English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 March 2015, 02:31   #141
fondpondforever
Registered User

fondpondforever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Cornwall, England
Posts: 311
I'm still waiting to purchase, codenamed *Pinkie Platforms*, (-; the Commodore Amiga 4000T with Pinkie being played on a 1960 Monitor on an A1 Poster Size Print? Any idea of how much it will cost yet? Thanks
fondpondforever is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 17 March 2015, 02:42   #142
Tommes
Pixelwizard
Tommes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Waldbroel
Posts: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by fondpondforever View Post
I'm still waiting to purchase, codenamed *Pinkie Platforms*, (-; the Commodore Amiga 4000T with Pinkie being played on a 1960 Monitor on an A1 Poster Size Print? Any idea of how much it will cost yet? Thanks
No, that is all still in development. Progress is steady but EDIT: not fast slow (OMG)

Last edited by Tommes; 17 March 2015 at 19:56.
Tommes is offline  
Old 17 March 2015, 14:53   #143
fondpondforever
Registered User

fondpondforever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Cornwall, England
Posts: 311
Ok, cool.
fondpondforever is offline  
Old 21 March 2015, 06:16   #144
Tommes
Pixelwizard
Tommes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Waldbroel
Posts: 103
"A picture is worth a thousand words"

Tommes is offline  
Old 21 March 2015, 18:47   #145
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
I really like them, specially the third one. Sadly it is impossible to make it fit 800x600
Retrofan is online now  
Old 21 March 2015, 22:49   #146
Tommes
Pixelwizard
Tommes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Waldbroel
Posts: 103
Could do some 4:3 images also ...
Tommes is offline  
Old 22 March 2015, 00:35   #147
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
That would be very nice, thanks .
Retrofan is online now  
Old 24 March 2015, 17:09   #148
brett71
Registered User

brett71's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ames, IA, USA
Posts: 349
Seeing those images bring back a lot of old memories....
brett71 is offline  
Old 03 April 2015, 01:19   #149
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,418
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tommes View Post
"A picture is worth a thousand words"

Awsome work Tommes, I work with 3d too, but its mostly polygons. Haven't used any parametric modeling tool for at least a decade (Catia v5, Studio Tools, ProEngineer etc..), these days its all 3ds max and although entirely possible, it would suck to try to model at this detail level in 3ds max. Autodesk Inventor looks like a good choice..

Now, to my question: Where do you get your input data? Do you measure a physical model with Calipers, do you have point clouds from super detailed scans? Or isn't the model physically accurate? Meaning, it looks about right but isn't *really* accurate.. To me, it would seem that getting the measurement totally right would take longer than the actual modeling part ;-)

I'm asking this, because there is another thread going on about recreating a new plastic case for the A1200. A physically fully accurate model of the case would be a good starting point for a "Open Source" re-design of the case. (Removing copyrighted stuff such as the Amiga logo, but possibly improving other stuff such as making room for a slim CD drive, USB ports... whatever..
I was actually considering doing a photogrammetric 3d model of the A1200 but it could be tough to get a totally reliable model that is equally correct from all directions. (We're talking sub-millimeter precision here)

/eX
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 03 April 2015, 01:44   #150
Tommes
Pixelwizard
Tommes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Waldbroel
Posts: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
Awsome work Tommes, I work with 3d too, but its mostly polygons. Haven't used any parametric modeling tool for at least a decade (Catia v5, Studio Tools, ProEngineer etc..), these days its all 3ds max and although entirely possible, it would suck to try to model at this detail level in 3ds max. Autodesk Inventor looks like a good choice..
Hi /eX,

thanks a lot. At least you could model the stuff in sub-d, but that wouldn't be very accurate either only good for animation and reducing polys in the scene. Yep, with any big CAD package it is very easy to reproduce former CAD data. Way faster and more accurate than in any poly modeler. Also I could convert which level of detail I want to have and I could always go back to my parametric model to do changes

Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
Now, to my question: Where do you get your input data? Do you measure a physical model with Calipers, do you have point clouds from super detailed scans? Or isn't the model physically accurate? Meaning, it looks about right but isn't *really* accurate.. To me, it would seem that getting the measurement totally right would take longer than the actual modeling part ;-)
I measure the physical model. And yes, it totally takes time to measure correct. So modelling or better designing the part take one third and the other two thirds are measuring. They are at least accurate down to 0.05 mm incl. fault tolerance.

Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
I'm asking this, because there is another thread going on about recreating a new plastic case for the A1200. A physically fully accurate model of the case would be a good starting point for a "Open Source" re-design of the case. (Removing copyrighted stuff such as the Amiga logo, but possibly improving other stuff such as making room for a slim CD drive, USB ports... whatever..
I was actually considering doing a photogrammetric 3d model of the A1200 but it could be tough to get a totally reliable model that is equally correct from all directions. (We're talking sub-millimeter precision here)

/eX
Well this is doable. I designed the C64C case from scratch to be able to render the transparent version I had to model all inside details. Watch here: https://www.flickr.com/photos/tommes...7649091933423/
But it took me quite some days to reproduce the complete case. So it will take as long for the A1200 case as for the C64C case Maybe it's a good start to model the real thing and export a step or parasolid model which everyone could import in the one or other way. Also some poly formats like obj for the poly modelers would be possible to have a case in 3D to improve it. And later if there is a version which suits the majority it could be transfered to the parametric model. And maybe a kickstarter in the future ...

