English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 December 2015, 17:34   #21
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,663
Ooooh I'll have to try this one

Nice work LordNipple and Kevin
DamienD is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 29 December 2015, 02:31   #22
Selur
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Poznan/Poland
Age: 40
Posts: 94
Is there any Amos source code for Rengades?
Selur is offline  
Old 01 January 2016, 22:24   #23
LordNipple
Registered User

LordNipple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Preston England
Posts: 308
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selur View Post
Is there any Amos source code for Rengades?
I think the source is present on the original .adf over at Amigapd.com
Kev warns that his source code is messy

The .rar for the game is on this page. I remember the source being on there

http://www.amigapd.com/interview-wayne-ashworth.html

Last edited by LordNipple; 01 January 2016 at 22:34. Reason: Adding url
LordNipple is offline  
Old 01 January 2016, 23:05   #24
hipoonios
Amiga Hardcore Gamer

hipoonios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sweden
Age: 39
Posts: 1,106
This is a great game

Pity that it is a two player game only and i have no friends to play with
hipoonios is offline  
Old 01 January 2016, 23:35   #25
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,663
Quote:
Originally Posted by hipoonios View Post
This is a great game

Pity that it is a two player game only and i have no friends to play with
I'll probably have the same issue hipoonios
DamienD is offline  
Old 02 January 2016, 00:51   #26
LordNipple
Registered User

LordNipple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Preston England
Posts: 308
Oh man! You have no idea how badly I wanted to create a 1 player game out of this engine, the code is in there for a 1 player display and I may record a video to show this working for Youtube, but I couldn't convince the programmer to work with me on it. I devised a sci-fi RPG structure to go into the engine so people would've been able to play and play and play...but alas it probably won't ever happen. I even started drawing the mini-coms portraits for the various dialogues

http://captainnow.deviantart.com/art...game-571367028

Last edited by LordNipple; 02 January 2016 at 10:54. Reason: Spelling mistakes
LordNipple is offline  
Old 02 January 2016, 01:51   #27
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,671
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
I'll probably have the same issue hipoonios
Same and shame here.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 02 January 2016, 10:23   #28
LordNipple
Registered User

LordNipple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Preston England
Posts: 308
I have uploaded a very short video showing the abandoned 1 player function in Renegades...the code still exists in the Renegades Deluxes engine but can only be activated via the source code. This is why the speed is all over the place, it's running uncompiled in Amos Pro via emulation while recording software is running.

[ Show youtube player ]
LordNipple is offline  
Old 02 January 2016, 11:51   #29
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,671
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Maybe some coder could offer to finish it and the author share the source with him.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 02 January 2016, 13:54   #30
LordNipple
Registered User

LordNipple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Preston England
Posts: 308
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
Maybe some coder could offer to finish it and the author share the source with him.
I could try to get in touch with Kev about it I could and ask him but I wouldn't hold your breath
This is a project very dear to me and I would've given anything to work with Kev on it further to develop it into a single player sci-fi RPG. I never got a chance to explain to Kev how we'd do this in the current engine as he won't reply to my emails and everytime I have spoken to him about Renegades he makes it very clear he's done with it and done with programming on the amiga. I suspect this is the best that it's ever going to be.

But if someone was to get the source off the original .adf and modify it I couldn't stop them, if they could understand it that is. I know that the .abk files are packed so that side of things wouldn't be able to be edited and new files would have to be created.
LordNipple is offline  
Old 08 January 2016, 22:55   #31
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,663
Hello there Wayne,

Tonight I've been setting up / configuring your game in WinUAE v3.2.2.

From what I've found I need to use KS ROM v3.1 (A500,A600,A2000) rev 40.63 (512k).rom and 2MB Chip RAM.

Other thing is that the text seems a bit cut-off when you get to the main title / selection menu.

Can you suggested the optimal settings to use?

Last edited by DamienD; 10 January 2016 at 14:00.
DamienD is offline  
Old 09 January 2016, 22:33   #32
LordNipple
Registered User

LordNipple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Preston England
Posts: 308
Hi DamienD!

I am afraid there's a graphical bug in the Deluxe version that wasn't there in the original 1995 release (Amos Pro up to it's old tricks again) and we didn't spot it properly until we sent the .ADF out.
I know that it plays a little faster on a 1200.
Other than that I can't tell you any more apart from i hope you play along with a friend and I am sorry about the graphical glitches!

Last edited by LordNipple; 10 January 2016 at 02:26. Reason: I am an idiot.
LordNipple is offline  
Old 10 January 2016, 00:35   #33
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,663
No need to apologise. Thank you kindly for this very cool game that you obviously put a lot of effort into. It's really awesome

Hopefully I can find someone to play against

Last edited by DamienD; 10 January 2016 at 00:59.
DamienD is offline  
Old 10 January 2016, 02:30   #34
LordNipple
Registered User

LordNipple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Preston England
Posts: 308
Thankyou! I speak on behalf of the programmer, Kevin Darbyshire too
I know that he put so much work into it he was pretty much done with it in the 90's, I was lucky to get him back to work on it further for the Deluxe release.

