2014 11:28
Amiga 500's & Monitor Monkeyz MarketPlace 0 02 August 2013 00:07
WTB: Plastic Dust Cover for Amiga 500 & Amiga 600 S0nic MarketPlace 0 14 February 2013 17:41
For Sale: Amiga 500+, Midi interface, Digital Sound Studio, Original Software & Games Sid MarketPlace 2 07 October 2005 16:01

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.24890 seconds with 11 queries