Tommes
Tommes is offline  
Old 03 April 2015, 02:07   #151
Tommes
Pixelwizard
Tommes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Waldbroel
Posts: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
That would be very nice, thanks .
Hi Retrofan, here is the 4:3 version of your favourite



Here is a 8k UHD Version: https://www.flickr.com/photos/tommes...24030/sizes/o/

Last edited by Tommes; 03 April 2015 at 03:58.
Tommes is offline  
Old 04 April 2015, 02:04   #152
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Marvellous

I will include it on my also marvellous 8.4 AKReal update that I've got almost ready, including now an option to change from 16 colors AGA to RTG Picasso IV with two clicks and also AfAOS as a working option for the 24Bit Themes of AmiKit.

So I will include your wallpaper as 16 colors, maybe 256, and original for RTG .

Thanks a lot!

EDIT: Ok I've found the link.

Last edited by Retrofan; 04 April 2015 at 02:24.
Retrofan is online now  
Old 04 April 2015, 02:26   #153
Tommes
Pixelwizard
Tommes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Waldbroel
Posts: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
Marvellous

I will include it on my also marvellous 8.4 AKReal update that I've got almost ready, including now an option to change from 16 colors AGA to RTG Picasso IV with two clicks and also AfAOS as a working option for the 24Bit Themes of AmiKit.

So I will include your wallpaper as 16 colors, maybe 256, and original for RTG .

Thanks a lot!

EDIT: Sorry that image hasn't much quality (and I have to resize it to 800x600) and I don't find the image with that size on your link.
Simply klick on the image itself. Then you get to flickr, there you could download the image upto 2k in 4:3
Tommes is offline  
Old 04 April 2015, 21:41   #154
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Yep, sorry it's a bit tricky but now I've got it. Thank you.

http://hostthenpost.org/uploads/6aa2...e6ece51e97.png

Edit: Tommes I see you like the C64. What about a similar setup but with a C64 breadbin, a datassette and what you want to add (for example a Max Headroom Guide to Life book on the table, or another C= magazine)? You can take ideas from this video too [ Show youtube player ]

Best with an 800x600 version
Just guessing.

Last edited by Retrofan; 11 April 2015 at 00:24.
Retrofan is online now  
Old 10 April 2015, 03:01   #155
fondpondforever
Registered User

fondpondforever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Cornwall, England
Posts: 311
Any luck on my request yet? Thanks.
fondpondforever is offline  
Old 10 April 2015, 03:10   #156
Tommes
Pixelwizard
Tommes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Waldbroel
Posts: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by fondpondforever View Post
Any luck on my request yet? Thanks.
Still need some patience. Thanks
Tommes is offline  
Old 11 April 2015, 00:04   #157
Frog
Junior Member

Frog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Posts: 1,263
@Tommes : excellent work !
Frog is offline  
Old 11 April 2015, 02:08   #158
fondpondforever
Registered User

fondpondforever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Cornwall, England
Posts: 311
I can't wait any longer!
fondpondforever is offline  
Old 11 April 2015, 12:36   #159
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,223
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
Yep, sorry it's a bit tricky but now I've got it. Thank you.

http://hostthenpost.org/uploads/6aa2...e6ece51e97.png

Edit: Tommes I see you like the C64. What about a similar setup but with a C64 breadbin, a datassette and what you want to add (for example a Max Headroom Guide to Life book on the table, or another C= magazine)? You can take ideas from this video too [ Show youtube player ]

Best with an 800x600 version
Just guessing.
That is pretty funky! I was wondering what those two circular pieces was for! I fascinated by how much more could be achieved on the C64 and I thought it was just for loading tapes lol.
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 05 May 2015, 09:10   #160
seb132
Happy Life
seb132's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sydney
Posts: 229
Send a message via MSN to seb132 Send a message via Yahoo to seb132 Send a message via Skype™ to seb132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tommes View Post
Well, I should make a collection for 1280x1024, 1024x768, 800x600. Will think of the dimensions next time.

1200? Ok, let's see ...

I don't think I have an A600 anymore. I had one once.
I'm happy to donate an A600 for you to model one...

Amazing work, really...

To follow-up on the idea of doing personalised work for EAB happy Amiguys, how about this one: you make a nice setup of a classic Amiga on a desktop (A4000, A1200, whatever) with its screen, keyboard, mouse, etc. and the beautiful lighting of your choice and we guys are providing a screen shot of OUR workbench (or our favourite game) in a decent resolution for you to map on the monitor ?
Basically you do ONE setup, and by just mapping a different picture each time you can render "quickly" any customised picture...
With the beautiful glossy effect you are able to render the monitors with it should look astonishing...
Of course you should provide a good resolution picture so we can have it professionally printed locally or through internet. I would pay some reasonable $$$ for that... For example on that scenery:

seb132 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3D renderings from a salvaged harddrive Leffmann Nostalgia & memories 2 18 June 2010 13:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.26693 seconds with 12 queries