English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 October 2014, 20:10   #1
Kola
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Age: 44
Posts: 247
Why do you accelerate your Amiga?

Just wondering why.

As far as I know all of the games are made and they all are wrote for the habitat of a specific computer, say A1200.

So by making your A1200 how ever many times faster what does it do? I understand coding a PC up as the newer software requires greater hardware.

Scuse if this is a dumb Q. I just don't get it.
Kola is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 13 October 2014, 20:18   #2
alkis
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 46
Posts: 365
Games very rarely benefit from acceleration, as you say.

Everything else though, like ray-tracing, word-processing, programming (assembling, compiling) becomes much faster.
So, you don't accelerate for games but everything else.
alkis is offline  
Old 13 October 2014, 20:33   #3
Paul_s
needs more ice cream

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 39
Posts: 3,162
useful to have for running later (mid 1990's onwards) demo's too
Paul_s is offline  
Old 13 October 2014, 20:41   #4
Kola
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Age: 44
Posts: 247
Thanks guys.

So, basically if you accelerate it my 1200 can do more modern tasks. Or similar tasks just with updated softwares?

How fast in computer terms can you get a 1200? 386? Pentium class? Multi core?
Kola is offline  
Old 13 October 2014, 20:41   #5
jimbob
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Kilmacolm
Age: 39
Posts: 616
Because it is cool

Also, extra speed is great for pretty much everything except the games, (lots of them as you say) which have fixed performance by the custom chips. Even those will benefit from an upgrade because WHDload can then eliminate much loading time.

3d games like Frontier and Interceptor feel nearly unplayable to me on a basic amiga but are super smooth with a bit of acceleration. Stuff like computer turns in civilisation is much improved too.
jimbob is offline  
Old 13 October 2014, 20:44   #6
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,392
To be able to play hw accelerated Descent on my A500T/060/Cybervision64/3D. (320x400 max...)
zipper is offline  
Old 13 October 2014, 20:45   #7
Kola
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Age: 44
Posts: 247
Hi Jimbob,

hmmm, seems very expensive to me. Stuff I looked at seemed tot be around the !75 mark all in. Maybes more.

I do get it if your hobbyists tho. That makes sense. Im starting to think after these few replies thats that is more what it is as opposed practical use? (Sorry don't mean to offend, dumb musician here, computers are not my strong point)
Kola is offline  
Old 13 October 2014, 20:47   #8
Paul_s
needs more ice cream

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 39
Posts: 3,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kola View Post
Thanks guys.

So, basically if you accelerate it my 1200 can do more modern tasks. Or similar tasks just with updated softwares?

How fast in computer terms can you get a 1200? 386? Pentium class? Multi core?
I'd say the 1200 would be on par with a 486DX perhaps?

Accelerated Amiga's are essential for running OS 3.9 too and certain Doom clones (4.x requires PPC acceleration).

I personally don't bother with it as it's;

a) expensive (depending on what you want in terms of speed - 68030 will suit majority of users... anything beyond that is pie in the sky in terms of cost)
b) I like to fry my eggs in a pan rather than on a CPU
c) only play the odd game or two
Paul_s is offline  
Old 13 October 2014, 20:52   #9
Kola
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Age: 44
Posts: 247
b = haha,

Id like to give it a shot. The amiga has been a big part of my upbringing the same for most of us on this site no doubt.

But re the expense involved ill have to wait until I have more money. Was more just wondering how 'essential' it is and it seems to be in the optional bracket, for me anyhow.
Kola is offline  
Old 13 October 2014, 21:20   #10
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 44
Posts: 718
Why accelerate my Amiga you ask?

It makes it more bearable to use especially in graphic and productivity applications, the basic A1200 is a very underpowered machine. The Amiga is a multitasking computer which allows you to run more then one program at the same time, more programs require more CPU power and more memory (RAM).
So, basic A1200 comes with 2MB RAM and 68020 14MHz CPU, it's enought to run simple games and some software, but if you need more, then you need to upgrade and make it faster.
Paint programs with filters will benefit from more CPU and RAM to speed up rendering, any 3d software will benefit greatly.

