English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 October 2014, 07:12   #1
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 39
Posts: 1,487
Hooooo AIAB r10.6 issue

Hi, I am trying to update AIAB r10.6 to current software versions, but before that, I have a simple problem that seems present in AIAB since a long time:

AmiStart menu option "Run Command..." does not work.
Anybody knows how to fix this?

Thanks
gulliver is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 19 October 2014, 17:02   #2
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 39
Posts: 1,487
I have uploaded to The Zone!, an unofficial alpha version of my AIAB r10.7 Alpha.

This is an updated version of the last Amiga in a Box package (r10.6). It respects its former philosophy but attempts to upgrade and bugfix what was inside there. This release is just my Alpha test, which means it may contain lots of bugs innacuracies and mistakes, but at least it runs a little bit modernized.

I did not make any radical changes and went conservative about the updates I applied. So no fancy new features unless they come in a new version of some former software which was already included (Some particular exceptions apply though, like including PeterK´s IconLib, for example).

Minimum Requirements remain the same:

Kickstart 3.0 or 3.1
Workbench 3.0 or 3.1 floppy disk
8MB of fastmem
68020 processor
About 25 MB of free HDD space
A Picasso96 compatible graphics card with 2 MB of video ram and capable of 16 bit depth (can work with less video ram if you use small resolutions)

Note: AmigaOS 3.5 and 3.9 have not been tested and should not work straightaway!


BASE SYSTEM:
Amiga in a Box r10.6

NEW:
IconLib 46.4 (46.4.385 supports OS4 icons. So no need for AfAOS)
MCC_TextEditor 15.45 (required by Scalos v41.7)

UPDATES:
ScalOS 41.5 -> 41.7
Picasso96 2.0 -> 2.1d
Mui 3.8 -> 3.9R2
Dopus 4.16 > 4.17pre20
WhdLoad 16.4 -> 17.2
WhichAmiga 1.3.22 -> 1.3.3 with getmhz check enabled to support ACA accelerators
BoardsLib 2.29 -> 3.16

ISSUES, TODO LIST AND MENTAL NOTES:
AmiStart "Run Command..." does not work. Anybody knows a fix for this? It´s been happening since Jaybee´s days
GoldED 5.0 is a restricted DEMO version. There are plenty of free unrestricted text editors to replace it with. Shoul I changed it?
AmiStart should be upgraded to 0.66x
InstallerNG seems a bit incompatible, should I replace it wih CBM stuff or another MUI counterpart?
Format does not support >4GB devices. There are cool 4GB capable replacements, should I use one of those?
The entire system still needs lots of updates that should be pretty easy: datatypes, libraries, some programs, etc
Should AmigaOS 3.9 be supported? and 3.5?
Should 3.1 fixes be applied?
gulliver is offline  
Old 19 October 2014, 18:13   #3
tero
Registered User

tero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: M'Gladbach
Age: 40
Posts: 449
now that's a surprise, thx for your work
Just installed it, and it feels a little faster than r10.6. The new iconlib, i guess. i don't have much time today, but i'll have a closer look tomorrow.

to anwer some of your questions, my 2 cents:
can't say much about AmiStart, never liked it. replace it with a dock
http://onyxsoft.se/annotate.html is a good free editor
this site has a good installer replacment - http://www.geit.de/eng_additional.html
i'm not sure about >4gb hdd support. i guess it's a good idea, but is it needed in uae?
supporting 3.5/9 is a good idea, as long it's optional.
apply 3.1 fixes is allways a good idea
tero is offline  
Old 21 October 2014, 21:54   #4
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 39
Posts: 1,487
Thank you for your ideas and comments.

I have released a beta version, with far more updates.

http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...&postcount=248
gulliver is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AIAB r10.6 full version UK-Wobbie request.Other 11 13 September 2011 12:09
Loading AIAB r10.6 with WinUAE 1.5 in Vista Smecty support.WinUAE 7 27 July 2008 18:44
AIAB r10.5 released - celebrating WinUAE v1.0 jmbattle News 46 09 January 2007 12:02
Amiga in a Box r10.5 samtam90 request.Other 2 10 August 2006 11:25
1.2 (1.1.1 as well) + AIAB 10.5 crash, known issue? Lachran support.WinUAE 11 21 June 2006 10:33

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.11325 seconds with 11 queries