English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 December 2002, 23:03   #1
Jherek Carnelia
Dazed and Confused
Jherek Carnelia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: portsmouth/uk
Posts: 227
XP and limited user accounts

I have set up a limited user account for my son on my computer. I have also installed WINUAE. It won't work from a limited account -

He gets this message:

Can't create registry keys. You need administrator privileges.

I would prefer him not to have those privileges!

Is there a way around this?
Jherek Carnelia is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 02 December 2002, 23:22   #2
LordBug
Registered User
LordBug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Someplace
Posts: 88
A walk-through is gonna be too difficult (since I don't know the keys in question). Here's what you need to do though:

Run REGEDT32 (not regedit). Find the keys in question. Change the Security on those keys to Everyone ALL. You may need to check the propogate to child keys too.
LordBug is offline  
Old 02 December 2002, 23:23   #3
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
It should display this message but just work fine. That's how I install WinUAE on the university's lab
 
Old 02 December 2002, 23:41   #4
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,353
You can also use the Run As feature that both Windows 2000 and XP have.

But as Burseg says if it still works then hey everything should be fine
jmmijo is offline  
Old 03 December 2002, 21:15   #5
Jherek Carnelia
Dazed and Confused
Jherek Carnelia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: portsmouth/uk
Posts: 227
Thaks for your help guys.

Now there is another problem. All the amiga stuff is kept in My Documents - AmigaFiles. From a limited user they are not accessible, apart from moving them into C: (and having to reset all my own links) is there any way a limited user can see files in someone elses My Documents folder?
Jherek Carnelia is offline  
Old 03 December 2002, 23:25   #6
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,353
You could try placing a shortcut link into this users desktop and then setting the read permission for this user. Be sure to set read only and not full control!!!
jmmijo is offline  
Old 03 December 2002, 23:43   #7
Syko
Now got GSX750F :))
Syko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Halifax UK
Age: 53
Posts: 584
Put em in the shared documents folder - it's in all users.
Syko is offline  
Old 14 December 2002, 12:02   #8
Jherek Carnelia
Dazed and Confused
Jherek Carnelia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: portsmouth/uk
Posts: 227
I've tried that, but...

Thanks for your help guys, but I still have problems.

I have moved all my WinUAE stuff into the all users shared folder, but now when he tries to use it (as a limited user) although the emulator starts up when he tries to play a game the Amiga says the file is write protected - which it isn't if I look at the file properties...???

I can play the games from my admin account.
Jherek Carnelia is offline  
Old 14 December 2002, 17:06   #9
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,353
If you can play the files fine then it's a permissions issue. You can adjust this users permissions to this specific folder. You may need to give this user a Read & Execute permission rather then just a Read permission
jmmijo is offline  
Old 14 December 2002, 22:32   #10
Jherek Carnelia
Dazed and Confused
Jherek Carnelia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: portsmouth/uk
Posts: 227
Oh God! I hate disobedient machines!!

Thanks for the idea Jmmijo,

I have used the command prompt and run the cacls proggy to change the permissions he has for this directory to full.

(cacls winuae /G matthew:F).

it says "Are You Sure?".
I say "Yes"
it says its done.

I run WINUAE from his account, and guess what - NO BLOODY DIFFERENCE!! - AAARGH

I have noticed something that maybe i should've mentioned earlier - the icons on his workbench are different to mine (although he just has a shortcut to the same WinUAE I use). i.e the workbench HD icons are the default ones, even though I have changed them to be pretty harddrive picture type ones. Also the icons in the games are different (I just get the little tiny square that represents glowicons (I think?)). And the icons to my own programs are default ones that open up Multiview instead of Devpac.
Now I am baffled.
Jherek Carnelia is offline  
Old 14 December 2002, 22:57   #11
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,353
I'm sure it's because you have admin rights and he doesn't

As for why the default icons are different, it's because each user has their own personal profile settings stored in their own folder. Check out the sub-folders under Documents and Settings and you'll see what I mean.

Normally you being the admin has to install the app that any other user would need to run, i.e., WinUAE. This should have resolved any problems unless when you installed you only picked the admin account rather then all users.

I don't think that WinUAE asks you this however so it should be working but isn't
jmmijo is offline  
Old 15 December 2002, 02:03   #12
LordBug
Registered User
LordBug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Someplace
Posts: 88
Quote:
As for why the default icons are different, it's because each user has their own personal profile settings stored in their own folder. Check out the sub-folders under Documents and Settings and you'll see what I mean.
I think he means WORKBENCH, not the desktop

Individual profile on the PC wouldn't impact the WB desktop, I wouldn't think.

What we're not told is - HDF file or PC directory? I could maybe see this if you were using directories, but not with HDFs.

What is cacls? I've never heard of this. Best way to reset permissions is via Explorer. Highlight the directory/file, right-click, click properties, click the Security tab. Add his account and tinker with the permissions. READ, EXECUTE, LIST are essential. WRITE is needed too, or everything will be in read-only mode. This could adversely affect WB, and a lot of games won't like it.
LordBug is offline  
Old 15 December 2002, 13:31   #13
Jherek Carnelia
Dazed and Confused
Jherek Carnelia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: portsmouth/uk
Posts: 227
I have cocked this up big time! NOW I can't access WinUAE or even open the directory!

"Access denied".

Thank God for Restore points. I'm back to where I was 2 days ago.

Right, I have looked at the WinUAE folder properties but I can't see a securities tab...

Am I looking at the correct thing?

My workbench has an hdf as dh0, dh1 & dh2 are both PC directories. All these folders have different icons than those displayed in mine...

Last edited by Jherek Carnelia; 09 April 2011 at 22:22.
Jherek Carnelia is offline  
Old 15 December 2002, 17:54   #14
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,353
This is the all user folder, not what we are trying to convey You need to adjust the properties on the install of WinUAE, usually under the Program Files folder

"C:\Program Files\WinUAE"

Right mouse click on the WinUAE folder and there should be a Security tab there.
jmmijo is offline  
Old 15 December 2002, 21:33   #15
Jherek Carnelia
Dazed and Confused
Jherek Carnelia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: portsmouth/uk
Posts: 227
This is where I've installed WinUAE to. It's in the shared documents folder.
I tried another install to C: and looked at the properties, but there isn't a securities tab - in fact I can't see a securities tab on ANY file/folder properties. Perhaps this has something to do with the way PC World set up the machine?
Jherek Carnelia is offline  
Old 15 December 2002, 21:45   #16
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,353
Could be then, perhaps your user is actually running as a power user instead of administrator
jmmijo is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Duplicate Accounts BippyM project.EAB 12 04 December 2008 22:36
uaescsi.device under 'limited accounts' amiga request.UAE Wishlist 1 02 October 2007 19:15

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.17461 seconds with 11 queries