English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 October 2014, 05:17   #41
mc6809e
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 281
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
It's a huge improvement over composite but it's still very poor.
Well it's a nice fit for the Amiga since the carrier frequency of the chroma carrier is exactly half the low res pixel clock.

Hires is another story, but the separate luma signal usually means even hires is readable even though color resolution is compromised.
mc6809e is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 07 October 2014, 10:53   #42
Kola
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Age: 44
Posts: 247
Guys were all getting a bit too technical for my needs.

I just simply need to turn on my amiga and use it with as good or better graphics than a portable TV in 95.
Kola is offline  
Old 07 October 2014, 12:54   #43
Kola
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Age: 44
Posts: 247
Ok, composite cable came today and bot all happens. Im going to guess my monitor doesn't like the composite signal my 1200 outputs.

Hearing you all loud and clear about RGB scart but my LCD monitor doesn't have such a thing. Is there anything else cheap I can try out before splashing on a new old LCD TV.

Or should I just use a portable TV?


(Id like to thank you all for your time so far in trying to help)
Kola is offline  
Old 07 October 2014, 13:59   #44
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 914
Have you verified that your monitor will work with some other composite source? Camcorder, DVD player or whatever you have available. And you did verify that the monitor input is set to composite (it may not pick up the signal buy itself)? Are you certain the A1200 video output does in fact work?

I have never had any device not accept the A1200 (or other Amiga) composite output, it should be perfectly standard, so this is pretty strange.
ajk is offline  
Old 08 October 2014, 13:15   #45
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,235
Having never used an Amiga via S-Video, I must admit that picture does look surprisingly good. You still can't beat RGB though, I'm not sure I understand why someone living in the UK wouldn't grab a CRT off the side of the road and use a SCART cable.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 08 October 2014, 13:20   #46
john1979
Registered User
john1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Age: 37
Posts: 748
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
Having never used an Amiga via S-Video, I must admit that picture does look surprisingly good. You still can't beat RGB though, I'm not sure I understand why someone living in the UK wouldn't grab a CRT off the side of the road and use a SCART cable.
Yes S-Video is surprisingly good. I am hard push to tell a difference between S-Video and RGB on my PS2, even at high resolutions.

Good 4:3 CRTs (such as Trinitron and Panasonic with many inputs) to pick up locally in the UK are becoming harder to come by. When I first started buying up spare Trinitrons I had to only travel maybe 20 to 30 miles to get one. Now most CRTs on ebay and gumtree are usually 28inch+ and widescreen. You can't just pick up them up from the side of the road anymore or even from your local tip.

I check every few weeks for good CRTs available locally and haven't seen anything for a few months now. (although I have probably cornered the market for Trinitrons in the North UK )
john1979 is offline  
Old 08 October 2014, 16:31   #47
hansel75
Walk Off? Boolander!
hansel75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Gladstone Australia
Age: 42
Posts: 603
I can also vouch for S-video after recently going from composite on my C64 to S-video, i use it on a 68cm crtTV and s-video looks great.

I have attached some pics showing some comparisons, the first 3 pics show you the difference between composite, s-video and scart on a c64 and crt.
They aren't my own pics, i got them from here if anyone wants more info-
http://ilesj.wordpress.com/2012/11/1...with-no-scart/

But the fourth pic is my own, i took a closeup snap of my crtTV with the c64 running through s-video on it, the pixels are reasonably clean and defined with s-video compared to composite!

I am only using the c64 as an example, i would imagine the output from the Amiga with composite, s-video and scart would have much the same quality and definition regarding the different output methods.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1-composite.jpg
Views:	107
Size:	393.1 KB
ID:	41827   Click image for larger version

Name:	2-s-video.jpg
Views:	105
Size:	455.3 KB
ID:	41828   Click image for larger version

Name:	3-scart.jpg
Views:	100
Size:	480.3 KB
ID:	41829   Click image for larger version

Name:	4-Hans C64 Svideo+CrtTV.JPG
Views:	107
Size:	284.9 KB
ID:	41830  
hansel75 is offline  
Old 09 October 2014, 18:03   #48
Kola
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Age: 44
Posts: 247
Hi guys. Honestly, A portable TV is enough to me. I really don't give a damn about graphics. As long as its as good as an old portable or better. I know this may be Alien to all of you who has spent a load of money getting the best possible picture but Im a musician first and foremost. Not a gamer.

