English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 October 2014, 09:45   #1
amiga_Forever
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: kkhkj
Posts: 311
Compression

Hi all...

When it comes to dealing with disk images, is is better to un-compressed and keep the ADF file(s), or keep them zipped up, since allot of emulators support compressed files anyway ? (like RP9, as well)


I guess apart from saving space, i an only see one disadvantage to compression, is u have issues with multiple disks. since its just one compressed file (not always spanned) but if there are multiple files within, the emulator can only see disk 1.

On one hand, I don't mid doing everything as RP9, as least its neat, but then you don't know weather single RP9 would work with more than one disc.

What do you do ?

Last edited by amiga_Forever; 15 October 2014 at 09:56.
amiga_Forever is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 15 October 2014, 18:53   #2
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Basically an RP9 file is a zip file, so unless you use AmigaForever then it's O.K to use zip or rar or 7zip.

To save space on Adf's you could convert them to ADZ.
Arnie is offline  
Old 15 October 2014, 23:25   #3
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,507
Quote:
Originally Posted by amiga_Forever View Post
if there are multiple files within, the emulator can only see disk 1.
WinUAE supports multiple ADFs in one ZIP file. Once you have selected the ZIP file, you can select the ADF from the drop-down menu.

The major disadvantage of compressed ADFs is that they are read-only. Good for archiving, bad for every day work.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
To save space on Adf's you could convert them to ADZ.
That's not better than ZIP.
ADZ is GZIPed ADF, just short for .adf.gz.
thomas is offline  
Old 20 October 2014, 15:53   #4
amiga_Forever
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: kkhkj
Posts: 311
i've just noticed FS-UAE does't work well with zipped and multiple adf's they it needs o be unzipped.
amiga_Forever is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lossless audio compression. Thorham Coders. General 23 21 January 2015 21:05
Best Compression Methods For... Lonewolf10 Coders. General 16 16 June 2013 17:31
Compression Suggestions h0ffman Coders. General 2 31 December 2010 12:19
ProTracker Module Compression h0ffman support.Other 12 24 September 2010 19:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.11279 seconds with 11 queries