English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 January 2003, 23:31   #21
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Should be a replacement. Maybe one day someone will design and manufacture classic amiga compatibles

A handheld with AGA hardware can still kick serious butt.
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 21 January 2003, 23:33   #22
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
A1 looks to be more expensive and incompatible with the 1000's of older titles. The C1 is cheaper and plays the old titles.

I think they have 2 completely different buisiness plans.

I grew up on the c64 at the time it was top dog, I have alot of good memories from those days. But since I have a working c64 and 128 with drives and monitor I dont see a point in buying a C1.

I didnt have an amiga when they were out since I jumped from a c64 to a 286 PC but I have a A500 now and enjoy the games on it. I dont see the point of buying a A1 because all I want to do is play the old games which I do now easily on the original hardware or the PC emulator.

So from my standpoint if I was to buy either unit it would be the C1.
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 21 January 2003, 23:34   #23
Mr Softy
Junior Member
Mr Softy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Sweedzerland
Age: 37
Posts: 329
Send a message via ICQ to Mr Softy Send a message via MSN to Mr Softy
Question

Quote:
Originally posted by Burseg
Maybe one day someone will design and manufacture classic amiga compatibles
Is it really a good idea? I mean, things went really bad with MacOS compatible hardware...
Mr Softy is offline  
Old 21 January 2003, 23:51   #24
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
It is a good idea for I want one I don't know/care if it was a good business tactic, many things C= did wasn't like a600 and it was cool as a polar bear's butt in december.

After all, C1 isn't intended to compete the PCs, a classic Amiga machine may follow the same way.

edit: november changed to december

Last edited by Burseg; 22 January 2003 at 06:04.
 
Old 22 January 2003, 01:43   #25
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
Quote:
Originally posted by Mr Softy
Is it really a good idea? I mean, things went really bad with MacOS compatible hardware...
Macs still send everything through the processor like the PC instead of delegating it across custom chips.
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 22 January 2003, 02:18   #26
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
Quote:
Originally posted by Twistin'Ghost
Macs still send everything through the processor like the PC instead of delegating it across custom chips.
The newest quartz desktop interface is processed with the video chip through the AGP bus.

As far as the PC goes there are custom sound and video chips that offload alot of the work from the processor, so what exactly are you talking about? This has been done since the first windows accelerators on windows 3.11. Same with soundcards with DSP's
Unknown_K is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I have a Commodore SX-64 and ... tesla MarketPlace 0 05 April 2013 05:52
Commodore OS zeke1312 support.Other 1 29 March 2013 12:38
Commodore 16 plus/4 ShanePelican support.OtherUAE 4 06 March 2013 22:27
Wanted Commodore Amiga CD32 and Commodore CDTV j_sntos MarketPlace 4 09 March 2012 15:18

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.18029 seconds with 12 queries