English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 November 2014, 15:30   #161
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,582
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Freewheel works for me with the Micromys and AmiKit Real. I wonder which gives a better response if any, the Micromys or the RapidRoad.
Retrofan is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 04 November 2014, 20:34   #162
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 36
Posts: 1,229
What is input.device that's loaded with loadmodule used for ?

I thought that it enabled usb mouse to enable entering boot menu with two mouse buttons after a reboot but it won't work.
ancalimon is offline  
Old 05 November 2014, 00:23   #163
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Sharing a few pics testing on my A1200

http://www.fitzstevesamigaworld.co.u...s.php?album=40
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 05 November 2014, 00:33   #164
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,582
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
So you can connect a usb multicard reader and for example plug in a CF card with files.

Will it work faster than using the PCMCIA?
Retrofan is offline  
Old 05 November 2014, 00:50   #165
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
So you can connect a usb multicard reader and for example plug in a CF card with files.

Will it work faster than using the PCMCIA?
Yes you certainly can, in this case the 8gb CF was setup with SFS but you can use Fat formatted CF cards too (assuming you have Fat95 installed, it's included with Poseiden but most people have it anyway)

I think transfer speeds are similar, I did not check the exact speed of PCMCIA but it's certainly more convenient just to plug in pretty much any USB storage device you like

Last edited by fitzsteve; 05 November 2014 at 01:09.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 05 November 2014, 02:19   #166
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,582
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
It's just I was wondering. If the Usb has a faster response than the PCMCIA, then some USB internet device would be also faster.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 05 November 2014, 11:14   #167
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
It's just I was wondering. If the Usb has a faster response than the PCMCIA, then some USB internet device would be also faster.
It might be faster if you have a fast 060 or maybe even with the fast Clock Port on the A604 but then you are limited by CPU speed as the fastest option for an A600 is 030.

I shall test my USB-LAN dongle later and see how I get on, it used to work well with my Deneb anyway
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 07 November 2014, 00:30   #168
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Done my A4000 install tonight:



Loving the LED, shame you don't see this with the case closed...



Dead easy to install, just clips onto the XS100, can only fit one way due to the Zorro slots. Everything worked first time, no drama. I upgraded my Poseiden 4.4 to 4.5 with the installer and added the new USB device, it came online right away.



I'm in LOVE too <3



Nice speeds >>>>>



Testing next with my internal card reader connected to the internal header (*Note if you use the internal header you cannot use the external ports on the XS100*) No problem for me since I push the A4000 into a corner and they aren't accessible.



Both USB port and card reader worked right away, again no drama. This reader has the 9pin (like motherboard USB header) which is the one you need so check if you're buying a reader for this setup.



Next to go online with the XS100, again no drama here, just copied the device driver to Devs/Networks and used MiamiDX to go online, simples.




A little re-route of the USB cable:



And all back at home:



That's it for now

Last edited by fitzsteve; 07 November 2014 at 14:34.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 07 November 2014, 00:42   #169
Knight94
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 92
Yay. Just got mine tonight and finally the G-Rex Tower has USB. So quick and easy to install.
Knight94 is offline  
Old 07 November 2014, 00:48   #170
Storm
SYS64738

Storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Australia
Age: 43
Posts: 21
All looks good Steve!
Storm is offline  
Old 07 November 2014, 00:59   #171
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knight94 View Post
Yay. Just got mine tonight and finally the G-Rex Tower has USB. So quick and easy to install.
Yep quick and simple, what a great bit of kit.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Storm View Post
All looks good Steve!
Cheers
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 07 November 2014, 14:23   #172
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,408
Nice PICS Steve...thanks
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 07 November 2014, 14:30   #173
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Nice PICS Steve...thanks
Cheers bud. Oh by the way, one of the things I tested running over USB was Boom - it actually runs totally smooth on my 040 @40mhz (running Back to Saturn) I couldn't believe it as I thought it would only work on 060!
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 07 November 2014, 14:39   #174
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,408
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
Cheers bud. Oh by the way, one of the things I tested running over USB was Boom - it actually runs totally smooth on my 040 @40mhz (running Back to Saturn) I couldn't believe it as I thought it would only work on 060!
Cool, got to love Back to Saturn

I'm currently trying to optimize Odamex for AGA/RTG....yet another DOOM port for you to play with
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 07 November 2014, 20:45   #175
Reido
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Dublin/Ireland
Posts: 227
Sweet!
Reido is offline  
Old 07 November 2014, 20:57   #176
Knight94
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 92
Wow Steve, Your 4000 is awesome. I don't get to see many of those anymore. At least around here. Love the setup mate!
Knight94 is offline  
Old 07 November 2014, 21:00   #177
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Thanks so much for the kind words

I spent some time writing my review today so it will be on the blog soon, it's taking shape now...
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 08 November 2014, 15:53   #178
lantus360
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Olathe, Kansas
Posts: 142
#2 ordered
lantus360 is offline  
Old 09 November 2014, 16:26   #179
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 36
Posts: 1,229
When running a whdload game, don't move your mouse because it causes instant weird freezes. I wonder if there is a way to stop usb mouse when running whdload games.

It's probable that it also happens with usb keyboards or joysticks but I have yet to try such devices.

I guess whdload can not support these.
ancalimon is offline  
Old 09 November 2014, 16:30   #180
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 36
Posts: 1,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
Done my A4000 install tonight:

There is dirt under your floppy drive! You have to clean it!

I need some kind of front usb headers for my A4000T too.
ancalimon is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New USB HID mouse / USB Joystick / Gamepad USB adapter for the classic Amiga spidi News 187 24 October 2016 12:11
WinUAE USB Amiga hard drive issue (2014) JayEff support.WinUAE 2 04 April 2014 18:31
BetterWb 3.0 06-OCT-2013 gulliver News 20 06 November 2013 20:22
Away At Amiwest Show (Oct 20 - 26) amigakit.com MarketPlace 1 17 October 2010 23:16
Meet SAM @ ANT Oct 12th 2008 (UK) Mikey_C News 22 14 October 2008 13:52

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.36447 seconds with 12 queries