English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

Thread Tools
Old 22 September 2014, 18:50   #1
Posts: n/a
WinUAE 2.8.1 crashes with Wazp3D

Last weekend I had an eye on WinUAE. I wanted to run BlitzQuake with Wazp3D but I was not able to get it working. WinUAE keeps crashing to Desktop when running a Warp3D application.

What I did:
Host is an IBM T60p with XP (32bit). I think this machine should have enough power for this.
Downloaded WinUAE 2.8.1 (ZIP archive).
Updated DX to DX9c.
Did a setup for an A4k, 040, 2MB Chip, 16MB onboard, 128MB turbocard mem., "allow native code" turned on, uaegfx zorro III (8MB).
Installed OS 3.9 + BB1+2 + MWB39
Installed Picasso96 2.1b. It selects the uaegfx automatically.
Installed Warp3D.
Extracted Wazp3D, copied the uae library to LIBS:Warp3D.library
Copied the soft3d.library to LIBS.
Copied the soft3d.dll to the winuae.exe dir.

OS3.9 runs fine. I can run WHDload games and demos etc...
But when I run e.g. gears68ksmall WinUAE freezes and then crashed without any "comment" to desktop.

What did I miss?
Thx for advice.
AdSense AdSense  
Old 22 September 2014, 20:52   #2
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 166
You seems to have done all the right way

What happen if you start Wazp3D-prefs ?
Then test with Aminet/cow3d as it is a pure Warp3D program with few dependancies

You talked about gears68k but did you install stormmesa to have OpenGL support too (WaR/Zp3D is NOT OpenGL)
Btw i Recommend to install my Aminet/StormMesa2010 that have some bug fixes

If it is still not starting then start a full debug like this

Alain Thellier

From Wazp3D/docs:

Program xxxx is not working how can i debug ?
For xxxx you should do a full debug

Enable Debugger

Then do xxxx > ram:debug.txt
Let xxxx run just one second then close xxxx
If the program crash due to Wazp3D then the faulty function is the last function in debug.txt
But if the last line is Error=W3D_SUCCESS then the crash is not Wazp3D fault and occurs outside Wazp3D.
thellier is offline  
Old 22 September 2014, 21:21   #3
Posts: n/a
I forgot to mention stormmesa2010 is already "installed" too.
gears68ksmall is a Demo application which comes with Warp3D.
I cant debug Wazp3D in AmigaOS because WinUAE crashes to the windows desktop when I start a Warp3D application in AmigaOS.
Old 22 September 2014, 21:29   #4
Posts: n/a
I cant run cow3D in WinUAE - it tells me: "need some FPU to run" - allthough FPU (internal) is activated in WinUAE...
Old 22 September 2014, 21:39   #5
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 166
"need some FPU to run"
Not a cow3D nor Wazp3D message so certainly your WinUAE install got a problem

thellier is offline  
Old 22 September 2014, 21:51   #6
Posts: n/a
I configured in WinUAE:
Hardware CPU & FPU:
FPU CPU internal

I installed SysSpeed and it doesnt show me any FPU... thats strange?!?
Old 22 September 2014, 22:35   #7
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 166
Perhaps you dont have an a4040 rom...
thellier is offline  
Old 22 September 2014, 22:52   #8
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 20,657
Missing 68040.library. Or use 68020 + FPU.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 24 September 2014, 11:53   #9
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 166
Does it works now ?
(BlitzQuake is used to works wery well with Wazp3D)

Alain Thellier
thellier is offline  
AdSense AdSense  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP! WinUAE and 3D (Wazp3D, QuarkTex) Michael support.WinUAE 2 21 May 2014 20:50
WinUAE crashes tahseen support.WinUAE 7 13 November 2007 21:48
Two WinUAE crashes thor support.WinUAE 5 06 November 2007 21:15
WinUAE 1.2 Crashes Anubis support.WinUAE 6 27 February 2006 20:05
Winuae 0.8.24 crashes... Piramania support.WinUAE 8 08 February 2004 17:33

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:46.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25480 seconds with 11 queries