We are very proud of this little game, I only wish we could've made the one player.
LordNipple is offline  
Old 10 January 2016, 03:12   #35
Muzkat
Into the Wonderful
Muzkat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Earthrealm
Age: 36
Posts: 1,282
Looks fantastic! Well done.
Muzkat is offline  
Old 10 January 2016, 14:05   #36
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,663
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
Maybe some coder could offer to finish it and the author share the source with him.
Quote:
Originally Posted by LordNipple View Post
But if someone was to get the source off the original .adf and modify it I couldn't stop them, if they could understand it that is. I know that the .abk files are packed so that side of things wouldn't be able to be edited and new files would have to be created.
Totally understand if Kevin doesn't want to work on this anymore.

There are so many talented people here on EAB

As Retrofan has mentioned I wonder if anyone here could assist with this?

Removing that text bug and having one player mode would be so cool
DamienD is offline  
Old 10 January 2016, 15:18   #37
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,663
Hello Wayne,

Thought I'd give the original Renegades a go also

The text bug is also in both versions that I tried:

a) from the web page you listed http://www.amigapd.com/interview-wayne-ashworth.html {renegades.rar}
b) from TOSEC\Games\Public Domain - [ADF] (TOSEC-v2012-12-24_CM) {Renegades (1995)(Darbyshire, K.).zip}

The HOL screenshots don't have this issue: http://hol.abime.net/6074

I wonder what .ADF they used?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Renegades (1995)(Darbyshire, K_001.png
Views:	123
Size:	16.5 KB
ID:	46914  
DamienD is offline  
Old 10 January 2016, 16:17   #38
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,663
Hey there Wayne,

Been playing around (as per usual) and have some good news...

I've managed to get the text to display correctly in my WinUAE configurations for both "Renegades" & "Renegades Deluxe"

Here's what I've found (I'll use "Renegades Deluxe" as the example):

a) If I use a "KS ROM v1.3 (A500,A1000,A2000) rev 34.5 (256k).rom" I get an error when loading; "Renegades failed returncode 20" (see 1st attached screenshot).

b) This is why previously I had used "KS ROM v3.1 (A500,A600,A2000) rev 40.63 (512k).rom". The game loads / works but there is the text bug (see 2nd attached screenshot).

c) I then tried using other A500+ / A600 Kickstarts and now the game works without the text bug (see 3rd attached screenshot):
... "KS ROM v2.04 (A500+) rev 37.175 (512k).rom"
... "KS ROM v2.05 (A600) rev 37.299 (512k).rom"
... "KS ROM v2.05 (A600HD) rev 37.300 (512k).rom"
... "KS ROM v2.05 (A600HD) rev 37.350 (512k).rom"

So the bug seems to be related to using the "KS ROM v3.1 (A500,A600,A2000) rev 40.63 (512k).rom".

Tried "Renegades" with any of the above Kickstarts listed in "c)" and now the text bug is also gone (see 4th attached screenshot).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Renegades Deluxe (2014)(Darbyshire-Ashworth)_002.png
Views:	146
Size:	5.3 KB
ID:	46915   Click image for larger version

Name:	Renegades Deluxe (2014)(Darbyshire-Ashworth)_003.png
Views:	168
Size:	33.2 KB
ID:	46916   Click image for larger version

Name:	Renegades Deluxe (2014)(Darbyshire-Ashworth)_001.png
Views:	159
Size:	56.5 KB
ID:	46917   Click image for larger version

Name:	Renegades (1995)(Darbyshire-Ashworth)_001.png
Views:	159
Size:	26.3 KB
ID:	46919  
DamienD is offline  
Old 24 January 2016, 18:20   #39
LordNipple
Registered User

LordNipple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Preston England
Posts: 308
DamienD thankyou so much!!
It was driving me insane as to why this was happening!!

I wonder if it was due to any extensions Kevin had loaded into Amos pro...I will have to double check

Thanks again!!

Last edited by LordNipple; 24 January 2016 at 20:52.
LordNipple is offline  
Old 24 January 2016, 21:38   #40
aszu
Registered User

aszu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Leeds
Posts: 96
I have just discovered, Thanks a lot! Well done!
aszu is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gods -Deluxe- beta released jotd Retrogaming General Discussion 377 14 May 2017 23:44
Gods -Deluxe- demo released jotd Retrogaming General Discussion 50 22 January 2016 23:26
Does anyone here remember an old P.D Title called Renegades? LordNipple Nostalgia & memories 120 04 November 2014 22:08
Renegades s2325 HOL contributions 4 11 February 2011 02:05
Renegades XoreX support.Games 11 17 September 2001 13:23

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.44377 seconds with 12 queries