The 68020 is equivalent to Intel 386SX, the 68040 is close to 486.
amiman99 is offline  
Old 13 October 2014, 22:57   #11
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 41
Posts: 2,972
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kola View Post
I just don't get it.
Because I don't just play games on my A1200.
Thorham is offline  
Old 13 October 2014, 23:11   #12
Washac
Junior Member
Washac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: UK Southern End
Posts: 479
I had mine accelerated because I used to play around with 3D art packages, the main one being Imagine, 3D model builder and ray tracer.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Imagine...ng_software%29
Washac is offline  
Old 13 October 2014, 23:35   #13
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,278
I discovered WinUAE before I bought my first Amiga in 2001.

When I fired up my Amiga (Escom AT1200 Magic Pack) for the first time, I was dumbstruck by the fact that Workbench didn't run anything like as fast as it did in the then current version of WinUAE running on a P200MMX PC running Windows 95.

Adding a 1230/40 accelerator fixed that little problem.
prowler is offline  
Old 14 October 2014, 01:50   #14
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 41
Posts: 3,157
i accelerate my amiga because it was my everyday computer, and it was really great, at this time perhaps 1998, it still a really fast OS and for me better than windows (speed). You can't really enjoy the workbench without an accelerator and don't think to install wb3.9 with a basic a1200, it won't work. You know by this time i had a lot of fun with the workbench.
It flies with 68040 or 68060, it was really impressive in the last part of the 90's and it still impressive even today when you think about the hardware which running it !!!! If you like to tweak your OS, the wb is really good to play with.
turrican3 is offline  
Old 14 October 2014, 02:45   #15
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,509
Quote:
Originally Posted by alkis View Post
Games very rarely benefit from acceleration, as you say.

Everything else though, like ray-tracing, word-processing, programming (assembling, compiling) becomes much faster.
So, you don't accelerate for games but everything else.
Isn't it better to emulate it on a fast pc, then, rather than using a real Amiga?
I mean: using PC+WinUAE you get better monitor (less eye strain), faster speeds, better keyboard, better mouse... and so on .
Supamax is offline  
Old 14 October 2014, 04:34   #16
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 41
Posts: 3,157
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supamax View Post
I mean: using PC+WinUAE you get better monitor (less eye strain), faster speeds, better keyboard, better mouse... and so on .
You can use modern monitors with the amiga (scandoubler-flicker fixer)...new mouse and keyboard too (you can add usb ports to the amiga). [ Show youtube player ]
The feeling is not the same, i think if you have the money it's good to have a real accelerated amiga.
If money is your priority just stick on pc.

Last edited by turrican3; 14 October 2014 at 05:30.
turrican3 is offline  
Old 14 October 2014, 06:51   #17
saimon69
Bedroom musician

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: los angeles,ca
Posts: 700
At the time i accelerated my 1200 because i wanted to work with it: not only 2d but also 3d with lightwave and DTP using shapeshifter
saimon69 is offline  
Old 14 October 2014, 06:57   #18
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 41
Posts: 2,972
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supamax View Post
Isn't it better to emulate it on a fast pc, then, rather than using a real Amiga?
Not for everyone. Plenty of people want the real deal, including myself. The only thing I use WinUae for is GCC (and only because I'm a C compiler n00b who doesn't know how to adapt source code to compile with faster native Amiga compilers).

Emulation just doesn't feel the same (and it has nothing to do with nostalgia for me). I'd constantly be reminded that I'm working on my peecee, while I want to work with an Amiga.
Thorham is offline  
Old 14 October 2014, 12:02   #19
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
I write games. I write them to run on an unexpanded A1200 but some extra speed and especially extra memory makes some of the tools a lot more pleasant to use. I have to know that everything will run on genuine hardware. Blitter speed, too, is important, not just CPU. I could do some development on an emulator but it would be terrible to find out too late that the real thing can't handle it!
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 14 October 2014, 13:08   #20
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
For faster OS operations/sytem tools and to have more than 8 MB fastram.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.39899 seconds with 10 queries