I do not want to get a CRT monitor as they take up a wad of space. There is little real estate left in my music studio to give out to a CRT.

AJK - I have no way to connect anything else to the LCD mate. My PS3 / iPhone etc etc none of which use composite. I also cannot connect my Amiga to another composite screen. Simply as my Plasma had either HDMI inputs only.



I have been considering an old car LCD monitor. The 9" ones. Can anyone recommend a simple plug and play model that works.
Kola is offline  
Old 09 October 2014, 19:54   #49
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 914
No one is suggesting particularly expensive options here as far as I can see.

Your Dell monitor should already work, composite is composite. Buying another monitor won't help if the problem is in the A1200. You should verify that first, just borrow a small TV with composite input or take the A1200 somewhere you can test it or whatever is easiest.

Google tells me that the PS3 [ Show youtube player ], but maybe there are different models if yours doesn't.

I sometimes use a little monitor that I bought on dx.com for about 40. I think these are intended for car use, but work just fine for any purpose.

ajk is offline  
Old 09 October 2014, 22:19   #50
Kola
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Age: 44
Posts: 247
Hi mate,

Thanks, that looks perfect.

If my 1200 is broken it Ill buy a 600 (smaller) Either way I need an Amiga. Ill try what you say re my PS3 but ill have to make sure I have such a cable first. From what I remember my PS3 only has zone output on the back. I think I have to buy a cable to fit into that then into whatever.

Thats small screen looks great.
Kola is offline  
Old 10 October 2014, 12:32   #51
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,518
You can pick up PS1/2/3 AV cables for 0.99 inc. p&p on eBay if you don't already have one.
mark_k is offline  
Old 10 October 2014, 14:02   #52
Kola
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Age: 44
Posts: 247
Thanks mark.

A development!

A mate has pointed out my hd plasma thingy 'does' have a composite input.

I can now confirm me 1200s composite output works. It must be the old dell lcd that does not.

Well now that I have to buy a new lcd I may opt for a mini one like kindly liked to above.
Kola is offline  
Old 10 October 2014, 15:30   #53
edd_jedi
Registered User
edd_jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London / UK
Posts: 396
Honestly, it might seem like a lot of effort but an RGB>SCART cable and a 4:3 LCD TV/monitor with SCART will cost you under 20 and is by far the best solution. Computer LCD monitors are a pain to get working with Amiga's, more often than not they require an expensive scan doubler/flicker fixer. Seriously, it might seem like a pain but the solution people are already offering is the best, easiest and cheapest. Walk in to any Cash Converters, or similar, they always have dozens of old LCD TVs for a tenner.

EDIT: Here you go:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/281459485400
edd_jedi is offline  
Old 10 October 2014, 19:24   #54
Kola
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Age: 44
Posts: 247
Wow, thanks Jedi.

I must insist it was never that I was not prepared to go to that option, more I was exploring the composite option first fully.

I like that screen you linked too but am wondering if it could be made more portable for my live music gigs.

Since having to throw the existing monitor away I am left thinking if I have to buy something I may as well buy something highly portable. like what ajk uses.

What do you think?
Kola is offline  
Old 12 October 2014, 15:13   #55
edd_jedi
Registered User
edd_jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London / UK
Posts: 396
If a portable one would suit you better go for it, but the 'mobile' ones will generally have a worse and smaller screen. These 15" LCD TVs weigh nothing, they are perfectly portable.
edd_jedi is offline  
Old 12 October 2014, 15:36   #56
Kola
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Age: 44
Posts: 247
Think thats what ill do mate. Go for a 15" Then see how that pans out then upgrade it to the mobile screen if need be. At those prices its not gonna break the bank to try. Thanks for the advice.
Kola is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Photos and/or measurements of Amiga 500 bLAZER request.Other 143 29 June 2017 17:42
what could be signal for you to buy the new amiga? turrican3 Amiga scene 78 19 October 2014 01:02
Amiga 2000 photos videofx support.Hardware 2 01 June 2014 16:39
PC in Amiga 1200 - the end - Photos Tiago Hardware mods 16 13 July 2012 17:47
Photos of Amiga 500 Box Avanze Amiga scene 1 10 August 2011 17:50

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.19291 seconds with 12 queries